We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate room, good breakfast, good value, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cristal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cristal
Ranked #182 of 382 Hotels in Munich
London England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Adequate room, good breakfast, good value, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed in the BW Cristal in Munich for business purposes for 1 night. It was ideal for a good value overnight stay.Room was quite small but bed was comfortable. Excellent value minibar (2 beers, 2 cokes, mineral water, nuts and other snacks, all for 4.90 euro! Shame there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. WiFi wasn't free but good value and worked OK. Buffet Breakfast was very good with a great choice of food. Location was central, a few minutes walk from the central station. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stepgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Stepgo,
thank you for your rating! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay in our house!It would be nice if we were to have you back as our guest in our hotel soon!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    261
    168
    63
    31
See reviews for
115
206
43
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is very clean, and I always take the rail from the Munich Airport to the Hauptbahnhof terminal, and walk from there to the hotel. It is a 5-7 minute walk, but not very difficult. The desk staff and hotel staff are very friendly. The room was spacious, and there is a stocked minibar they will charge you daily if you take anything. The breakfast was not included with the room rate, and I have stayed 3 times at this hotel previously when it was. I enjoy their extensive breakfast buffet, with fresh sqaueezed orange juice and sekt, but you may want to try other options if you are staying a long stay. The little bar is nice for the evening for wine, beer, or cocktails, and the restaurant is opened for dinner. I did not try the dinner meal, as there are so many options in Munich. If you enjoy walking, it is a 15 minute walk to Karlsplatz, and then you may take a leisurely afternoon strolling to the Marienplatz and stopping at the shops along the way.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floors to avoid the street noise. The breakfast is great, but pricy for each day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janiceboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Janiceboo,
thank you for your rating! We were happy to have you in our hotel! We hope you had a lovely stay in Munich.
Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovescry21
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We moved to this hotel to get closer to a train station and more options for dining. I loved that this hotel was around the corner from Munich's central station! Very convenient for public transportation to anywhere in Munich or for outside of the city (S Line to Dachau). The comfort of the hotel beds was fine (on the harder side) but I am used to pillow top at home. The wifi in the room is over $4.00 a day US... you might be better off trying to find Starbucks because it's so slow just not worth the money. We didn't eat at the hotel because there were so many choices of dining all around the hotel. The hotel was great about holding our luggage before and after check-in in a locked closet. I would definitely stay here again. The location and overall quality made it a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Kimberly,
we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our house! That sounds like a very good time in Munich. It would be nice if we were to have you back as our guest in our hotel soon!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Surprisingly! when we check in the receptionist girl told us that we got the up grade room, that is beyond our aspect to stay there, but we went there on the Oktoberfest 2012 , so the price a bit high and not include breakfast, anyway we satisfied with the room upgrading and a cozy hotel in the Munich bahnhof area just 5 minutes walk to the station, firstly we arrived by the train and no idea where the hotel located, the taxi kindly pick us to the hotel just for 3 Euro (that means so close to the station, but because we had three big luggages!)That is German that we can trust even he is a cap driver, but never overcharged us anymore .

Room Tip: If you could effort more expenses you would have breakfast in the morning, do not worry about the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUTHON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Suthon,
thank you very much for your rating! We are happy that you had such a great time in Munich. It would be nice if you were on your next stay in Munich with us again!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights during Oktoberfest, so the price was inflated. However it was close to the train station and to the Oktoberfest grounds, room was well appointed, staff was helpful, wifi was reasonably priced, neighbourhood was, as others have mentioned, a little sketchy. Room was of a comfortable size. Not the best hotel you'll ever stay in, but perfectly comfortable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TLKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear TLKing,
thank you very much for your rating! We would be delighted to welcome you in our house in Munich again for your next stay!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel changed my perspective of Best Western. The place was very clean, newly renovated, and had an overall pleasing appeal. It was modern and updated, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Downstairs there is a nice bar and restaurant area.
The location of the hotel is just perfect. Nestled right in the downtown core, close to the central train station and the downtown square.
No complaints, only good things to say about this place. I would recommend it - moderately priced.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the back courtyard parking lots for a quiet and tucked away room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Nigel H,
it's nice that you enjoyed your stay at hour house! We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel soon!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

It was a very good location for Oktoberfest. Hotel is within a few blocks of Munich's Hbf train station, and about a 1/2 mile from Oktoberfest. Also about 1/2 mile the other direction to old town Munich. Laundromat nearby. Not the most scenic part of town right around the hotel, but nice central location, and we felt safe walking places in the evening. Hotel itself had nice rooms and good breakfasts. Staff was helpful. The value was good, for Oktoberfest prices.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Georgiechick,
we are glad that you had a great time at Oktoberfest and in our hotel! It would be a pleasure for us if you would spend the night on your next trip to Munich in our hotel again.
Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#262 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#32 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maritim Hotel Munchen
Maritim Hotel Munchen
#103 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp Munchen City Center
Tryp Munchen City Center
#121 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal

Property: Hotel Cristal
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 36, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Best Western Hotel Cristal)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cristal in the center of Munich is the ideal starting point for your stay in Munich. The central downtown location near the main railway station, the house has a very good transport link (S-and U-Bahn, tram) with direct connections to the airport (45 minutes) and the exhibition center (20 minutes). The city center nearby offers countless shopping (Kaufingerstrasse, Maximilianstrasse). Many attractions and the world-famous Oktoberfest on the Theresienwiese are just a walking distance away from the Hotel Cristal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Munich
Munich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing