We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Royal
Nearby Hotels
$237
$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Platzl Hotel(Munich)
$321
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$464
$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arthotel Munich(Munich)(Great Value!)
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$240
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$158
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marc Munchen(Munich)
$144
$125
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Muenchen Palace(Munich)
$242
$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$421
$394
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveler rating
195
325
86
25
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
325
86
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main train stationstreet noisesingle roomstrip clubfree wifired light districtconvenient locationroom faced the streetno air conditioningtop floorcoffee machineminute walkcold meatsmunich hbfbudget hotelyogurtcity centre
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 642 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The staff here are absolutely brilliant. The young woman manning the reception was a delight to deal with, always cheerful and willing to help. Could not fault any of the reception staff whatsoever.
I stayed for 4 nights over the opening Oktoberfest weekend. 2 mornings the cleaning staff came into my room unannounced , once at 7:30 in the morning, while i was still in bed. Internet was free and the room/bathroom/shower was good, clean.
Now lets get to the elephant i previously mentioned. The place is next door to a strip club. Handy if you fancy a table dance on the way home, but maybe not if you want a family hotel and a good night sleep.
I was in a single room on the 5th floor front facing and i HAD to sleep with earplugs in and all the windows closed. Even then i did get woken up by heavy bass sound coming from the bars/clubs downstairs.
I didn't have any breakfast, i usually went to a coffee shop around the hauptbahnof and picked up a coffee/pastry for 5Euros.
So Im mixed.
Pros:
Very close to Hauptbahnof and Oktoberfest grounds, and Karlsplatz and MarionPlatz.
S8 train line direct from Airport to Hauptbahnof is 10 Euros.
Fantastic reception staff
If you like the odd table dance this place is definitely for you
Cons:
Next door to strip club.
Front facing rooms get a lot of noise from the clubs below
You may get the odd proposition from the ahem... ladies hanging out the door of the strip club on the way home.

Room Tip: Room high and at the back of the hotel would probably be quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erinday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I spent one night at Hotel Royal. It is very near the train station (about 2 blocks) and a relatively short walk to the old part of town. I had a nice room in the interior of the hotel. I paid for a single room and this room had two beds and a good view of the city. Because it was on the inside of the building it was quiet at night. My friend had a room that faced the road and he said he could hear some noise until about 1am from the nightclubs in the area. My room was clean and modern. There was a flat screen TV that had channels in English. This was a good place for an overnight stay that was convenient to public transportation. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the interior of the building
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Excellent hotel in the heart of Münich, close to main train station and old town/shopping area and many culture venues, such as the Külturhaus.
Don't let the street it's on fool you. The hotel is very clean, friendly and cosy. The single room was spacious with a nice bathroom, TV, free WiFi, safe. And staying on the 5th floor was good too, didn't hear any noises from the busy/night life street.
I randomly picked this hotel this time, due to last minute travel plans. But if I ever go to Münich again (big if) then I would stay in that hotel again! Nice price! Excellent accommodation!

Room Tip: Top floor!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vampuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for one night whilst in transit on our way to Bupapest. The location was very convenient. The rooms were clean and well furnished. Our friends had a room on the back of the building which was comparatively quiet compared to our room on the front. It was a Saturday night and it sounded like the whole of Munich was partying under our window. The hotel does not have AC, so we had to have the windows open and the temperature was very high, so not much sleep. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel if you want some sleep
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyWally_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great hotel for the money. There are strip bars all along the street and women are allowed to hang out of the entrance and cat call men. They aren't very aggressive but are there. I didn't mind, but I was nt there with kids. The breakfast and coffee machine are pretty cool and a plus in a German hotel. Wifi is free but slightly slow during peak hours. You have free access to a house computer with a printer. Rooms are clean and basic. No a/c, which can get hot, but you can get a free fan to use. I booked eight days and got a free night bringing my average cost per night down to 60 to 70 euro range per night. It was a close distance to the main station which was great because I had a heavy bag to carry. It is also a good location for 24 hr food, pizza, and beer. There are lots of gyro places and pizza places. The main train station has lots of late night snacks food and beer available, it's also the spot where many tours like Radius leave from. The bottom line is that is is convienant, cheap, clean, 3 star, no a/c, not super classy. The managers keep a tight watch on the place and it seems extremely safe.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors to get a breeze during hot months, there are seven floors. Six would probably be a good choice, also ask for a fan upon check in.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews