We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location if arriving by train”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Ranked #63 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ideal location if arriving by train”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

5 mins if that walk from railway station and I can see why some may be put off by its location,but hotel itself was clean and comfortable and I found all the staff very helpful.Personally didn't feel uneasy walking about the area,but as I said can see why some especially with children might look for another option.I arrived around 11pm and checked out by 9am,so i cant comment on how the location would look during the day or early evening.Would have no issues staying again myself and found it very good value for money

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    941
    255
    72
    31
See reviews for
417
759
149
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just yards from the main train station and only 10min walk into the historic centre, the location is great (albeit the immediate surrounding streets are full of hosels and a slightly sleezy night-scene).

We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel itself is very modern, well presented and clean. Reception staff friendly and efficient, speaking several languages. The rooms are very spacious with large bathrooms and a great shower. Breakfast was also excellent - very easy to over-indulge with so much on offer!

Our only negatives were the awful wifi service and the feeling that the hotel was geared towards business people rather than families - it didn't feel very "cosy". Minor complaint though, in the overall scheme of things. If they can sort out the wifi they might be close to 5 stars.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Yes, please don't be so surprised. I was gifted to have my room like little castle. Everything was perfectly well-organized. However, I perceived bad impression with two things as moody master on the way to the hotel lift and no room service from F&B team.

Moody master or unhappy manager could provide bad altitude to hotel guests. This will affect easily to guest impression. He must smile to make guests feel like they stay at home sweet home. Oh! Next, this manager loves to watch guest shopping bags. (Personally, I think he would like to sell more his items not local market items. This is not nice if his idea is too limit without being aware that he should support local businesses, too!)

No room service increases unforgettable bad dreams to VIP guests. I as one member of platinum card should be offered the best service. I am so disappointed when I have to spend my last minute to pick up an item after traveling full day around this town-Munich.

Therefore; if you see like what I see, please confirm and it might help him to change better after he sees this review.

Employee is one of overall elements that help the establishment improve better or worse pending on his attitude and behavior, true?

NB: I don't speak English well but that is what I confess after staying there more than 3 nights.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent four nights at the Mercure and overall we were pleased with the hotel.
The young staff was very friendly and helpful and I liked our OK sized and quiet room on the sixth floor; it had a balcony which always is nice. There were no chairs though, maybe because of the chilly season. Otherwise a couple of chairs had been a good idea.
The bed was big and comfortable and housekeeping worked well.
Breakfast was good, there is a good selection of everything. Unfortunately the breakfast area is too crammed with lots of tables and chairs and it is difficult to get through to the buffet without bumping into other guests.
What I did not like was the lack of working elevators. There are two elevators, but one of them was out of order; we arrived on Monday and left on Friday, and nothing had happened to their condition, same out of order sign taped to the malfunctioning one throughout our entire stay. As the hotell staff used the same and only elevator we had to wait for very long; so most of the time we took the stairs from the sixth floor.
Another complaint is the lack of free WiFi. A four star hotel in 2013 should include WiFi service in the room rate and the internet should be easily accessible.
The location of the Mercure could be considered a problem. What is positive is the close proximity to the city center and to the central station, it's just a very short walk so you don't need a taxi. (From the Airport you take the commuter train S1 or S8 which will take you to the Hauptbahnhof in 45 minutes, they run every ten minutes. You pay 20:40 Euro for a partner ticket you buy from a machine).
But - the Senefelderstrasse and its surroundings are neither chic nor nice and I would not want to walk there alone at night.

Room Tip: 6th floor with sunny balcony in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Golden butterflyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The location is near to the city center, and the public transportation which is good especially for families due to prices, is very close. It is easy to use train, tram or metro. At night i felt unsafe near the station , without anything to see or to happen. Rooms are spacious and clean, service is polite and helpfull, breakfast buffet is huge, mini bar is free and also a glass of wine in the lobby. They must have free wifi in the rooms and not only in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiannisDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 days friendly staff really easy to find from Central Station. Room was small but functional, mini bar was free (beer, soft drink and water). Bar prices reasonable... Nice cocktails! About 10min walk to old town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice and each time we had a really huge room for two people. The hotel is not in the center but we were not bothered, because it is very close to the central station where you can take the train or tram in any direction, even to reach the outskirts of the city.
Once again, a truly relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shipckone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 382 in Munich
1,581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#36 of 382 in Munich
1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 382 in Munich
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
1.5 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#51 of 382 in Munich
2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center

Property: Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Address: Senefelderstr. 9 | Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Munich
#33 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#37 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#46 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel München City Center is located just 109 yards from the main train station. Relax in our comfortable surroundings: All 167 spacious rooms are air-conditioned and have WIFI. Our CBH-certified hotel boasts five meeting rooms for up to 70 people. The hotel is situated close to the train station, which is also beneficial for air travel, and the airport is a 45-minute drive away via the S8 highway. The A9 highway will bring you to the hotel, where you can park in the public garage.Our Standard Rooms are equipped with modern LCD TVs offering 100 international channels (including Sky Cinema and Sky Sports), a high-quality bed, comfortable seating, a functional desk space with WIFI, a free minibar and a kettle.Superior Rooms with approx. 323 sq. ft (30 sq. m), our Superior Rooms offer even more room for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Munich
Mercure Hotel Munich
Mercure Muenchen City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing