We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location in Munich”
Review of Hotel Cristal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cristal
Ranked #173 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Location in Munich”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Hotel Cristal is located in the city centre and near the central train station with public transportation. The Marienplatz are within walking distance. I meet my friend and went to Marienplatz for the Christmas shopping. The staff spoke excellent English and were friendly and helpful with any requests. My room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the street below and found is was quiet enough to sleep. I was there one night and on my way to India. The room was average size and very clean...I stay at many Best Westerns and found this to be an ideal location for Munich and a good value....

Room Tip: The top floors are away from the noise of the street below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILvIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear ILvIndia,
thank you very much for your review. Thank you for staying with us. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    263
    169
    64
    31
See reviews for
115
208
43
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
177 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Consistent with other reviews, location is great. Pillows could be better (they collapse to nothing). I needed an extra sheet put over the rubberised mattress protector - it was too warm with the bed sheet straight on the protector. Likewise, the bed quilt was too warm and without it, it was too cold. The breakfast (€16.50) was expensive but extensive and tasty. They need a bottle opener in the room! I'd be happy to stay here again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CyclistSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear CyclistSydney,
thank you very much for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay in our house. We would be delighted to welcome you in our house again for your next stay.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

After reading some of the reviews regarding this hotel, we were a bit apprehensive on what to expect, however our experience has been great. The hotel is situated very close to the Central Train Station so you can walk with your bags quite comfortably. We walked to Marienplatz and the surrounding areas without any problems at all. It is about a 20 minute walk with a lot to see on the way. The staff at reception spoke excellent English and were always friendly and helpful with any requests we had. The rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the Tae Kwando place but experienced no issues with them being able to see us at all. The room was quiet and the street noise was not a problem. We did not eat in the hotel restaurants as there are plenty of places to obtain good food very close by. The train station has a wide variety of places and the food there was good and a lot cheaper. We found a laundromat within walking distance about a block away as well which was very handy.
We had no problems with anyone hanging around outside the hotel - there are a few casinos along the street but they caused us no problems at all.
The only small issues we had with our whole stay were a light not working - this was fixed as soon as we mentioned it, face cloths not replaced once used - once again corrected as soon as we mentioned it, and tea/coffee not replenished until we asked, but these are very minor issues in the scheme of things. In fact the absolute worst thing about the hotel are the pillows - the beds are great but the pillows are the worst I have ever slept on - even when i asked for another one, it was the same.
Overall we found this hotel to be excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aotearoanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear aotearoanz,
thank you very much for your comment. That sounds like a great stay in our hotel. We are very sorry for the inconveniences in our house. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were warmly greeted at reception and our check in was quick. Any other time I needed anything from the front desk they were friendly and accommodating.

I believe our room was recently updated. There was a flatscreen tv, a mini fridge, ample lighting, plenty of closet space and a large bed. The mattresses were firm and the pillows were fluffy and were not very good to sleep on (this may just be a personal preference). Instead of hanging a door hanger on the door for housekeeping to make up the room or to not be disturbed, all you needed to do was press a light switch by your door to indicate your choice. The hotel provided toiletries in the bathroom, including a shaving kit (without a razor) for men.

As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station which was great for us because of the excursion we took and easy access to the Lufthansa Airport Bus and about 15 to 20 minutes to the Marienplatz. Yes, there are strip clubs, casinos and adult novelty shops in the area; however, my companion and I were never hassled nor did we feel unsafe. There was a little grocery store nearby that we went to for drinks to keep in our mini fridge. Additionally, there are several fast food places by the hotel.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would gladly return to Best Western Hotel Cristal next time I'm in Munich.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMB1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear AMB1983,
thank you very much for your review. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great location as close to train station about 5 minute walk. The room was large and comfortable with air conditioning. Tea and coffee facilities in the room.There is a bar in the room which is great value as for a charge of 4.70 euro two beers, two bottles water, coke, juice, milka bar and packet of nuts. But warning of you want it refilled you MUST hang a sign on your door.
There is lots of hanging space and shelves, and a safe. The lighting is nice. Perhaps could do with better pillows and the TV better positioned.
The room service can be hit and miss as the first night our towels which we put in the bath was just hung back up on the back of the door and cups not washed, but the second day very good room service towels replaced, cups washed tea and coffee replaced .The reception was very efficient as we asked for two clean towels and they were delivered to our room within 10 minutes (as the room service from the previous day was poor as in case the same happened we asked on the way in but that had been replaced this time)
Breakfast is expensive at 16.50 euros but we never pay that price as there are lots of nice places to eat at the station.

We had a wonderful time in Munich its a fabulous city, love shopping in Karstadt. The beer gardens are so relaxing. And if you have the time visit Salzburg for a day and also the beautiful fairytale castle Neuschwanstein

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoopyLou3512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear LoopyLou3512,
thank you very much for your feedback! That sounds like a great holiday. We would be delighted to welcome you in our house again for your next stay.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Happy with this hotel, Stayed here for 3 nights when I went Bayern Munich away with the Arsenal, Hotel had a decent bar onsite and only about a 5/10 minute walk from the City Centre, also a supermarket across the road and lots of bars near by

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear buffo194,
thank you very much for your feedback! We hope you enjoyed your time in our hotel and the football match in the Allianz Arena and had a great stay in Munich.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed for one night, family of 5, had 2 gigantic rooms! Very clean and updated. Location is within walking distance of all the tourist action in Munich (city hall and all the shopping). Yes its on a main street with casinos and some strip clubs but walking with my family day or night was not an issue. Area is very ethnic (middle eastern) but so what. You walk 3 blocks and you are at the center of all the action including beer halls. Has parking garage for 16 euro per day and wifi was 4 euro per day. Front desk was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Alan39,
thank you very much for your feedback! We hope you had a really good time in Munich and in our hotel and you did lots of trips!
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#255 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#32 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maritim Hotel Munchen
Maritim Hotel Munchen
#107 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp Munchen City Center
Tryp Munchen City Center
#117 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal

Property: Hotel Cristal
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 36, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Best Western Hotel Cristal)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cristal in the center of Munich is the ideal starting point for your stay in Munich. The central downtown location near the main railway station, the house has a very good transport link (S-and U-Bahn, tram) with direct connections to the airport (45 minutes) and the exhibition center (20 minutes). The city center nearby offers countless shopping (Kaufingerstrasse, Maximilianstrasse). Many attractions and the world-famous Oktoberfest on the Theresienwiese are just a walking distance away from the Hotel Cristal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Munich
Munich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing