We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular Day!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bus Bavaria Neuschwanstein Castle Tours

Bus Bavaria Neuschwanstein Castle Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.07*
and up
Munich Bike Tour with Optional Königsplatz and Olympiapark Visit
Ranked #11 of 112 Tours in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bus Bavaria Neuschwanstein Castle Tours has been doing day trips to this famous castle especially for English-speaking guests since May of 2000. This listing has only existed since 2011. Over 15 years we have sent off as close to 100% of our guests enthusiastically satisfied with their choice to join us on this excursion as we believe is realistically possible. Nonetheless, we have, as is our custom with our famous bike tour of Munich (Mike's Bike Tours) raised the bar again and improved our tour in several ways for 2015 and beyond. We know when comparing any and all offers for tours to this destination from Munich that one can easily come to the conclusion that we offer superior value. Our tours include a highly enjoyable, (optional) bike ride on well-maintained, comfortable Cruiser bicycles around the area near the castle, our guide's post-lunch PROFESSIONAL magic show (MOST of the time but not on Wed. & Sun. in the peak season) which is FUN and often downright mind-boggling as well as a few other fun activities such as swimming in a refreshing alpine lake in the middle of the bike ride and the unique opportunity to FLY DIRECTLY OVER THE CASTLE on a tandem paraglide! One can also take a fun ride down an alpine slide! Hence, our Neuschwanstein Castle Tours from Munich are quite unique. We hope you will choose to join us on this fantastic excursion from Munich in the near future so that we may have the opportunity to send you, too, off as nothing less than another FAN of our company.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spectacular Day!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Don't book with anyone else! This tour is amazing! My husband and I went during Oktoberfest and it was such a beautiful day!! Some reviews on here talk about how Mike talks too much about how low his prices are or how much to tip Brad; I did not find this to be true.
He did mention once that his prices haven't changed in a number of years and he did talk about how great Brad is and how he deserves a little extra, but I did not find it to be out of context or overdone; just doing his job.
I can say that I noticed some people tipping Brad extremely low which explains why Mike makes a point of expressing how important tips are. As Canadians we are used to tipping higher than others anyways but we had such a spectacular time and Brad and Meikke were so helpful and full of Information that they truly deserve a great tip! So don't be turned off by reviews dissing Mike, especially since he is only on the bus for about half an hour.
Other than that the whole day was amazing!
The ride up the countryside was beautiful, lunch was decent (great beer and strudel), the Alpine slide was fun and the hike was out of this world!! Do not skip the hike!! Truly one of the best parts of the whole day!! It makes you sweat but there were some larger people on our tour who made it just fine. Mary's Bridge is also a highlight of the day and the place to get the most amazing pictures.
The castle tour itself was short but impressive! One of the most extravagant castles we toured on our 3 week Europe trip
Plus the bus sells beer for only €2 a bottle! .
All in all such a great tour, don't think twice about booking it!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank honeymooners096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    841
    93
    35
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent way to experience the castle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We did this tour at the end of September during Oktoberfest and I would strongly recommend it!! The bus was comfortable and they played a little DVD about the history of the castle recorded by Brad the tour guide which was a nice touch. The tour itself was 49 euros each but be warned this doesn't include lunch, the slide or the castle tour (as they will tell you!). These are all optional and you can bring your own lunch if you wish.

Brad was an exceptional tour guide who was highly knowledgeable and very friendly. He did everything to help you and even though the bike ride wasn't offered (too late in the season) he did allow people to ride if they wanted to since it was a nice day out. His magic show left my partner in awe! Still trying to figure out how he does it.

The castle itself was spectacular! We did the hike up and Brad was so considerate in waiting for a family with young children on our tour (they should have tipped him more!!). He pointed out the best spots for photos and continued to give us great information and stories. No one made a big deal out of tipping the guide but maybe they should have because we felt bad that a lot of the Aussies on the tour didn't tip very much at all (we are aussies too and tipped a little over the recommended 15% of the tour price - we felt that Brad was worth it with the experience he gave us!).

All in all a great tour!!! Thank you Brad!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Frewy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“we did the bike tour of the castle Neuschwanstein- fun for kids but a lot of time on the bus”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Beware, you spend only about an hour (maximum) in bikes, 2 hours each way on the bus and the rest of the day walking up to the castle. Also, the castle admission is not included and the tour guides "remind" you several times that they "appreciate" tips. We felt like they were working us for tips the whole time, including coming through at the end of the day to collect the castle entrance fee and asking for tips again.
The castle itself is crowded and the tour inside the castle is pretty mediocre (they pack in big groups of people and you can't really hear the tour guide.) The area is lovely around there. The lunch spot is basic, it was rushed but basically the food was fine. Our kids loved the short time they got on the bikes, but I really wouldn't describe this as much of a biking day, it is much more of a bus trip, I think. It is pretty expensive, especially since lunch and the castle admission are not included. The hike to the castle is pretty strenuous and it happens at the very end of the day, they take you biking and for lunch first, our 3 year old had to be carried for most of it. They sell beer on the bus on the way home, which was awesome.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MegBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brad and Maaike Changed My Life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

OK, maybe that's a slight exaggeration, but they were awesome. I did their bicycle trip/Neuschwanstein Castle tour. We bicycled around the beautiful German countryside, and swam in Swan Lake (so fun). Brad is clearly such a pro. He kept things moving, told us a million facts and stories about the area and castles, and he even offered to take pictures for tour guests everytime we made a stop while biking. He knew how to keep the entire day moving while making it relaxed and laidback.

His magic tricks were very, very impressive. He made my friend Lindsey disappear and...we still haven't found her.

That's not true, but I'll tell you what Brad DID make disappear: boredom, mediocrity, the mundane.

He killed it out there. Be smart and go on this tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best part of our time in Germany!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were in Europe for a little over 2 weeks and this bike tour to the castle was one of the top highlights of our entire trip! Our day was filled with south to see and do and the price was great! The tour was not strenuous for those that aren't physically active but its also enough to keep those of us who are very active engaged. We rode bikes throughout Bavaria, ate at the local restaurant, swam in swan lake, rose the alpine slide and hiked up to the castle before our tour. Everything was so great and Brad was such a great tour guide. Our pictures from this part of he vacation are amazing!!! If you are in Munich or around the Bavaria region definitely do this!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGlobetrotter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bus Bavaria Neuschwanstein Castle Tours also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Bus Bavaria Neuschwanstein Castle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing