We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #136 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

When arriving at the hotel, my feelings were mixed. Like iin most larger german cities the redlight district is situated round the railwaysatation. As this hotel is near the railway, it was in the middle of the redlight district. The area was safe, though, no one disturbed at all when just walking the street.
The entrance to the hotel is small and gives no good feeling for the one arriving,
BUT! The hotel itself is very clean, very well taken care of. The other guests were normal (business) travellers and "no business from the street" could be noticed inside. The breakfast gets 9 points of 10. Very good, Very fresh. Everything from cereals to bacon, egg, cheese and fruits etc. Fresh bread (as allways in germany!). Very friendly and english speaking staff!
Perfect situation, if you do not get offended by the reldight bars, I can recommend to any businss traveller!!

Room Tip: Noise from the street can disturb on that side of building those who sleep light
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karppa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    309
    78
    21
    9
See reviews for
116
192
101
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Close to the main railway station (Hauptbanhoff) in Munich and about 5-10 minutes walk from Marienplatz ( main town square) this is a great hotel is use as a base in Munich. Rooms are simply furnished, beds are comfortable and water is hot. We would recommend and will use again when we return to Munich.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Basic, clean...and a great location. This hotel was a great value for my solo sight-seeing needs. Only a couple of minute walk to the train station...and a nice walk (10 minutes) to the heart of Munich. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thejeffpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were a group of 3 friends who spent 3 nights at this hotel. Location was perfect being a short walk from the Haupbahnhof station and minutes from the centre of Munich and the main sights. We found the staff helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean and around the hotel were lots of local bars, cafes and shops. We were late risers so we used the Pipasa restaurant for breakfast which was good value and had lots of locals patronising it. The local café/bar Millenium was great for cheap food and drinks and was open till 2am. the area felt very safe though the ladies form the local table dancing establishments after 11pm could be a pain for some visitors as they banged on the windows as you passed by. Overall we would recommend the hotel for others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacey1949uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Me and my colleagues stayed here end of 2012. The hotel is in a great location, very easy to get to from the station and good choice of restaurants around. It doesn't look much from the outside, but inside looks very nice. Will stay again if visiting Munich.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigspencer1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Hotel in Munich for 5 nights at the end of October 2013. We were very happy with the hotel. While the location seems a bit seedy, Munich is a VERY safe city and we never had any issue with anyone near the hotel. The hotel is a very quick walk (less than 5 minutes) from the central train station, which makes it very convenient. It is also a quick walk (less than 15 minutes) from the Glockenspiel and the main part of the center of the city.

The rooms were updated and very clean. We had a double bed, that I was pleasantly surprised with. My experience in hotels in Europe is that to make a double bed, they push 2 singles together. That was not the case with our room. Also, the mattress was much thicker and more comfortable than I expected.

Our room was on the top floor, so the only issue we had was that the lift did not go up to the top floor, and we had to walk up a few stairs to get to our room. Not a big issue normally, but a little difficult during check-in and check-out when we had to take our heavy suitcases with us.

Our room was facing the street. When the windows were open, there was definitely "typical" street noise, but nothing out of the ordinary. However, I was very impressed of how well insulated the windows were. When they were closed, the street noise was not noticeable at all.

The hotel served breakfast every morning that was very good. It had some American selections - scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage - as well as more typical European breakfast foods like meats, cheeses, salads, etc.

All in all I really liked the location of the hotel and the quality for the price was very good.

Room Tip: If you don't want to do any steps, make sure you don't get a room on the top floor. The lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMRieck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Well, it wasn't that much of a surprise of course, I had read and seen many reviews about this hotel before actually booking a room. I knew I wouldn't go wrong. I stayed for three (3) nights at this hotel and I was very satisfied with it. My room was very clean and although basic, it had everything that I needed. It was very comfortable.

Staff was warm and friendly, definitely a plus point for this hotel. Breakfast was great! Location was just perfect - a mere 5 minutes walk to Hauptbahnof (Main Station in Munich).

My only gripe - if I have to think of one - would be the fact that the lobby/reception isn't on the ground floor. But, who cares :) I would be back, surely.

Room Tip: As the hotel is located right smack in the city (so near to the Main Train Station, no less!), some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank narrowband2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#159 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#123 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#46 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#49 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#63 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.0 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#120 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Schillerstr. 11A, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to give you a warm welcome as our guests at the first non smoking hotel in the inner city of Munich. The smoke free Hotel Royal garni (breakfast only) is located centrally just a few minutes walk from the Munich central station (Hauptbahnhof). There you will find all means of public transport, suburban trains, underground, busses and street cars to explore all the sight of the Munich area. The major highlights of the city, like the pedestrian area, town hall at Marienplatz with its famous carillon "Glockenspiel", the Frauenkirche, the world-renowned Hofbrauhaus and the Oktoberfest are all within easy walking distance. After shopping and sightseeing you may relax from the turmoil of the city in the relaxed and familiar atmosphere of the hotel. A multilingual premium-TV-program, wireless Internet access via WiFi / WLAN in all rooms, Business-Corner in the lobby, daily newspapers and magazines are available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing