We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, especially for the brand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Ranked #74 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Once again, I traveled this hotel for a conference. I have to admit, when I heard we were going to a Holiday Inn I was slightly concerned. I have to say though, this hotel pleasantly surprised me. It was a very nice property. There is a grocery store in the attached building, the city center is about a 15 minute walk from this property. There is a lot of meeting space, although slightly spread out and slightly confusing on the layout, but once you figured it out it was no problem.

Pros:
Nice hotel, very clean.
Nice location, easy walk to amenities or quick subway ride
friendly staff
lots of meeting space

Cons
-shower head was a switchable height shower head, that would only stay in the down position. (This was a common problem with my other team members)
-room was slightly small, but no smaller then standard European rooms
-Tv only had one channel in English, News. So if you speak only English, bring entertainment,

Overall though I would recommend this hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clyde_Betts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Clyde_Betts,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. I am happy to know that you found our location convenient for your business needs. Each one of us is dedicated to provide superior service and your kind words motivate us to go the extra mile.
I apologize that the position of shower head was not very comfortable. I will certainly forward your comments to the appropriate department to be used to reconsider improvements needed.
The upgrade to Flat screen TV is planned this year and will bring more English channels to our selection. Once again, thank you for your further recommendation and your patronage. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Warmest regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,193 - 1,199 of 2,760 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location. Other things about this hotel is good. Clean, tidy, location is the best.

I have been to this hotel many times. It is sad that i never any smile from the hotel staff, reception desk. Why? I saw many reviewer also wrote the same thing... why does the hotel management pay attention?

No free wifi. The hotel could have provide it free at least at the lobby area since this consider as biz hotel.. but NOOOO... no mercy. You must pay forbit and its not cheap too...

I still choose this hotel in my frequent visit to Munich..but after so many years, Holiday Inn is still consisteny SMILE-LESS and PRICEY WIFI....

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear S W,
Many thanks for taking time in leaving us a feedback. I am glad that you liked our location and the cleanliness. It is my pleasure to read that you choose to stay with us frequently and therefore I value your observation. Thank you for providing me with the opportunity to improve our service to your satisfaction. I understand that the WiFi is the need of the day and it is included in our high floor city view rooms. Please let us know if you would like to choose one of our high floor city view rooms and we will be more than happy to assist you accordingly.

I look forward to welcome you with higher and friendlier service standards next time you visit us.

Best regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

As a member of ICH's loyalty scheme I always look for a Holiday Inn, Crowne Plaza or InterContinental when travelling on business. Munich is not great for choice here, so I always default to this property.

Quality is decidedly average, service sometimes great, sometimes poor, but I keep coming back. Why? 1/ It's a HI, you know what you are going to get 2/ It's very well located, not too far from the city centre and some great small restaurants around the corner (try the Afghan restaurant). I have a number 3 reason too, but its not for all - RUNNING, walk 5 minutes and head North with the River Isar to your left and you can run for miles up to the English Garden and on quite easy terrain. Maybe I'll see you there one day, if running isnt your thing it's very close the the German Museum too.

One final point, when I work, I dont always eat out, and use in room service - this place has a VERY limited menu, maybe 5 main course items - it's a bit like scooby doo scenery once you've been a few times...but until they build a CP or an ICH, this is my less than perfect hotel choice.

Note prices vary wildly, Munich is a big conference town, and I've paid 60 euro and 200 euro for the same uninspiring room, so book early.

Room Tip: Go with the flow, not a great deal of difference whatever you get!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee-in-Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Lee-in-Newcastle,

Thank you for your most valuable feedback. I am pleased to read that you like our location and the nearby walking trail. I have made a note of your observation about our room service menu and will certaily share it with the relevant department.

Thank you once again for your loyalty as a priority club member. We value your business and look forwrad to welcome you with higher service standards next time you visit us.

Best regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

i stay here for 2 nights in my last visit to Munich, everything in the hotel is up to the mark, good lobby, cleaner room and very nice swimming pool. Metro station is in the basement with shopping center which is very convenient. Wifi is too expensive. breakfast is good but should go early or late to avoid rush.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashok_patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Mr. Patel,

Thank you for taking time in providing us with your most valuable feedback. I appreciate your nice comments and useful tips for our future guests. Wi Fi is included in our high floor city view rooms. We also have two computers free in the lobby for our guests to use. I hope this info will help you next time you stay with us.
Thank you once again for staying with us. I look forward to welcome you once again in the future.

Warmest regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent hotel and superb after service, food and bar always efficient even when busy! Can be queues at checkout and breakfast which is a little annoying!a short walk up the hill is a Paulaner Keller which serves a fantastic pint of salvator Beir .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LukeLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear LukeLawrence,

Thank you for your nice recommendation. It is truly appreciated. Our primary goal is the guest satisfaction. Your words of appreciation motivate us to work harder. I agree that our service is sometimes delayed due to high ocuupancy or in house events. We do recommend our guests to use the express check out or Kiosks for quicker service. Thank you once again for your patience and understanding. I appreciate you choosing us and look forward to welcome you with greater professionalism.

Best regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for one night but would willing stay here for a longer period.It is well situated and very handy for all main sites.Reception staff were friendly and the room, whilst a little compact had all you needed with both bath and shower.I would not pay 23 euros for breakfast but, if included in a deal as ours was, then take it. The choice was superb with items being forever replenished.Bar area also very relaxing,but prices on the high side.Very handy for transport around the city and the airport.,If two or more are travelling together always get a Partner ticket as it allows up to 5 people to travel for only 10.60 euro.A great deal.

Room Tip: LEVEL 7 and above for city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Klammer,

Thank you for your useful tips to our future guests. We appreciate your further recommendation. Many thanks for staying with us. I hope to serve you with greater enthusiasm next time you visit us.

Best regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My aunt my mother and myself stayed here as our last stop in Germany. The staff were friendly,helpful and very well spoken. Our room was spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was great. The S-Bahn stop is a short walk through the shoppibg centre and its just 2 stops away from the city centre - Marienplatz- i would defnitely stay here again!

1  Thank Kopgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Kopgirl 10,

Thank you for taking time and recommending us further. It is our pleasure to be at your service. I look forward to welcome you once again to our hotel. Thank you once again for including us in your travel plans.

Best regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#48 of 385 in Munich
2,684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#78 of 385 in Munich
2,701 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.7 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
2,033 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#56 Business Hotel in Munich
#57 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#57 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $69 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, free Internet, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities. Please be aware that we are a non-Smoking Hotel! Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and cocktails are available in the newly renovated open lobby. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. Important Information: Our pool is closed until further notice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing