We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean with comfortable beds and helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Brunnenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Brunnenhof
Ranked #148 of 382 Hotels in Munich
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Clean with comfortable beds and helpful staff”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Saw recommendations for this both on Tripadvisor and Guardian online. Would have given a "good" as better than "average", but not "very good", if given the choice.
The hotel is a usual clean, pleasant family style German hotel both outside and in, which is in total contrast to rather seedy typical main train station area of Schillerstrasse - sex shops etc - outside. No hassles or problems on the street day or night.
Comfortable beds, but room was decorated in a boutique style - statement wall and white leather chairs - not in fitting with the dark wood and tiles on main staircase. We were overlooking the back, so reasonably quiet, but wouldn't want to stay in summer/hot weather as no a/c or possibility of through draught. Munich Tourist board would have you believe that it never gets too hot in summer - ha!ha!
Breakfast good and typical continental plus smoked salmon and fish egg 'caviar'.
Staff - reception and in breakfast room - all pleasant and helpful.
Price - first night reasonable, second night horrendous - it was BAUMA (International Trade Fair) and the rate shot up (not just here, but over the city) - and the room and breakfast didn't change!
Advice - check dates for events at destination before booking! We were in Munich for husband's birthday treat, so could have gone at a different time had we known.
Shopping streets and attractions near and easy to get too.

Room Tip: We had room 322 - it overlooks the car park/garden area, so is quieter than the street side, especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdsw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    142
    82
    16
    4
See reviews for
112
57
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertforshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel was fine for an overnight stay, but nothing special. It was clean and the price was reasonable and it was an easy walk to the main station. Also an easy 10 minute walk to the Marienplatz. The area near the hotel isn't the smartest in Munich, with red light bars, but we didn't feel at all threatened. Breakfast was included in the price and was OK but pretty basic. All in all just an average hotel, nothing wrong with it but nothing special either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurotraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISRAEL
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

An average hotel near the main train station.
Picked it mostly because of closed price, meaning breakfast and Free Internet were incl.
The hotel room was simple with basic and elemtary furniture.
The hotel got it own parking, but at thereception they claimed that it is total full and i have been sent to park 10 min. walk in a parking garage for 10 Euro a day (after hotel discount).
Breakfast was also fine,
The thing that make me feel bad for the hotel was because when i ask to see the room, i have been answered that the room looks the same as on the picture that the hotel advertize on the web.
Only because i was tired after a long day drive, I took the room, else....
Must state that i never faced such a behave at any of the hotel I ever entered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zvika_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The walk from the station to the hotel is quick but does pass a number of adult clubs and not an area I would like to be walking on my own in although it appeared perfectly safe in the daytime.
the hotel was surprisingly good very clean and tidy and the rooms were in good order.
the breakfast offered a wide variety of meats and fruits with attentive service.
good value in a large room for 4 of us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bermudablues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed mid-December for Christmas Markets.
Located in a normal residential street with multiple varied shops, restaurants, pubs and clubs.15 mins from Main Bahnhof and heart of old town between 2 close-by U-Bahn stations. Quiet and safe. On site parking.
4 floors, breakfast room, part of which doubles as evening bar. Rooms are spacious and ours was certainly beautifully appointed, well lit, warm with thermostat control and tastefully decorated in white, red and black.Four chairs (two white leather). Sky TV. Adequate space/storage and faced inner court. Absolutely silent during our stay. Beds comfortable. House maintenance efficient and unobtrusive. Modern en-suit with hair dryer and shower. 24 hour reception.First class buffet breakfast 7 till 10. Staff universally cheerful and helpful.
Highly recommended. Clientel a mixture of business, families and tourists.
Munich is seriously stunning. Architecture, culture, transport, cleanliness and lifestyle are top quality.
Well done Brunnenhof for your contribution to a perfect few days. We'll come back.

Room Tip: Facing inner court suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gadflyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel recently for two nights. Our room was a spacious triple room with very comfortable beds. Though the room was basically decorated it was spotlessly clean and roomy. Our room was located next to the lift on the first floor and we all remarked on how little noise we heard on the corridors during our stay despite being so near the lift. The breakfast was very tasty and plentiful. It was a continental breakfast with everything from fruit, cereals, breads, cheeses, meats, yoghurt, breads and eggs. The location was a very convenient 10 minute walk from Marienplatz. If you can get over the fact that the hotel is located at the end of a lapdance/club/casino strip it is a great hotel for a trip to see the sights of Munich. It felt quite safe and quiet walking to the hotel in the evenings so this aspect of the location really isn't an issue. I would certainly recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkGrainned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
591 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here during Oktoberfest and it was wonderful! The room was clean and spacious enough. The shower was not great as there was not anything the stop the water from going everywhere - we ended up using a bunch of towels to set up a dam. It was a 10 minute walk from the Oktoberfest grounds and also a 10 minute walk from Marianplatz. The breakfast was great and the staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. Don't let the .... lively... neighborhood thrown you, it's very safe and nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Belle Blue Hotel
Belle Blue Hotel
#147 of 382 in Munich
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andra Muenchen Hotel
Andra Muenchen Hotel
#118 of 382 in Munich
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#35 of 382 in Munich
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#149 of 382 in Munich
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#61 of 382 in Munich
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exquisit Hotel
Exquisit Hotel
#127 of 382 in Munich
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunnenhof

Property: Hotel Brunnenhof
Address: Schillerstr. 36, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brunnenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Brunnenhof - right in the center of Munich! Whether on foot or by public transport: The Hotel Brunnenhof is perfectly located in downtown Munich. Ideal for shopping, art and culture, for going out or for your business appointments. The Brunnenhof located on the quiet end of Schillerstr. towards LMU downtown hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HRS, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Brunnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunnenhof Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing