We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Central Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Ranked #64 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel as it exceeded my expectations. I visited this hotel on a business trip and despite not having status with Mercure they upgraded me. This meant a larger room with a free mini bar and wifi and large walk-in shower in the bathroom and a large king bed that was very comfortable. We wanted to eat in a typical Bavarian restaurant and the staff were very friendly and gave us directions.

The breakfast was a large array of hot and cold buffet items with decent coffee. I am not sure if there was a gym or spa as I did not have time to use them. In the morning they arranged a taxi which was no trouble at all and we left feeling well rested and attended to.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelina8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

As a family of 4, we were given a spacious room on the 6th floor of the hotel, by far more comfortable than expected at the booking time. "This room really relaxes me" exclaimed our 14-year old daughter after a long walking tour around the city center... and that was true.
The staff was very polite and helpful and English-speaking..
Breakfast is also very good, great variety of tasty - delicious -yummy things.
A good choice for someone who wants to walk around the city center...and close to Hauptbahnof too..

Room Tip: 624 was a nice Premium room, spacious enough for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraTragaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed on the sixth floor for three days just prior to Christmas. The hotel is well located 100m from the main train station and 400m from the centre of the city.
The rooms were large and comfortable with good showers and baths. The first room we were shown had no bath and the hotel without any fuss changed our room. The staff were very good all through the stay and really helpful.
Breakfast is great with a fantastic choice.
Would certainly use this or other hotels in the chain.

Room Tip: Room 629 was amazingly quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great towel. Clean rooms, great food, excellent friendly staff. Perfect English by all staff which was a blessing. One hiccup the street was a little noisy at night, if you can, request a room facing the back of the main road.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I decided to have a 2 night break before Christmas and chose Munich as the venue. This change of scene was much appreciated and the colder climate made Christmas appear more real. The Mercure hotel in Munich centre is ideally situated , close to the main train station and easily within walking distance if the old city centre. My room was a single room. It was clean and well appointed. I was impressed with the bathroom and even more so with the complimentary mini-bar!
The price of my room included breakfast - a real treat, with much choice and efficient service.
The hotel reception staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank CHEADY5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed over Christmas at this hotel. At first we were very impressed by the hotel--nice big bed, great color scheme, friendly staff greeting us as we arrived.
Wifi was not free, only if you have an Accor membership apparently. We paid for the 7 day wifi for 35 euros even though we stayed less than that.
Room had great amenities, including a kettle and free minibar (probably came with our room package). However nothing was to be seen of travel adapters and iPhone chargers near the bedside clock (as mentioned in other reviews). Might have probably had to ask the reception for that.
What put us off the trip was breakfast. We didn't have any high expectations for breakfast, and we shouldn't have had. Breakfast selection was below average: old bread and stale croissants, cereal that looks like it has been there for a week, and other "cold" items which look expired as well. We went for breakfast at 6AM (just when they open), and noticed that they weren't finished cleaning up (there were breadcrumbs everywhere, tables still covered with food from yesterday, and they were busy vacuum cleaning which was quite loud) and breakfast food like bacon and eggs were not yet ready. As you can guess, the croissants and the bread were so nicely prepared from the day(s) before.
Another incident happened the day after when we ate breakfast at 11.30 (they close breakfast at 12PM on holidays, which is a nice touch). We came down and everything was fine, but today we spoke English (instead of German). However, I noticed that one of the staff kept telling a younger one to check up on us so that they could "get lost" (I can't say what they actually said due to Tripadvisor's profanity filter, but imagine a derogatory form of that) since breakfast closes at 12. Unbeknownst to them, we can also speak German and this came to a shock to us to hear such language in an otherwise good hotel. I answered back directly and the younger staff hurried back to the other one and whispered that we could understand German. A good laugh, but not the way that a customer should be treated.
Other than that, the hotel is quite centrally located, close to the train station and taxi stands, as well as sightseeing bus stops. We legitimately felt scared of the environment when walking around at 5pm on Christmas eve as there were several packs of bigger men standing around the street in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaBonertz, Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Sir or Madame,

first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure München City Center.

We are very glad to read that you were happy with the hotel decoration and the comfort of the beds.

With great disappointment we had to note your comments regarding our breakfast buffet. We open officially at 6.30 am, however we know that some of our customers need to leave earlier and that is the reason why we open the breakfast area a bit earlier. The whole buffet maids not finally build up. Your comments regarding your first morning in our hotel seems like some other guest had already there breakfast. We can guarantee that we serve every day fresh bread and croissants delivered from our local bakery.

Please note that the mentioned situation on the following day has been a true exception to our normal practices. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem. All our efforts are concentrated in preventing future occurrences. Allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

We kindly ask you to give us a chance to proof that we can do much better, once again we would like to apologize.

Sincerely Yours

Christina Bonertz
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I agree with flattering words about that hotel.There is no reason to complain. It is really a nice place, not far from the train station, right in the city center. Friendly staff, clean room and bathroom, free internet access and of course a very good breakfast. I liked the hotel very much, especially color of the walls, what a pity I spent there only two nights.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zbirog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 389 in Munich
1,766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#43 of 389 in Munich
1,154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#51 of 389 in Munich
2,735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 389 in Munich
1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center

Address: Senefelderstr. 9 | Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#34 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#46 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $111 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel München City Center is located just 109 yards from the main train station. Relax in our comfortable surroundings: All 167 spacious rooms are air-conditioned and have WIFI. Our CBH-certified hotel boasts five meeting rooms for up to 70 people. The hotel is situated close to the train station, which is also beneficial for air travel, and the airport is a 45-minute drive away via the S8 highway. The A9 highway will bring you to the hotel, where you can park in the public garage.Our Standard Rooms are equipped with modern LCD TVs offering 100 international channels (including Sky Cinema and Sky Sports), a high-quality bed, comfortable seating, a functional desk space with WIFI, a free minibar and a kettle.Superior Rooms with approx. 323 sq. ft (30 sq. m), our Superior Rooms offer even more room for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Munich
Mercure Hotel Munich
Mercure Muenchen City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing