We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
Review of Hotel Amba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amba
Ranked #344 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We booked three nights during our Europian vacation, but ended up coming back for two more on the way home. Great location. Close to everything you want to see. Across from the main train station if you are taking "side trips". Very helpfull stuff. Hop On-Off bus stop one block away. 5-6 large breweries within walking distance. Hotel could use some renovation, but is very, very clean. There are bakeries, restaurants and fast food places all around. We traveled with three children and we would definatelly recommend this place. Great value for your bucks. Even with kids (5 of us) the room was comfortable. Hoping to go back. Would definately use the same hotel. Enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 728 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Amba is a 3 star hotel in the heart of Munich just opposite the main train station. You can also walk to the important sights very easily. So i can say that the location is perfect. İt is also a very clean and comfortable hotel. İt is not a luxury hotel at all. The furniture is really old fashioned. But still it is very comfortable. İ slept like babies which happens very rarely when i stay at a hotel. The personel was perfect too. They were very helpful and friendly. They said hello to us whenever they saw us. They always smiled. İ can also say that the breakfast was very good because in Europe you can rarely find such a good breakfast buffet at hotels. So yes, i recommend this hotel without any doubts. İf the price is ok for you, dont hesitate to choose hotel Amba..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oya_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent two nights here in April 2013.
The location is greatttt .. right across the street from the main train station. Can't get much better. It was a reasonable walk to the old town (15-20 minutes)

The hotel itself is small and probably in need of some renovations. The rooms are tiny (which i can live with given the location). The carpet is in much need of changing. The place is not dirty by any means, just old and needs a makeover! The staff at the front desk are hit and miss some are nice some are just indifferent.

I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hammer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I visited Munich in April when there was a wonderful heatwave, nice. I came from the late winter from Finland and was very pleased with my trip.

The hotel is located opposite the main railway station so it is very easy to reach. It is very average in every sense but I have nothing to complain about. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have had when travelling.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The room was small, and I have never seen a smaller bathroom. The sink had to be placed outside the bathroom.. No aircondition. Very noisy - even at 6th floor. The main train station is located across the street, where our window was. We did not have a good nights sleep. The furnishing and colours looks like stuff from 1980.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The furniture looks very old. There are a lot of paint issues. The light fixtures are in bad shape. The hotel does not have air conditioning, so in the summer it gets very hot. The traffic is loud. There is no swimming pool, and the fitness center is nothing special. The internet connection is very slow.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

An affordable hotel located across the street from the main rail station. The rooms were of reasonable size, clean and comfortable; if a bit dated. For the price it is a good deal, especially if you have to catch an early train.

The major drawback was the lack of air conditioning in 30C. This required us to leave the windows open at night, normally not a problem, but with trams and train announcements at all hours, it made for noisy nights and early mornings.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof
0.1 mi away
Creatif Hotel Elephant
Creatif Hotel Elephant
#203 of 387 in Munich
551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
#171 of 387 in Munich
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#266 of 387 in Munich
736 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#285 of 387 in Munich
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#128 of 387 in Munich
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amba

Address: Arnulfstr. 20, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $48 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amba 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Amba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amba Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing