We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel....Location not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Ranked #152 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was a lovely hotel...very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was fantastic.
The only problem was the location...a long walk from the center and
the surrounding streets were very dark at night.
The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen1493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 657 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

I have to give this hotel credit for helping us when THEY could not find our booking. 2 hours later we eventually had 2 rooms and a free drink, but there was attitude from the front desk and the rooms were definately not nice. Two single beds that parted in the night into a HUGE sink hole and a bathroom that was terrible. However the breakfast was AWESOME and I wish that they had taken the time to make the rest of the hotel this good. Very close to the Beerfest but to be honest not a good area and I would rather stay further away and taxi it in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine A Mc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Spent two nights there, staff good and a great room, clean, nice and spacious, coffee making tray delivered to room when requested. I went out in the late evening both nights I was there and had no problems in the area. The breakfast is far better than I have ever had in a Best Western; great choice. Only drawback was Restaurant was not open in the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Had a great weekend here in Munich. Location is very useful, walking distance from the Hauptbahnhof or Marianplatz. Lots of Turkish cafes and restaurants nearby. Everything else you could possibly need is within a 10 min walk.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r0cky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Two major reasons I will never use this hotel again:
1. It is located in a GHETTO!!!!!!! An Arab Ghetto, in a downtrodden and dumpy and dirty section of Munich. BIG MISTAKE on my part for choosing this hotel. NO WARNING in Bookings.com or from the hotel after booking a room. What must have been a nice neighborhood once is no longer that way.
2. There is an 8 inch step into the hotel at the sidewalk. I travel in a wheelchair and there was no mention of nor warning about this "feature" by Bookings.com or the hotel after I booked the room, although I mentioned my wheelchair and my problem with steps. NO HELP!!! There was no alternative way into the building!!!

I stayed 4 nights, meeting friends for tours and dinners downtown and visiting Munich's two large nuseums. WHAT A MISTAKE!
Their very nice Dining Room serves only breakfast, but there is NO SIGN to that affect, and no mention on websight or at checkin. One night I called the front desk to ask about dinner, and the clerk told me it was open. When I came down for dinner at 8:30 it was closed, had NOT been open for anything beyond pizza. I had to go 4 blocks away in a very dark GHETTO to find even a bar that served food. Not a good trek to there and back to hotel. This hotel should CLOSE and reopen in a better neighborhood; this is NOT A BEST WESTERN quality.

Room Tip: Rooms are OK; the neighborhood Sucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank kenrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights, and thought it was quite nice. Fairly quiet (i had an inner room).
Really comfortable pillows and pretty nice rooms.

Good breakfast spread, one of the better ones I've seen by far.

Initial internet setup takes forever to load, but after that the internet was alright.
Overall definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I booked this hotel directly quite late for my trip. The hotel is modern, clean and well maintained. The staff were very helpful and the bar staff were friendly and the drinks not expensive. The rooms again were very well maintained and spacious. The internet access was free (which is great) but was a little slow. OK for email. Overall I enjoyed my stay and it was good value for money.
The only downside is that the hotel is near the main station and also to lots of interesting bars, casinos and other shops. Not too bad for me but I would think that this could be intimidating for any women travelling alone. The town centre and shopping areas are about 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tramway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 390 in Munich
1,202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#34 of 390 in Munich
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#44 of 390 in Munich
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#58 of 390 in Munich
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#146 of 390 in Munich
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#31 of 390 in Munich
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Atrium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Atrium Hotel

Address: Landwehrstrasse 59, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $86 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Atrium Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Atrium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Munich
Munich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing