We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was a very good surprise!”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #161 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The location was very good. Although there were some night clubs nearby, we felt always very safe! Even at night,

The rooms were big (I stayed in one of the bigger rooms. 3 peolpe), confortable, very clean! In my opinion the beds and pillows were fantastic.

We didn't pay for breakfast but we could use the coffe machine in the dinnig room...So we never left the hotel hungry. The machine had expresso, capuccino, hot chocolate, tea, latte machiato, etc etc etc I loved it.

I thought the price was awsome for the quality. We had free internet and we could use a computer they had in the common area.

Our flight back home was cancelled and we had to come back to the hotel and we stayed many hours in the common area using the internet even though we made the chek out that morning. We didn't pay for an extra night. The receptionist didn't speak much english so he was very quiet but in that night he was extremely kind and offered us food and drinks for our supper!
We left the hotel early in the morning...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieFreitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 638 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Many of the reviews are right on. Location is flanked by adult entertainment establishments but am very glad we stayed there. The location (two blocks from train station) and proximity to old city was easily within walking distance. My wife and I walked all around these neighborhoods and felt completely safe at all times.

Hotel was basic, bathroom and room were clean albeit small like all rooms in Europe,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It's 3:30 am right now so you can imagine what my overall opinion is of the Hotel Royal.

First the positives. It is very ideally situated near the trains so coming in from the airport was very easy. The street is a bit seedy but we have never felt threatened at all. The Internet wifi is excellent. The breakfast is excellent and a great way to start the day and good value for what you get. The beds are comfortable but the sofa bed my daughter is on is definitely not as nice as the one I'm in. The walk to the downtown is 5 minutes away so very convenient. The staff for the most part have pleasant except for one.

Now the negatives. We read all the reviews prior to coming here and we booked half a year in advance with the explicit request to not be on the street side of the hotel. Where do you think we got put? I asked the front desk why we were not on the back side and got the worst attitude and condescending treatment that I am now making sure I pass it on. We are on the second floor overlooking schillingstr. and it's bad for two reasons, one, it gets the sun all day and its very hot, there is no air conditioning and its really uncomfortable. We have a small fan that helps but it's very hot in here. Also the street is a party street and I've been kept up by party goers each night, nothing like waking up to the sounds of drunks!

So in short it's hot, stuffy loud and difficult to sleep. And when you request a stay on the backside they put you exactly where you didn't want to be put and then get a rude condescending staff attendant tell you things like, "we never said you'd get the room you want!" Ok fair enough, you also never told me you'd put me in the worst room either!

I'm very angry at the attitude from the front desk,I'm sure they get this from lots of unhappy customers but I feel compelled to share with others so you are prepared and may have to write your own 3:30am report

Happy travels

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at this place for one night. It was within 5 mins walking distance from the central train station. You would have to look out for the sign board among other hotel sign boards though. The receptionists are just awesome, friendly and warm people. Totally unexpected. The room was a little narrow as is the attached toilet though it is very clean. However, if you're there in the summer, you probably wouldn't want to stay in the room in the day as there was no air conditioning and it was a little stuffy. We don't mind that much though.. since we were out the whole day on a day trip to the castle.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, though there are really many many other options along the same street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuiMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were a bit nervous on the location based on some other reviews, well it's not bad, not at all. It's a very easy walk from the train station, and we never felt unsafe walking here. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank deepspacedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you are traveling by train this is very close to trains and also main city sites. Very clean, great breakfast, and safe. Road side of the hotel noisy at night but can close the window. We were able to walk to most everything we wanted to see in Munich and also close to public transport.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

In June my friends and I made a short trip to Munich and decided to go for a cheap hotel...

Hotel Royal is conveniently located a street away from Munich's central station Hopbahnoff. During our short journey to the hotel we came across at least six limbless tramps begging for spare change. The street itself is full of run-down strip clubs, tacky casinos and greasy kebab houses. I immediately feared for my life and felt a long way from home.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we received a friendly welcome and a clean room. However, the bathroom was the size of an Easyjet toilet. Within the first 48 hours I was slashed by the toilet roll holder, and my friend received a similar injury the previous day. It was hardly a surprise seeing as we all probably gained a stone from the first night alone, and the toilet was designed for dwarves.

After 10 minutes of venturing towards the neaby Marienplatz, my friends and I soon realised that Munich has become the Mississippi of Europe. The sheer amount of overweight people was astonishing. There were more rolls in Munich than a French bakery. For once, we all felt rather slim.

The Hoffbrauhaus became a regular fixture during our 5 day stay. The service was absolutely shocking, and we were given dirty looks on many occassions, but the beer and pork knuckle left us coming back for more. Make sure you sit outside as it feels like a cheap Swedish sauna inside. Also, make sure you have the potato dumplings, but don't be surprised if your jeans feel a bit tighter by the end of the trip. No wonder Munich is so obese...

If you enjoy being completely lost and sweating profusely, head over to the English Garden for a day of fun. If you enjoy people watching make sure you visit the Olympic Park as there are plenty of weirdos there to make you chuckle. If you want to be bored senseless visit the Allianz Arena and try your best to stay awake to the monotone voice of tour guide Phillip.

In conclusion - AVOID THIS AREA AND HOTEL AT ALL COSTS

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JonCFCUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#199 of 390 in Munich
521 reviews
0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#47 of 390 in Munich
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#49 of 390 in Munich
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eder
Hotel Eder
#60 of 390 in Munich
659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#118 of 390 in Munich
907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Blue Hotel
Belle Blue Hotel
#142 of 390 in Munich
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Schillerstr. 11A, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $78 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to give you a warm welcome as our guests at the first non smoking hotel in the inner city of Munich. The smoke free Hotel Royal garni (breakfast only) is located centrally just a few minutes walk from the Munich central station (Hauptbahnhof). There you will find all means of public transport, suburban trains, underground, busses and street cars to explore all the sight of the Munich area. The major highlights of the city, like the pedestrian area, town hall at Marienplatz with its famous carillon "Glockenspiel", the Frauenkirche, the world-renowned Hofbrauhaus and the Oktoberfest are all within easy walking distance. After shopping and sightseeing you may relax from the turmoil of the city in the relaxed and familiar atmosphere of the hotel. A multilingual premium-TV-program, wireless Internet access via WiFi / WLAN in all rooms, Business-Corner in the lobby, daily newspapers and magazines are available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing