We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #135 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. Location very convenient to train station and for walking to most of the sights. Hotel clean,staff excellent, breakfast good. Value excellent. We stayed at backside of hotel which was quiet with windows open.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank frebre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    312
    82
    22
    9
See reviews for
117
193
105
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel has a very friendly staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bad thing is that it is located on a night club strip and can be very nisy at night.if the windows are open. No air conditioning. I was never concerned with my safety. Very, very close to the train station, which is a plus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Late review but wanted to say how much I enjoyed staying at this hotel. Rooms are by no means luxurious but they are comfortable, the staff are extremely helpful, breakfast was fantastic and the location is immense - you can almost see the Hauptbahnhof from the front door!

Some people have voiced concerns about this being in a 'red light district' but that is an enormous exaggeration. We walked in and out at ludicrous hours and never had a shred of trouble - sums up Munich really. Lovely place, lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Really enjoyed my visit here. The hotel puts out an amazing breakfast with a fantastic coffee machine (I'm a coffee snob) that makes great coffee. Had a backside room after reading reviews about noise, not problem for us. Room was a little hot but not unmanageable, no A/C. Neighborhood is absolutely fine, after reading some of the reviews here I thought the streets would be full of strippers or hookers, nothing like this at all. I think maybe some of these other reviewers are a little too uptight and the mere sight of the outside of a strip club frightens them. If I were to nitpick, I would talk about the TP being really rough, not the neighborhood. Close location to train station (the cleanest one I've ever seen) makes travel around the region easy, also several bus tours leave from the train station. Great value, stayed 4 nights, paid for 3. Would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bionano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel was very nice. They held our luggage two days in a row without any problems or complaints, offered us band aids for our blisters, and lent us an iron and ironing board in the morning. Anything we needed, the front desk was willing to help with. They also had yummy candy in a bowl at the front.

The rooms were nice and I loved the non-smoking feature. Everything smelled great. We stayed one night with a room facing the street and one night with a room not facing the street. I would recommend not facing the street. Still, both nights I slept through the night (which did not happen in other hotels in Munich).

The breakfast was great, with warm butter croissants! They had cold drinks, an amazing espresso machine, and some cheesecakes and donuts. Lots of fruit and the typical meats and cheeses.

The location was very close to the hauptbanhoff (great for us since we were taking radius tours) and about a 10 minute walk to Marienplatz. However, it was in a VERY SEEDY location. It is better to come around the back (with the hotel on your right rather than left), as just one short block away is a safer, cleaner, area. There was a stripper next door who kept peaking out and it was also a very busy street. I stayed close to my husband and did not have any problems. Much better than seedy parts of other big cities, say New York City or Dallas, but still different and a little uncomfortable when in a foreign country and you do not know what they are saying.

Overall, I wish this hotel was just one block further away. However, it was a nice hotel and at a great value, including 10% off with Rick Steves, I would come back.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is brilliant. Within a few minutes walk from the Hauptbahnhof, and with a 15 or so minute walk of the Marienplatz this hotel is perfect for getting around the city. With underground stations at easily accessible junctures from this hotel getting around couldn't be easy. Situated on a street with numerous other hotels, there are some fast food take away places and quite a few strip clubs or cabaret bars in the local vicinity. These in no way encroach onto the hotel, during the day you'll not notice them quite as much as at night and considering the close proximity to a couple of these bars, there is none of the seedy underlyings you would expect to come hand in hand with this type of establishment.

The hotel itself is clean, the rooms were spacious. We had three mid 20's lads in one room and there was plenty of space once we had separated the beds a little. Our room came with an ensuite room consisting of toilet and shower facilities which are a little on the small side. Each room has enough wardrobe space and a small safe located inside these to protect your personal belongings.
Breakfast is served between 7-10 and consists of your standard European hotel breakfasts. Note dependant on who you book with breakfast is not always included in the price. Our room was cleaned to a high standard, towels and sheets regularly changed. We had a room situated on the top floor, at the back of the hotel so noise from the street was no issue although another member of our party stayed directly above the street and said that when the windows were open there was some noise.
There is someone manning the reception 24hrs so although they lock the front door there is always someone to let you in. The lift does not travel all the way to the top of the hotel, guests staying on the top floor will have to climb one set of stairs.
On departure we asked the reception if they could book us taxi's back to the airport which they duly obliged and turned up before the scheduled time of departure.
All in all the hotel was very pleasant and with a Lidl and Aldi as well as other small food shops within a couple of minutes walk if breakfast is missed there is plenty of opportunity to buy some elsewhere and the hotel didn't seem to mind us bringing in our own food and drink. There is no hotel bar, but with a couple of bars within walking distance this is no issue.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank cooper867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We arrived around midnight and were a little dubious due to the nature of some neighbouring businesses but were pleasantly surprised. Staff were very helpful and breakfast was absolutely fantastic! Room was clean and comfortable. Our room did look onto the street which did make for a little noise but nothing that compromised our sleep. Overall great value and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#47 of 382 in Munich
578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#176 of 382 in Munich
498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#132 of 382 in Munich
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#118 of 382 in Munich
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#61 of 382 in Munich
809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#44 of 382 in Munich
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Schillerstr. 11A, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to give you a warm welcome as our guests at the first non smoking hotel in the inner city of Munich. The smoke free Hotel Royal garni (breakfast only) is located centrally just a few minutes walk from the Munich central station (Hauptbahnhof). There you will find all means of public transport, suburban trains, underground, busses and street cars to explore all the sight of the Munich area. The major highlights of the city, like the pedestrian area, town hall at Marienplatz with its famous carillon "Glockenspiel", the Frauenkirche, the world-renowned Hofbrauhaus and the Oktoberfest are all within easy walking distance. After shopping and sightseeing you may relax from the turmoil of the city in the relaxed and familiar atmosphere of the hotel. A multilingual premium-TV-program, wireless Internet access via WiFi / WLAN in all rooms, Business-Corner in the lobby, daily newspapers and magazines are available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing