We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiente Hotel better than ok”
Review of Ambiente Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ambiente Hotel
Ranked #182 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel is very close to the Munich Central station. However, the street is full of some weird people, casinos, etc. Once you are out of the street, you will feel much better. It is within walking distance to the Marienplatz.

The hotel's is clean but has no A/C. You have a fan to cool down and circulate the air. Room's size is considerably big in European standard. You have to close the windows to minimize the noise. The breakfast buffet is fine with hot food, 3 kinds of juices, water, etc.

Room Tip: head over to the Marienplaz for meal or any of the nearby beer gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swhli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 165 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this hotel. Had a room in the back away from the street - it was quiet, clean, large and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was nicely done. The front desk staff were always there and willing to answer any questions. It was raining one morning as I left and the staff asked and made and sure I had an umbrella before leaving. Very thoughtful. Would definately recommend to anyone looking for a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AddiesGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Hotel is On Schiller Street 5-8 minute walk from Rail Station. I go 2 times a year to Munich and always stay in this area because the many choices of hotels and the good connections for S and U Bahn and easy walking to where I want to go. That means to Restaurants since there is not a decent Restaurant in the vicinity unless you eat in any of the hotels with overpriced food. Other Streets with hotels here are Goethe and Sennefelder Strasse.
Schiller Strasse and side streets have maybe 20 2 to 4 star hotels and must be the worst street in Munich and maybe in all of Germany. Strip joints, pawn shops, jewelery stores, call stores, cell phone sales etc all run mostly be Turks or other foreigners. Worst of all man standing on the sidewalk in pairs or more smoking and talking. All foreigners seeming to come from North Africa, Turkey, Rumania, Bulgaria, Albania and other Eastern countries. One has to wonder how they make a living, probably by a generous German Government. No, they bother nobody but sometime you have to walk around them. If it was not by the tourist coming to the Hotels it would be a slum street altogether.
Hotel Ambiente is a nice 2-3 star hotel with a small reception area with a sofa, most rooms are in the back of the building and quiet, single rooms are small like in most hotels here and clean, the hotel serves a good breakfast and has a Laptop you can take to your room to check E - Mail.
I have been to many hotels here and most all had breakfast included now many charge extra,
and if you book one without breakfast it could run from 10 to 25 Dollars or even Euros a day more. In the rail station you could get pastry, juices and more for breakfast.
There are many Restaurants walking towards Stachus and continue towards Marien Platz and then to Isar Torplatz a walking street about a kilometer long. there is the Augustiner on the right side coming through Gate. Has a lout beer joint with food and a nicer more expensive restaurant next to it. At the Donisl Restaurant on Marien Platz you can eat a German meal like Schweins Haxen, Pork roast, Schnitzel, Goulasch etc, for around 11,- Dollars. What you should not miss is the Rathskeller in the basement of City Hall, a large Restaurant with many rooms and nooks for " Romance" and a Winecellar at the end with music and singing if you want to. My favorite since it has small plates to eat and a 1/4 liter wine costs from 2.80 Euro up.

Room Tip: up to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank erniep747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Before booking I knew I wanted to stay roughly in this area of Munich, to be near the main station and walking distance to the Fruhlingsfest, and there were many hotels on this street (which some people may consider a slightly 'colourful' area, but it wasn't something that bothered us), so with the reviews being good I was happy to try out the Ambiente.

The first room we were shown to faced the main street and had a couple of layers of double glazed windows, but bizarrely no curtains - just some large blinds on the outside of the window which were operated by a lever from inside. By chance we happened to try closing the blinds as soon as we got into the room, and found they didn't work - so not only could you not shut out any light from the room, but also there was no privacy (as there are hotel room windows across the street).

We spoke with the lady on Reception straight away as we knew we'd not be able to get any sleep if the room was full of light, and she moved us down a few floors, again to a room on the front. These blinds did work a little better but still let in a lot of light around the edges, but we didn't have much option - if only there were some thick curtains, that would have solved the problem immediately.

Unfortunately this room was on a smoking floor, so there was a lingering odour in the room of previous smoking, and also a really huge amount of noise from the street outside - more of a problem from about 6am onwards than when going to bed, as delivery trucks etc. arrived from that time. Again, curtains would have helped cut out some of that noise. We had eyemasks and earplugs with us, but only managed about two proper night's sleep out of the five we were there, due to the noise and light.

On the positive side, the staff were all friendly and attentive, the room large enough and clean, with a great shower, room for clothes and cases, a reasonably-priced minibar, TV, and free wifi/LAN throughout. The decor was a little shabby but that's not really a problem as long as there are good facilities and cleanliness.

Breakfast was another plus point - lots of choice, and food trays were continuously replenished by the staff. Juice, cereals & museli, fruit & yoghurt; three types of rye bread, many different rolls; preserves and spreads; a cheese platter and meat platter (good selections); hot foods - scrambled or boiled eggs, bacon, sausages; cake to finish. The filter coffee was very good, and there was tea also.

On the whole, if it hadn't been for the sleep quality, we would have been very pleased with this hotel - and I gather from some other reviews that if you manage to have a courtyard room, it will be quieter (and possibly less bright?). But unless I knew the light/noise wouldn't be an issue, I wouldn't stay there again as getting a poor night's sleep can really affect the quality of your holiday.

If I had one suggestion for the hotel, it would be that they invest in some floor to ceiling blackout curtains for their rooms, and advertise that fact widely!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the main street, and preferably has curtains as well as blinds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nexus-t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is a very nice and friendly hotel near the train station.

Room Tip: "twin" beds in 104 are very large very nice room Staff 1st class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emeritus24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

When we arrived it was dark so the approach from the station (hauptbanhof) was nothing to get concerned about, it was only the next day during daylight that we looked again and thought, "oh my word" on one side is a computer cafe type place and on the other was little shop selling mobile telephones, opposite was a casino and diagonally opposite was a "candi bar" I don't think they sold chocolate though.

The entrance is no wider than the average front door at home so it feels very tight.
When you walk through you certainly leave the outside behind you, with a nice warm and cosy reception area and a smiling receptionist.

There is a small lift to the three floors and obviously some stairs.

The rooms are spotlessly clean with nice comfy beds. Some people have mentioned noise at night from the street but with double, double glazing we experienced no noise at all.

The breakfast was of a good standard, meats, eggs, cheeses and cereals.
However, the lady who works in there really needs to learn to smile a bit at least.

The facilities of the bathroom were very good in particular the shower which was great, the toilet tight in a corner let it down slightly though.

With the main station only a two minute walk away this is an ideal hotel to stay at and at a decent price.

If you walk beyond the hotel away from the direction of the station then the area becomes a bit more questionable, probably red light, we did however walk down there to go to Tolwood (which was closed due to high winds) and experienced no negative issues at all.

I tend to be a bit fussy where hotels are concerned so would I stay there again?..... Sure would!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stigmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We had a very good stay, we arrived two hours before check in and were allowed to enter our room with no problem (or cost). Our room was of a good size with plenty of storage and a comfortable bed and was very clean. There was a decent size minibar with a decent selection and a good price. Breakfast was very good with plenty of options and attentive service by the waiting staff.

Yes the hotel seems to be in a bit of a 'interesting' area, but don't let that put you off, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone if you want a clean comfortable base for visiting Munich.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattfromLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 mi away
Drei Loewen Hotel
Drei Loewen Hotel
#107 of 389 in Munich
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#183 of 389 in Munich
320 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#141 of 389 in Munich
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belle Blue Hotel
Belle Blue Hotel
#135 of 389 in Munich
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#59 of 389 in Munich
919 reviews
0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#52 of 389 in Munich
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambiente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambiente Hotel

Address: Schillerstr. 12, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $115 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambiente Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ambiente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambiente Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing