We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & value”
Review of Drei Loewen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Drei Loewen Hotel
Ranked #103 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent location & value”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located a stone's throw from a major tube and also train station. We took the tube from the airport straight to the station where the hotel is. It's a bit confusing trying to find the correct exit leading to the street where the hotel is but that's not a big problem.

The rooms are reasonably sized and fairly clean. Some rooms are newer than others and wifi seemed to be hard to access from some rooms that's why we changed from an older to a newer room. The new room was very nicely decorated with a comfy 4 poster bed and a large bathroom. Our kids had a room that slept 3 comfortably. It was older but not shabby.

Breakfast was a pretty good spread and service was very friendly.

There are some adult shops along the street where the hotel is but we did not encounter any unsavoury characters in our 3 days there.

It is very good value for money in a very convenient location. There are restaurants along the same street, a pharmacy just across the road, and even a Chinese convenience store just around the corner. Car rental companies are also just a short walk away (about 150m) where the train station, Munchen Hbf, is.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsfootloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    267
    136
    20
    27
See reviews for
78
188
48
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The only thing going for this hotel is that it's not far from the railway station. it does not deserve 4 stars. the staff were rude and unhelpful. The room was in need of updating and the security at the hotel was poor. Despite being non smoking, cigarette smoke was quite strong in the room. The free wifi was unreliable or the staff would cut off the access. I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it.

Room Tip: There are many better hotels to choose from in this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a great stay at the Drei Loewen. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The Drei Loewen is a perfect location for those wanting to explore central Munich. My wife and I were there for the Oktoberfest. I can not imagine a better location. The opening weekend parade routes were 2 blocks away - very convenient. I will definitely stay there again. Good price. Great location. Wonderful staff.

Room Tip: We did not ask for any special accommodations other than nonsmoking. We were pleased with the room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67Richard64060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUNICH
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Excellent location for the city centre. Munich was a lovely city to visit. The room at the hotel was very good with excellent service. Breakfast was more than adequate with a wide choice of foods from cold buffet to hot breakfast.
would recommend this hotel regarding quality and price - excellent value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank RICHARD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is right next to the main railway station in Munich - with its pros + cons: central and well connected (I rented car from st.) but area is typical of big trai stations: sex shops, casins, kebabs, lot of immigrants standing round the streets.
Hotel: from outside its not great but better inside. Nice foyer, modern bar and breakfast very good.
The rooms: nice, modern,clean not overly big. We didn't have a view. Not sure if there were.
Staff were friendly and the overall price was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great location, close to the main train station and about a 5 minute walk over to Marienplatz and the "old town", shopping, Hofbrauhaus, etc. Hotel was very clean with large modern updated rooms, good value for the money, included free wifi, which many hotels in Germany try to charge 15 or 20 euros a day for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrugalRum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Without A/C in the rooms it is impossible to sleep. I was forced to change to another hotel so it was a 1 hour visit for me. During winter it might work but rooms are not like they were in the web. Location is great but it does not compensate the lack of A/C

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hautsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#120 of 382 in Munich
373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#50 of 382 in Munich
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#12 of 382 in Munich
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#37 of 382 in Munich
1,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 382 in Munich
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drei Loewen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drei Loewen Hotel

Property: Drei Loewen Hotel
Address: Schillerstr. 8, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drei Loewen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drei Loewen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Drei Lowen
Drei Lowen Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing