We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Munich-South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Ranked #173 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Dehradun
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly and clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Though situated well away from the city centre, the U-bahn station is located only 5 minutes walk away and, being out of town, it is easier to get a seat for the 15-minute ride in. There is a good supermarket opposite the station and a lovely Biergarten, the Sendlinger, about another 5 minutes walk from the station. Having to pay for wi-fi in this day and age is annoying but it worked well, at least in the lobby. Our room had a nice outlook to the garden. Breakfast was a great spread. On both visits, they had trainees at the Reception desk who knew very little about travel etc but, within their limitations, they tried to be helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oracleDehradun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    269
    208
    44
    29
See reviews for
197
108
44
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
iowa city, ia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights during our vacation. GPS got us to this hotel without any trouble. Check in was easy and the front desk employees helped us out with tourist information. It helped us out quite a bit, The hotel was busy, but seemed to still be fairly quiet. The room was spacious and clean. We kept our car parked in the underground parking lot (for a fee) and used the U-Bahn to get from the hotel to downtown and beyond. (U3) The U-Bahn stop is only a couple minutes walk, just around the corner from the hotel. And across from the U-Bahn stop is a bank and another building with a grocery store, McDonalds and other food options. We did not try the breakfast at the hotel or eat any meals at the hotel. I understood the front desk clerk say that the breakfast cost 19 Euros per person. I have never paid that much for a breakfast any place on this planet. I also apologize if I mistakenly heard 19Euros instead of say, 9 Euros. 9 would have been just fine with me. But we did like the hotel and its location. I would stay here again if I had the chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iowacityia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I found this hotel to be very good. The only real downside was the rooms were slightly dated, but the standard of cleanliness was excellent. It is out of the town centre, but only 12 minutes from the centre on U3 and the area is very quiet. The restaurant was closed so had to eat in the lobby bar, but good food and good beer. All in all a really good bade for a stay in Munich

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifer1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 526 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel is in a business area with limited eating opportunities. However, it is close to the Machtfinger Strasse U-bahn stop. The bar tender left his station and walked us to the door to provide directions to our first stop. Great service.

That said, for four days we receive 1 hour of free wifi; as platinum Priority Club members we received a standard room with a "free" single day stock in the mini-fridge, and the amenities are limited. In the states the upgrade is generally a suite and access to the club room.

I think a local hotel or pension might have been a better option, but might-haves do not work. It is an acceptable hotel, the small room is clean, although beyond soap there are no toiltries such as shampoo or conditioner. Come prepared.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard, floor 3-4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Even though the hotel is a bit far from the city center, it is close enough to the subway, so not a big trouble. The neighborhood is very quiet. Hotel service is very good. When we checked in they have already had every documents ready. Because they had no room available for upgrade for me as Platinum card member, they gave us one mini bar for free and 2 hours of free wifi, which is really generous.

Hotel room is typical Holiday Inn in Germany: not too big but definitely enough. Nothing to complain about. Considering the price we paid is relatively low compared to many other hotels in Munich as well as hotels in other cities in Europe, this one is definitely a good bargain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryantheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

A typical 3 star tour hotel far from town but managed to have a subway (Machtlfinger Strasse station) that links to the city center. My room was clean and everything was standard but not attractive. My first impression of the hotel was that "time gone back to the eighties". Hotel lay out and furnishing were outdated. Although a subway station was not far from the hotel, the long quiet street that led to nowhere made one feel that the location was kind of "isolated".
What I remembered about this hotel was the yellow painting; no free Internet service,and my awful dinner:fish fillet with lots of small bones, and the clear soup tasted like salted water.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber201083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Amber201083,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your feedback. I apologize you did not find our hotel to your liking. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope to have the chance of hosting you again should your travels bring you back to Germany.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a liitle bit far away from the city center, but the metro station is very close. So, it takes about 20-30 minutes to reach Marienplatz. The hotel is very clean, the staff is helpful and breakfasts are delicious. The underground parking and free pool are also a plus. But wifi should be free, not 5 euro for three hours.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikolay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
6.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
3.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nymphenburg
Hotel Nymphenburg
#182 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich-South

Property: Holiday Inn Munich-South
Address: Kistlerhofstr. 142, 81379 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich-South 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 stars hotel Holiday Inn Munich South is situated in a quiet and central location in the suburb of Obersendling and it is only 15 minutes away from the city centre. Because of the good traffic connection to the A95, A8 and A96 and also the "Mittleren Ring", our hotel is very good accessible by car. The suburb station "Machtlfingerstrasse" line U3 is just 5 walk-minutes from the hotel Holiday Inn Munich South away and takes you fast in the Munich city center. All our 320 comfortable rooms are equipped with balcony/terrace, most of them offer a wonderful view over our courtyard, bathroom with tub, air-conditioner, SAT-TV, telephone, internet, mini bar and tea & coffee making facilities and also a pillow-menu. Enjoy international and Bavarian specialties at our restaurants, on the lobby-bar or during summertime at our quiet beer garden - terrace. We offer our business traveller guests a modern business centre as well as W-LAN (without fee) in the whole Hotel. Our conference area offers every comfort for a successful conference, workshop or meeting. All rooms are modern equipped for up to 180 people. Set the planning of the implementation of your event trustful in our hands. We ensure for creative and innovative ideas, the perfect logistic and the professional implementation of all events on basic of best conditions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich South
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing