We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, convenient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Ranked #65 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice, convenient hotel”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was a nice hotel for a night in Munich. Staying in one of their standard rooms we found it modern and quite roomy, the bathroom was nicely designed too. We had a good nights sleep and enjoyed the later check out time of 12pm.The staff were helpful and the town centre and train station were a short walk away. The red walls may be seen as a bit strong but that's a personal opinion. Downsides would be no free wifi- one of few hotels I found during my trip that didn't offer it (I think you could sign up to their loyalty program to gain access, but I didn't need to be signing up for yet another loyalty program), and there was inexplicably a hole in the wall above the toilet- perhaps some unfinished maintenance work? We also weren't informed their was a complimentary minibar and didn't see anything in the room to suggest it was. It was far better than our last Mercure experience though and I wouldn't hesitate to suggest it to people visiting Munich.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bkk_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    951
    256
    72
    32
See reviews for
425
765
150
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We walked to the hotel with our big suitcases from the train station and was very happy that it was only a 3 minute walk to the hotel. Had a few mishaps with my booking, but the staff were kind enough to fix it up and accommodate accordingly. The room was big and spacious (and we only had a standard room). The breakfast in the morning was quite exceptional compared to a "normal" European hotel breakfast, very happy their was an array of hot food. Ordered from room service for dinner once and they got part of our order wrong, but I put that down to language difference and they quickly fixed it all up. We also had free wi-if included which worked fast on my iPad. It's also conveniently located close to the trams, buses, and also the sightseeing buses, as well as within walking distance of quite a few attractions. Would definitely choose this hotel for my next stay in Munich.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My partner and I spent two nights in a 'Privilege Room' for €196.80. That price didn't include breakfast (which was a good, extensive buffet - but not worth the €19pp). But it did include free mini-bar (a couple of beers, some champagne, two juices, two soft drinks, two waters, a chocolate bar and a bag of pretzels).

Great location, very close to the train station (and the airport shuttle bus) and not far from the main town square and attractions.

Staff were friendly and gave helpful advice on how to get around.

Rooms were clean and comfy.

There were a couple of computers available with free internet, which was handy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samdukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel whilst visiting Munich. I was very impressed with the room as it was spacious and very nicely decorated. We were lucky enough to have a room facing the indoor court which was lovely and quiet. The mini bar is fully stocked which is complimentary which was a nice change :) free Wifi is not available though you can purchase internet usage for a small fee (though I found the reception staff really wanted me to sign up to their corporate club to recieve free internet which I mentioned on a few occasssions I didnt want to I just wanted to purchase internet usage). I found the restaurant/bar staff very rude and the service was terrible. Upon our arrival we sat down to have a drink before heading out sight seeing and it took over 10minutes for someone to take out order and then another 10 minutes to receive our drinks. The manager on duty at the time was very abrupt and unprofessional. There seemed to be very limited staff at the bar, when we wanted to pay our bill we had to stand around waiting for someone to serve us for 15 minutes. This left a a bad impression on us for the rest of our stay and we didint use the hotel restaurant/bar again! The hotel offers TV with over 100 channels although only about 5 of them are in english.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooke_s83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaBonertz, Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Mercure Guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay even if you had some serious comments regarding the service in the hotel bar. We brought this matter to the relevant department manager to avoid similar situations in the future.

Herewith we would like to appologize for any inconvenience.

We would be glad to welcome you back in our hotel, to be able to restore your confidence in Mercure.

Many Regards
Christina Bonertz
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent a night while in Munich last weekend. It was too short but we will stay here next time (hope is soon) when in the city. The hotel is warm, theatrical designed, mainly in red and black tones. Personnel at the reception very helpful and attentive! Our room's mini bar was filled with soft drinks, beer, small champagne and water, all free to use! The room was stylish, clean and spacious!
It is just 5 mins walk from München Hauptbahnhof (central station) and 10-12 mins walk to Marienplatz.
I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skybluem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is around 10 minutes walk from the city center, vey close to the train station (neighborhood is not great...but I had no problem).
Standard Mercure quality (which is very nice), helpful and kind staff, big and clean room. The hotel itself is new and clean.
"Corporate" hotel, nothing very unique or special about it, but it is a safe and good choice for a confortable stay in Munique.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Looking for a 1 night hotel near Hbf in Munchen. we've choosed Mercure City Center and didn't regret it. Very close to central station. We've chosen a privileged room and was a good choice. There was an espresso coffee machine, fruits and water free of use and our room face the indoor court (silence). I've made a mistake when I've booked the room (I've booked a single room instead of double room) but we haven't paid a fortune (just 20euro). A very good choice for a near Hbf location. Maybe rooms need some refurbishment, but that's not an issue for us,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moruzic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#36 of 382 in Munich
1,113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#12 of 382 in Munich
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
1.5 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#52 of 382 in Munich
2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center

Property: Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Address: Senefelderstr. 9 | Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Munich
#33 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#38 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#46 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel München City Center is located just 109 yards from the main train station. Relax in our comfortable surroundings: All 167 spacious rooms are air-conditioned and have WIFI. Our CBH-certified hotel boasts five meeting rooms for up to 70 people. The hotel is situated close to the train station, which is also beneficial for air travel, and the airport is a 45-minute drive away via the S8 highway. The A9 highway will bring you to the hotel, where you can park in the public garage.Our Standard Rooms are equipped with modern LCD TVs offering 100 international channels (including Sky Cinema and Sky Sports), a high-quality bed, comfortable seating, a functional desk space with WIFI, a free minibar and a kettle.Superior Rooms with approx. 323 sq. ft (30 sq. m), our Superior Rooms offer even more room for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Munich
Mercure Hotel Munich
Mercure Muenchen City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing