We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Ranked #176 of 382 Hotels in Munich
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I've stayed in two other two Holiday Inns in Munich and have been seriously unimpressed. So I wasn't really looking forward to staying here.

But it was great! I always find that the staff makes the difference - I was warmly welcomed and the lady wa helpful, friendlly and efficient.

I was upgraded - the room was very nice (and executive rooms have a free (mini) mini-bar).

Hotel is close to the underground; and there are plenty of restaurants (including McD) around.

I know where I'll stay next time I need a Munich hotel.

Well done HI Munich South.

Room Tip: Exec rooms are nice. Mine had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    287
    211
    50
    34
See reviews for
210
121
45
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights early October for Oktoberfest during our European trip. The room was standard holiday inn but was cozy. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful in giving directions to the various attractions. We ate at the hotel restaurant for dinner two nights and was better than the normal HI i stay at for business in the United States. I was nervous about how far it was to City Centre but after the stay I have to say it is not more than a 15 min U-Bahn trip. If we were going to stay longer I would probably stay closer to City Centre but I believe it was a good value for reward nights which is one reason we stayed here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eldred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

we stayed here several times mainly for FCBayern games, and the hotel is conveniently located near the U-Bahn to get to the stadium
the staff is young and helpful
the rooms are clean, but a bit old fashioned. if you just want to sleep there it is OK
we always get a welcome gift, usually a nice muffin, or cake, nice touch
great for tourist visitng the city
the breakfast is nothing special, but it has everything, although the warm buffet is really a pain because the food is covered with heavy metal which you have to lift and there is no place to put it.

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the elevator because the corridor is really long
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank servicefreak34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I had the great pleasure of visiting Munich in mid November during a city wide blackout... it was fun watching the older gentleman in his bathrobe march to the front desk and demand the hotel turn the power back on... The staff handled it extremely well. But overall this was an extremely pricey Holiday Inn that was way out of the inner city and near almost nothing. Everything was extra... and the coffee pot in the reception was always empty.

Room Tip: One with power...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEARBOLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was pretty much your typical Holiday Inn. The staff was pleasant but not exceptional. The bar area was perfectly okay but again, not exceptional.
The location was very convenient to the U-bahn Machtlfingerstrasse station and for that it deserves some credit. You can get a good deal on this hotel because it is not in the centre of town but you can get to the center of town in a matter of minutes thanks to its proximity to this station. I am going to be a repeat visitor to this hotel for that exact reason and have already booked my next stay.
Generally, you can pay more and get a better location or better amenities but this hotel is perfectly satisfactory and a good opportunity to save cash / PC points.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlfromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

stayed at the hotel for two days.
The trip was associated with Oktoberfest and choice was limited.
nahodinsya far from the center, but near the metro.
standard hotel with lots of rooms and long corridors.
There is a mini gym.
There is a supermarket near the metro "REAL."
breakfast very good and varied for this level of hotel.
You can probably stay at this hotel again if no other central options

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoscowSergey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Took advantage of the fact my husband was working in Munich and came for the ride.
The hotel is basic, but clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Was nervous of doing touristy bit on my own but need not have worried. Underground so easy to use which is saying something for someone with no sense of direction at all! No ticket checks on tube but Austrians very honest and courteous, the young people giving their seats up for the elderly on the tube. Most people speak English and are very friendly. Munich is very clean and well organised.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22Jax22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
6.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
3.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
7.1 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Munchen Schwabing, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich-South

Property: Holiday Inn Munich-South
Address: Kistlerhofstr. 142, 81379 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich-South 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 stars hotel Holiday Inn Munich South is situated in a quiet and central location in the suburb of Obersendling and it is only 15 minutes away from the city centre. Because of the good traffic connection to the A95, A8 and A96 and also the "Mittleren Ring", our hotel is very good accessible by car. The suburb station "Machtlfingerstrasse" line U3 is just 5 walk-minutes from the hotel Holiday Inn Munich South away and takes you fast in the Munich city center. All our 320 comfortable rooms are equipped with balcony/terrace, most of them offer a wonderful view over our courtyard, bathroom with tub, air-conditioner, SAT-TV, telephone, internet, mini bar and tea & coffee making facilities and also a pillow-menu. Enjoy international and Bavarian specialties at our restaurants, on the lobby-bar or during summertime at our quiet beer garden - terrace. We offer our business traveller guests a modern business centre as well as W-LAN (without fee) in the whole Hotel. Our conference area offers every comfort for a successful conference, workshop or meeting. All rooms are modern equipped for up to 180 people. Set the planning of the implementation of your event trustful in our hands. We ensure for creative and innovative ideas, the perfect logistic and the professional implementation of all events on basic of best conditions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich South
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing