We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$135
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Munich Airport(Munich)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$156
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of $243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$599
$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $522/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$110
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 54% below average rates

The price you found is 54% lower than this hotel's average rate of $231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Marc Munchen(Munich)
$157
$122
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 57% below average rates

The price you found is 57% lower than this hotel's average rate of $284/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$304
$283
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $345/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$144
$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of $207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Platzl Hotel(Munich)
$254
$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of $332/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,253)
Filter reviews
2,253 results
Traveler rating
794
1,067
272
81
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
794
1,067
272
81
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree mini barprivilege roomtrain stationmain stationsparkling watersuperior roomfree wificonvenient locationminute walkroom was largeside streetreception staffmunich hbfpretzelslate at nightnever felt unsafefour nights
Filter
Updating list...
840 - 845 of 2,253 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here for just a night hence didn't end up using a lot of their facilities.
Pros:
1. Location is good. Near haupbahnof and hence easy to commute for business or pleasure. There is also a downside to this. See Cons pls.
2. Room size os good for German hotel. We were 3 in 1 room and they arranged for an extra bed. Still there was a lot of walking space in the room.
3. Free Mini bar: not much to drink but it's included in the room rate which is good.
4. Lovely service at front desk. Very helpful and extremely courteous. Keep it up.

Cons:
1. The location becomes a bit shady after sun set with the neighborhood waking up to strip joints, seedy bars etc..
2. Internet (wifi) is included in hotel room but it's so slow that you cannot download mails with heavy attachments.
3. No view from any side.

Like I said, it's good for a short stay. Can try again of visiting Munich for business and want to stay near the main train station (Haupbahnof).

Room Tip: Take rooms towards the back; facing a courtyard. They are better than the ones facing noisy street.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gary25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaBonertz, Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel München City Center.

It is great to read about the good service at the Front Desk, Location and rooms. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are sorry that you have experienced some challenges regarding the internet. Sometimes if many guests are using it at the same time and downloading files it can be a slow. Sorry for that. In this case customers have always the possibility to use the computers in the business center on the ground floor.

The mentioned rooms to the courtyard side are our rooms in the privilege category. Additional features are: 33sqm, newspaper, coffee machine, free of charge late departure (due to availability), more free minibar drinks in the minibar.

Ww are looking forward to welcome you back at the Mercuer Munich City Center.

With best Regards

Christina Bonertz
Revenue Manager


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Nice little hotel, good for city centre and railway station. My room, 606 was a good size and had a balcony. Drawback was it overlooked the road. Don't be put off by the worries by some about the backpackers. They are well behaved, but groups of kids can be seen as intimidating by some. Search for nose hill gentlemen for an example.

Staff were pretty good. Free minibar was a great thing. I didn't try the food. I was fairly pleased. Rates were very high coming odd Oktoberfest but to be expected I guess.

Room Tip: Get hiGh up away from the street noise. No pool can't remove rating!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An-gof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaBonertz, Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Sir or Madame,

thank you for your nice comment. We are very glad to read that you had no worries regarding the backpackers on the end of the street. That are mostly young people, we had till today no bad experience.

We hope we have the possibility one day to welcome you back.

With best Regards

Christina Bonertz
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had stayed here for 1 nyt enroute to Freiburg.Good Hotel, nice spacious rooms.Typical Mercure style rooms

Very good location, just in the city centre.Easy access to everything.You have some really good shopping places & eating joints nearby..

Worth the price!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vishal111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaBonertz, Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time and for the nice comment reagarding our hotel.

Best Regards

Christina Bonertz
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I travel to the Christmas Markets in Germany every year. Whilst we try and go to different places as much as possible, we have been back to Munich for the last three years in a row.

Every year we stay at the Mercure Hotel, City Centre. The hotel's location is perfect. Everywhere is within walking distance or if you are feeling lazy, then the train station is just a couple of minutes walk away.

The hotel is clean and welcoming and the staff are very friendly. Our rooms have always been spacious, modern and offer everything you need. If you sign-up to the hotel's membership card, you get free WiFi too.

We always have breakfast outside of the hotel so cannot comment about this.

We are going to the Munich Christmas markets this year again and have already booked this hotel. If you are looking for value for money with a good location, then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karim1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaBonertz, Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Mercure Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel München City Center. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we áre looking forward to welcome you again during the Christmas Market time.

With best Regards
Christina Bonertz
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

no complaints - a clean and comfortable hotel with ease of access to Public Transport and taxi service if needed

2 nights and all was to be expected

with Breakfast area a delight, comfortable, clean with a great seclection

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaBonertz, Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you Richard,

it was a big pleasure to read you nice comments.

With best Regards
Christina Bonertz
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews