We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truffles Pasta and Creme Brulee -Very Decadent”
Review of Restaurant VUE Maximilian - CLOSED

Restaurant VUE Maximilian
Cuisines: German, European, French, International, Mediterranean, Central European
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truffles Pasta and Creme Brulee -Very Decadent”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

As above, great food quality, reasonably priced for the quality. I had hoped for a more lively crowd -but then again we came for dinner at 21h00.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2XT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    14
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
152 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

we had the white truffle menu, and augmented it with caviar. excellent experience, good presentation and attention to detail. We would return again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank YuriVanetik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain - Oxford
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Very disappointed Christmas dinner Goose overcooked & dry”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I booked this table for two well in advance on the 11/10/2012 directly with the hotel and reserved a good window seat in theRestaurant VUE Maximilian Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munich.
We arrived at 18,00hrs as requested (We were the first guests to arrive) we were given a table that was ok but not the best position considering the alternatives available and keeping in mind we booked 2 months in advance and we are first to arrive ?!
The staff were abundant and service was attentive if not a little over zealous.
Our designated waitress was quick to get us moving and this made us feel rushed from the outset.
This rushed service turned into a pattern so followed a rushed early evening dining experience.
We ordered the following menu..

Half lobster tail on avocado-mango-salad and lobster-hazelnut foam

Fillet of turbot served with Champagne foam, Imperial caviar and truffled potato puree

Roasted goose on caramelized red cabbage, roast apple, roast chestnuts and marjoram-bread-

Pecan nuts „Monte Carlo“ with flambéed dairy ice-cream and hot Griottine cherries

I selected the recommended accompanied wine selection.
My wife a half bottle of her choice.

The first two courses of lobster and turbot were very good and met all expectations of a restaurant of this reputation.
The only let down was the speed of delivery all round very rushed with no moment to savour between courses. Not good !
Also at this point we could not fail to notice the abundance of young female staff standing in groups chatting giggling and having a good old natter as we were eating. Very poor behaviour in a restaurant of this level.
Within moments of us completing the second course of Tubot, the main course of Goose was rushed in and placed on the table with the obligatory "enjoy"
This unfortunately was not to be the case.
This Goose (Ganz) was over cooked dry and had no flavour !
So much so that the breast meat, (that was a sizeable serving) was so overlooked and dry even I could not cut it, let alone my wife !
The leg portion was stringy and the whole plate lacked flavour and presentation very disappointing food from this highly rated restaurant.
The waitress approached and asked "you enjoy" I replied
No we do not enjoy intact we would like to send the Goose back please ?
The waitress asked why and we explained that the meat was overlooked and tough.
They removed the plates and apologised.
Within less than two minutes new plates arrived and plonked down hard on the table with "Enjoy" !
These new plates were not plated up with any form of presentation and the larger portions of Goose meat were just as overcooked, the whole dish was in fact Cold and tough and the other items such as dumplings and cabbage were uninspiring.
This was very disappointing indeed.
We asked for the removal of the plates as we could not eat the offering.
Our final desert course was also very poor and a pitiful offering from this kitchen on Christmas Day.
Pecan nuts „Monte Carlo“ with flambéed dairy ice-cream and hot Griottine cherries all in name but a flop in presentation and no flavour whatsoever. A disaster desert.

Obviously my wife and I were very disappointed.
We asked for the cheque, we received no offer of apology and no offer of a reduction in compensation for our bad meal and spoilt christmas evening ?!
This is wrong and again very disappointing.
Out our politeness and not wanting to create a heated scenario on Christmas Day further destroying our Christmas evening and that of other guests.
I paid the total bill of €318.50 including tax & service
Through this trip-advisor review I now invite the manager of Restaurant VUE Maximilian to post a response offering an explanation for this complete failure in providing a quality meal on our Christmas Evening And what they intend to do in an attempt to recompense us for our disappointing meal on a special day that was booked months in advance?
This review and complaint will be sent to all relevant departments of your hotel group for complete transparency and clarity.
I await your prompt response both publicly via trip advisor and via private correspondence.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank OHMSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location, chilliest staff welcome in Munich”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Vue is located in one of the two "palace" hotels in Munich, and as we had special guests visiting for the weekend, we thought it would be an ideal location. As we wanted to enjoy a brunch on a Sunday morning, we called the restaurant in advance, where we were told that no reservation was needed and that they would be happy to welcome us until noon.

As we arrived at 10:30, one of the unfriendliest - if not rudest - restaurant managers in Munich greeted us coldly and advised us that she couldn't offer us a table, despite a half-empty room that would remain so for the next hour and a half. After telling her we had called in advance, she rolled her eyes and began to frantically consult with her "team" if this would be possible and whether we would get a table. Finally, we were told that as an exception, they would give us a table - which happened to be one of the worst ones in the entire room. Make no mistake, if it hadn't been snowing outside, we would have left and gone for friendlier places - the Brenner is just around the corner, as it's the Eisbach. Also, we wanted to taste the buffet which is supposed to be one of Munich's best. Here we were disappointed as well: while some of the dishes were good quality, once the main buffet was closed at 11:00 A.M., the secondary buffet included frozen produce and less than fresh or newly prepared dishes.

Despite a wonderful location, the most enduring memory of this restaurant will be the manager's rudeness.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RodolfoLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Gastronomic delight”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Loved everything we ate. Loved the iPad wine list.the service was discrete and friendly. The view from the windows as we dined was romantic.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnG244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant VUE Maximilian also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing