We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mini break”
Review of Hotel Cristal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cristal
Ranked #180 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is close to the central station and within decent walking distance from most places. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and polite. All in all, a fantastic hotel which didn't cost a lot!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kew88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Kew88,
thank you very much for your review! That sounds like a great stay in our house. We hope you saw lots of sights in Munich.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 671 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel has an updated look, friendly staff, good food and a comfortable room. It is located close to the Central Station where most of the bus tours leave. It is also pretty easy to walk to Martinplatz. It is not a great neighborhood in general, not scary but not nice for restaurants or shopping. In fact there was only one pasta place and a pizzeria a couple corners away within the immediate vicinity so I had room service all 3 nights (the food was very good and generous portions). They also have a restaurant where I got breakfast which was good but WAY too expensive. Small but will mention, there is no shampoo/conditioner provided and the only english speaking shows on TV were BBC & CNN but I didn't spend any real time int he room anyway. The did have one terminal downstairs to use for internet if you didn't have a device with you to use wifi.

Room Tip: I was at the front of the hotel but unlike many I have stayed in it was not noisy. I think the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbec87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear becky6587,
thank you very much for your rating! That sounds like a great stay in our hotel. We would be delighted to welcome you in our house again for your next stay.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here last week for 7 days. The hotel is very clean and new. We got a renovated room on the 6th floor which seemed to be much nicer than the older rooms on the lower floors. The breakfast was quite good and there were a lot of options, like eggs, sausage, lots of fresh bread, and cold cut meats. I was very happy the breakfast area had its own espresso and latte machine. The shower is a bit strange as there are two extra knobs on the wall with red and blue color coding. Oddly enough, one was loose and seemed to change the temperature of the water... but don't be mistaken! These aren't supposed to do that. The surrounding area seemed to be a little sketchy and there were several strip clubs which made my friends and I uncomfortable, but we didn't run into any trouble. The Munich Central Station is about 4 minutes walk from the hotel which was wonderful, and the pedestrian shopping area, Marienplatz, was only about 10-15 minutes walking distance. The only problem we experienced here was some miscommunication with the front desk and housekeeping. As posted on the wall, we left our towels on the floor so we could get fresh ones. However the housekeeping did not replace them, but took one and hung the other up. We called later that night to ask for new towels, and were told "we should have called earlier." We were brought two fresh hand towels rather than body towels. The next day, housekeeping still did not bring new towels, even though we had placed all of the towels on the floor, so we called again and specifically asked for bath towels. This time, we were brought 4 hand towels. The next day housekeeping finally brought fresh body towels. Despite the towel mix-up, we enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Cristal Munich and were pleased with everything else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Kim P,
thank you very much for your rating! We are very sorry for the inconveniences with our housekeeping and the front desk. Nevertheless we hope you had a good time in our house.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We got a big room and the hotel were close alot of attractions. The staff did their job but nothing extraordinary. They charged almost 4 euros per day for wifi witch was a little strange and the staff wasn't that good in english. But we were satisfied with our stay.

Thank Nadja S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Nadja S,
thank you very much for your review. We hope you had a great trip to Munich. . It would be nice if you stay with us on your next time in Munich.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in July 2013. Chose the hotel for it's location near the station, but felt uncomfortable in the streets between all the strip clubs, casinos and shady people on the street. The room is large and comfortable. We were on the street which was extremely noisy. To top it all there was roadworks outside through the night, so we hardly slept. Although it is advertised with internet, we had to pay an additional charge.
Not the best hotel we stayed in on our trip.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fkafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Fkafrica,
thank you very much for your feedback. The area around is safe and there are lots of different people around. We want to apologise for the noise outside. In our opinion the price for the Wifi is fair. . It would be nice if you stay with us on your next time in Munich.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Located in the red district of Munich, this hotel is within the Turkish area of Munich which includes lots of strip clubs and questionable casinos. The hotel had okay rooms and had a bar downstairs. There is lots to do around if you are willing to walk. It is also located near the main train station in munich

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank bentleyj111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear bentleyj111,
thank you very much for your review. We hope you did lots of trips in and around Munich. We hope you did lots of trips in and around Munich. It would be nice if you stay with us on your next time in Munich.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from June 22nd - 24th. Best Western should be ashamed to have their name on this hotel. I thought the only thing that was clean was the bathroom, but then there were some pubic hairs left over from the last guest. The provided toiletries were 2 shower caps in boxes with water stains on them and a half-used travel men's deodorant (we suspect from the last guest). The wallpaper clearly had stains from when the room was a smoking room and it was peeling in the corners. The beds were so low to the ground that you could literally roll out of bed. The A/C barely functioned and having the window open was not an answer as the street is very loud. The hallway of our room (on the 3rd floor) smelled of cat urine. I was so disgusted by the place that I only slept a few hours. We asked the front desk for directions to the Hofbräuhaus and we were sent to a church. The staff, in comparison to other hotels during our trip, did not go out of their way to offer any assistance. The location, although close to the train station, was rather uncomfortable; full of men lingering outside of casinos and strip clubs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJMNDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear AJMNDC,
thank you very much for your rating. We hope you complained to our staff and had a good time in Munich. We would be delighted to welcome you in our house again for your next stay.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal.Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#267 of 385 in Munich
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#40 of 385 in Munich
1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
0.1 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#118 of 385 in Munich
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal

Address: Schwanthalerstr. 36, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Best Western Hotel Cristal)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $80 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cristal in the center of Munich is the ideal starting point for your stay in Munich. The central downtown location near the main railway station, the house has a very good transport link (S-and U-Bahn, tram) with direct connections to the airport (45 minutes) and the exhibition center (20 minutes). The city center nearby offers countless shopping (Kaufingerstrasse, Maximilianstrasse). Many attractions and the world-famous Oktoberfest on the Theresienwiese are just a walking distance away from the Hotel Cristal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Munich
Munich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing