We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convienent Location and Good Stay At Hotel”
Review of Hotel Antares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Antares
Ranked #188 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Recently stayed at the hotel during a week long study abroad program and the hotel met all of my needs for a single traveler. The hotel was in an excellent location being approximately 3 blocks from the Odeonzplatz area. There were also a number of restaurants and cafes that were easily a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. From the time of arrival, the receptionists were excellent and more than helpful when I needed assistance. They were available 24 hours a day. I stayed in a single room on the second floor. There is no direct access right to the elevator. You do have to go up a small flight of stairs before you reach the lift to carry you to the other floors. The room costs also included a daily breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Overall, the breakfast met all of my needs. The breakfast spread included typical German breakfast foods that included smoked salmon, cold cuts, cheese, rolls, pretzels, croissants, tea, coffee, cappuccino, and a variety of other items. The service was very good and they were very friendly. The hotel also offered parking right next door and it did cost approximately 10 Euro per night. The only downfall that I could see for the hotel was that WiFi was not free and you had to pay (what I thought) a very expensive price for it. I simply walked to the Starbucks down the road and used their WiFi while sipping tea everyday. Overall it was a good stay. The room provided the services that I needed and was in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trvlchic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 174 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Firstly, I understand that you get what you pay for and, by Munich standards, the Antares is well priced. I read the reviews before booking and was reassured by the favourable comments.

However, the reality fell a bit short of the promise. The location is good for the university area but it's a good way out from the Marienplatz which is where the action is. It's nearest underground station is also a bit of a trek, especially with suitcases.

The reception is small but the service was pleasant enough and checking in was efficient if a little cold. Once checked in you have to carry your suitcases up a flight of about 10 steps to get to the lift, no one on hand to help if you need it.

The room was a little bit tired and old. Hardwood floors with no rugs, very basic furniture and two beds pushed together, both hard and with the thinnest of Duvets. It was unseasonably cold during my visit and I struggled to sleep.

The bathroom had also seen better days with that dirty brown stain on the tile sealant that you get in old hotels. The towels were thin and small.

Breakfast was OK but the hot food had run out as I arrived and took forever to refill. I think this hotel attracts people with small children and infants and, as the tables mostly seat 6, I enjoyed my breakfast sharing with a couple and a 2 year old who eyed me very suspiciously! Watching a small child being fed banana is not everyone's ideal start to the day.

So, to sum up.....OK for the money but needs some attention and is not very well located.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyAlicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The most important asset of this hotel is its staff - very professional and friendly, always ready to help with a piece of advice/recommendation. Also, the breakfast was excellent.
It is located very centrally - you can take a short walk to the city centre (Marienplatz) or you can take the metro 1 station.
It was very clean and all in all, good value for the money paid.
The disadvantage I woud say it's the fact that you have to pay for the internet (3 eur for 30 min or you can pay for the whole day but I don't remember exactly the price) - anyway, it could have been offered for free to tourists who spend most of their days outside the hotel, anyway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I had a meeting at the university of Munich and the usual hotel was fully booked.
Decided to try this one and the choice was not bad: nice rooms, good price, decent breakfast for a fair price (being in Munich two days before Xmas).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eballix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Have nothing to compare to, but really enjoyed our stay. Travelled for four night break, as a family. We had three rooms between us, and emailed before to request twin beds, and rooms together and at back. All requests were met. Reception is 24 hour and staff there are exceptionally pleasant. Rooms were very clean, functional, and of sufficient size for purpose. bed very comfy, as was the duvet and pillow. Beds separate but together in the continental manner. Hotel is well situated for bars, restaurants and cafes nearby. All we tried were good. Lots of choices for different tastes. breakfast was included, and was very very good for a city hotel I would say. Again would suit all tastes, and included different kinds of delicious rolls, variety of jams, cold meats, eggs, fresh fruit salad, cereals, cheeses, even smoked salmon. Drinks excellent too. Ten minute walk to centre.

Room Tip: Not a busy street, but possibly quieter at back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winnieg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hotel is positioned nicely near several good restaurants, bars and cafes. Some supermarkets nearby also, as is the University station.
Rooms are clean but small, shower was not positioned properly and IMO Wifi should be included in the room price, not happy about being charged extra. If staying for more than a few nights and budget allowing, would recommend staying somewhere with a bit more room and better beds.
Breakfast was OK and quite varied but nothing special, the hours were good though - 6:30 to 10:30 everyday.
If you get a good deal on this hotel, for a few days I would recommend it, but if your budget stretches beyond it, I'd recommend somewhere perhaps more modern.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Spent 3 nights visiting Munich Christmas market. Hotel is about 10mins walk from U-bahn Odeansplatz, maybe 15-20 mins from Mariensplatz, in a quiet side street. Very friendly and helpful staff, both day and night (24 hr reception - so no need to carry heavy keys with you all day).

We chose the slightly more expensive room, (about €10 more) and had a large queen (king even?) sized bed in a large enough room. The en-suite had a full bath with shower over, which was great to soak in after a day around the snow-covered markets. Everything was clean, and the bed comfortble so we slept well.

Then there was breakfast........ where to star? Fruit juice naturally, then cereals, fresh fruit, hams, cheeses, smoked salmon with sprigs of dill, croissants, bread rolls, cakes, and not forgetting bacon lardons, and eggs three ways, scrambled, boiled or fried, all kept topped up so nothing ever ran out.

All in all avery enjoyable stay.

As others have mentioned the transport system is excellent, and as we were two couples the most economic way was to buy a Partner Card, this is valid for up to 5 people all day. It cost just over €20 from the airport (gezampnetz) and about €10 for teh 4 inner zones of Munich, valid on S & U-bahn, busses and trams.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.6 mi away
Golden Leaf Parkhotel im Lehel
2.7 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Premium Domagkstrasse
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adria Munchen
Hotel Adria Munchen
#121 of 390 in Munich
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
das Hotel in Munchen
das Hotel in Munchen
#285 of 390 in Munich
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton Astoria
Hotel Carlton Astoria
#222 of 390 in Munich
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Address: Amalienstr. 20, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $99 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antares 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Antares is located in a rather quiet side street and yet very centrally located in the Munich art area, near the university. Since the beginning of 2016, all bathrooms have been renovated to a high standard and equipped with modern soundproofed room doors; at the same time the lobby was renovated, a new larger elevator with additional stop directly in the lobby installed and the breakfast room renovated. Unfortunately, our room sizes could not be changed - we stay 'small but nice'. Details can be found in the room descriptions on our own website. Only there you book always & only at the cheapest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antares Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing