We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day stay at hotel Cristal - great!”
Review of Hotel Cristal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cristal
Ranked #182 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at this fine hotel for 3 nights from 7-10th Dec. There were 6 adults and my 20 month old baby girl. We had 3 rooms and my husband and I had a triple room with a very nice travel cot for our daughter. It was beautifully made up and she loved going to sleep in it! The other two rooms were doubles and the staff had put us on the same floor, 6. This was a struggle sometimes with the lifts, prams and suitcases, but fine on the whole. Also, slightly less noisy than lower floors, I'd imagine. The rooms were exceptionally clean and well equipped, our highlight was the minibar - cheap as chips for loads of treats!
All of the staff we came across were friendly, spoke English much better than I spoke German, and so accommodating to our needs with a little one. The only time we experienced a less than perfect service was at breakfast, where the waitresses didn't seem to have a clue what was going on! There was no system for getting a table - we found a table for 6 and as we sat down, a very angry German man marched over and shouted at us for sitting in his seat, even though the tables were completely devoid of any belongings! We were then seated by the waitress at a table where there were belongings and an empty porridge bowl, and assured that we could sit here, even after pointing this out. As we sat, we were accosted by another angry German, a lady, who asked us if we could not see that there were things at the table and someone was clearly sitting here! When we explained, she went off into a tirade of abuse against the hotel... We moved swiftly! After waiting for approx 20 mins and being shifted from table to table, the waitress found a table for us. The only problem was that because of all the upheaval, our daughter was getting very impatient and hungry, and then started to create a scene! So I never got to eat any breakfast that morning, and chose not to dine on subsequent mornings, due to this awful experience. My fellow passengers did though and they said the food was delicious and though quite expensive, was worth it.
Onto munich itself, very pretty city, when you get to the marianplatz area, albeit very busy and hectic. Lots of people just standing still, looking at the clock in the tower, making it very hard to manoeuvre a pushchair through. Sadly, we met some very rude and impolite people of various nationalities who couldn't see fit to make allowances for a pram coming through. Sad, really, think some people are so self absorbed and believe they are superior to you.
The markets were great, lots of trinkets and souvenirs to be had and some very kitch, unique gifts mixed in amongst the thousands of tree decorations and knitwear items! Market sellers were lovely, very friendly and warm.
We found the cold weather very hard to deal with and were constantly looking for coffee shops or some kind of informal pub where you could go and put your feet up, get warm and have a wee. These kind of places were very few and far between, it's defo not the coffee shop culture of Paris. Beware of this if you're taking children.
Each night we dined at the courtyard by Marriott resteraunt , which was directly opposite our hotel. Think it was called oleo plazzo, or something like that. Very child friendly, good food and service, quick to feed us and very reasonable prices. However by the third night, the niceties had gone out of the window and our table was pointed put to us, rather than us being shown to it, mistakes were made by the waiter on our order leaving one of us without food whilst everyone else ate, etc. So, good alternative if you have a family, but if you can get out and about easily at meal times, try other places!
One last thing to beware of... I don't know if it was because it was busy, or we had lots of luggage and a pram, but the train to the main station in munich was a nightmare to get off! The doors open for about 30 secs, then that's it, you're away again. This left 2 of us at the main station, 4 of us in karlsplatz and 1 of us in marianplatz!!! Must have looked hilarious to the onlookers but it was quite a daunting and scary experience. So just take caution and get out of those doors quickly, or you might find yourself on the move again!
All in all, a lovely stay in munich but don't think I'd return so quickly - weather too chilly and baby too small! Btw, we flew with monarch, who were amazing! They helped us all no end with our little girl and things she needed, they gave us extra legroom seats due to me being 28 weeks pregnant, they were wonderful! Couldn't recommend them highly enough!

Room Tip: High floor and triples give you a sofa and loads of extra room!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sianbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear sianbo1,
thank you very much for your rating! We want to apologise for the problems with the breakfast. Nevertheless, we hope that you enjoyed your time in Munich. It would be nice if you were on your next stay in Munich with us again!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cristal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 662 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a 3 day short break in Munich where a friend and I stayed at cristal best western hotel.

Location great, close to main train station, city central very accessible by taxi, car or tram.

Hotel staff friendly, rooms well presented and spotless. Breakfast a bit pricey and Internet charged at daily rate but apart from that could find no fault!

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wozdemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Wozdemir,
thank you very much for your rating! We hope you had a great time in Munich. We would be delighted to welcome you in our house in Munich again for your next stay!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a two day stay at this hotel. On entry the staff were very polite and helpful and were able to speak English. The hotel was very clean and fresh and when we switched on TV we had a lovely surprise when on the screen when our names appeared we were welcomed, and that was a good start.
In the lounge there were free cups of hot mulled wine available, I had a cup and found it delicious and spicy and perfect for a cold evening as outside the tempratures were -5 below zero.
As the hotel was ideally situated in the centre of the city my wife and I were walking distance from the main attractions.
On the evening of our arrival we ventured out to a restaurant called the Agustine Keller. This place had the atmosphere of a medieval banquet hall. We both had a meal of sausages potatoes and vegetables which was swilled down with a very large glass of traditional lager. This meal was very welcome after a two hour flight.
The following day we enjoyed a good breakfast which prepared us for the day.
With the services of an excellent tour guide we set off on a walking tour of the city centre. Our guide was very clear and precise and told us a lot about the city an Barvarion history.
After our tour was finished we had free time to go on a shopping trip. We had a walk round a tradtional German market where you were able to buy many things including hand made Christmas decorations. We visited the Oberplooinger department store which quite an experience, but the prices were a little too much for our pockets.
On our two day visit there were many photo opportunities,
Overall our two day stay was very enjoyable and for anybody who has never been to Germany before a trip like this could be an ideal first experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Geoff,
thank you very much for your rating! That sounds like a great time in Munich. It would be nice if we were to have you back as our guest in our hotel soon!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel was easily walkable from the Munich HBF (central rail station) and that saved time and money. From there we could also catch the Metro to Marienplatz for the Christmas Market, Town Hall, Haufbrau Haus and other attractions (2 stops away from our base).

Our room was comfortable and well appointed, clean and quiet. The front desk was friendly and helpful. For comfort, convenience and price - I'd give them very high markings. Would definitely consider them my hotel of choice for future visits to Munich.

Room Tip: We were on a higher floor, thus it seemed very quiet without the noise from the busy street below.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteJWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Charlotte,
thank you very much for your rating! We hope you had a great time in Munich. We would be delighted to welcome you in our house in Munich again for your next stay!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed in the BW Cristal in Munich for business purposes for 1 night. It was ideal for a good value overnight stay.Room was quite small but bed was comfortable. Excellent value minibar (2 beers, 2 cokes, mineral water, nuts and other snacks, all for 4.90 euro! Shame there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. WiFi wasn't free but good value and worked OK. Buffet Breakfast was very good with a great choice of food. Location was central, a few minutes walk from the central station. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stepgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Stepgo,
thank you for your rating! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay in our house!It would be nice if we were to have you back as our guest in our hotel soon!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is very clean, and I always take the rail from the Munich Airport to the Hauptbahnhof terminal, and walk from there to the hotel. It is a 5-7 minute walk, but not very difficult. The desk staff and hotel staff are very friendly. The room was spacious, and there is a stocked minibar they will charge you daily if you take anything. The breakfast was not included with the room rate, and I have stayed 3 times at this hotel previously when it was. I enjoy their extensive breakfast buffet, with fresh sqaueezed orange juice and sekt, but you may want to try other options if you are staying a long stay. The little bar is nice for the evening for wine, beer, or cocktails, and the restaurant is opened for dinner. I did not try the dinner meal, as there are so many options in Munich. If you enjoy walking, it is a 15 minute walk to Karlsplatz, and then you may take a leisurely afternoon strolling to the Marienplatz and stopping at the shops along the way.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floors to avoid the street noise. The breakfast is great, but pricy for each day...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janiceboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Janiceboo,
thank you for your rating! We were happy to have you in our hotel! We hope you had a lovely stay in Munich.
Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We moved to this hotel to get closer to a train station and more options for dining. I loved that this hotel was around the corner from Munich's central station! Very convenient for public transportation to anywhere in Munich or for outside of the city (S Line to Dachau). The comfort of the hotel beds was fine (on the harder side) but I am used to pillow top at home. The wifi in the room is over $4.00 a day US... you might be better off trying to find Starbucks because it's so slow just not worth the money. We didn't eat at the hotel because there were so many choices of dining all around the hotel. The hotel was great about holding our luggage before and after check-in in a locked closet. I would definitely stay here again. The location and overall quality made it a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Kimberly,
we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our house! That sounds like a very good time in Munich. It would be nice if we were to have you back as our guest in our hotel soon!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#272 of 385 in Munich
727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#119 of 385 in Munich
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#42 of 385 in Munich
1,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal

Address: Schwanthalerstr. 36, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Best Western Hotel Cristal)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $89 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cristal in the center of Munich is the ideal starting point for your stay in Munich. The central downtown location near the main railway station, the house has a very good transport link (S-and U-Bahn, tram) with direct connections to the airport (45 minutes) and the exhibition center (20 minutes). The city center nearby offers countless shopping (Kaufingerstrasse, Maximilianstrasse). Many attractions and the world-famous Oktoberfest on the Theresienwiese are just a walking distance away from the Hotel Cristal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Munich
Munich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing