We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maritim Hotel Munchen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Munchen
Ranked #105 of 381 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2006

Good location, nice clean rooms. We would stay here again, the staff is very helpful.

  • Liked — Clean rooms and good location
  • Tips/Secrets — Great location for walking or taking the train. Walking distance to Oktober Fest 10 minutes.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A&LEsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    364
    215
    62
    14
See reviews for
90
184
87
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2006

Munich is a fantastic city with some of the most remarkable restaurants and sight-seeing in Germany. The Maritim is a clean, decent, full-service hotel with a pool and intermittent spa facilities, in what feels like one of the dingy corners of this great city. It's very close to the Train, which is brilliant for getting in and out of town. I would never say, "Oh, you HAVE to stay in the Maritim," but I WOULD say "if you're looking for comfortable sleep and convenience, it's more than acceptable."

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fly_With_Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2006

This hotel was a very pleasant surpise.

The rooms are great, the hotel has an excellent pool/sundeck/sauna/tanning facilities.

A complaint I read about this hotel was that it is next to "sexy land". While the entrance to the hotels "driveway" is next to Sexy Land, I was at the hotel during the World Cup, and I didn't see one person enter or exit sexy land. It does not attract a bad crowd, and heck, you can always stumble there after a long night of drinking.

Great all around.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim_casagrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2006

We were very happy with the Maritim. It is 2 blocks from the Main Train Station (Hbf) and a great starting point from sightseeing. The rooms were average size-plenty big enough for European standards and the bed were soft, clean, and comfortable. The top floor of the hotel has a spa. This included a large pool with an amazing view, a steam room, sauna, and a tanning bed -they charge for the bed, but everything else was free.

They hotel was not new-not old, just average, but very clean and nice. The staff was genuinely pleasant and helpful and helped us find a few local spots for a beer and Wurst.

The old town was about a 15 min walk, and in the other direction was the Old LoewenBrau Keller which was about 10-15 mins. I booked this hotel online with expedia and they offered every 3rd night free, so it was a great deal! Also, there is a shuttle from Lufthansa about 1 block over to the airport. However, we took the train, which averages about 8 EUR / person.

The area around the Maritim is a culturally amazing place! There are Russian, Greek, German, Turkish, and Arabic shops and restaurants. We ate food from so many countries. There are also some "sex" shops, but they are low key and never caused a second thought from us.

Definitely would go to the Maritim again!!!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DChance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2005

Stayed 3 nights during during the Oktoberfest with a tour group and was pleased with everything from room to staff to breakfast. It was a far cry from the Maritrim in Frankfurt which was a real dump. The Munich hotel is modern, and is in a perfect location.

Helpful?
4 Thank deanoBirmingham_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2005

The hotel is within walking distance to the train station. The hotel was a bit old. We had a room with a tiny window. The staff was helpful. The hotel was ok. There are lots of hotel along that street. We would consider other hotels along that street if we would go back to Munich again.

Stayed August 2004
Helpful?
3 Thank $savemoney$
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

After hearing from a local that the Hotel Maritim is located in a seedy part of town, I was a bit apprehensive. Even though there is a strip club just a few doors away, we had no problems at all. Its VERY close to the main train station which was a huge selling factor in that we rely on public transport.
Our room was really clean (and I am quite particular about cleanliness) and very comfortable. We got our wake-up calls on time and everyone on the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Their lounge, however, is in need of some updating and the service was quite slow.
One thing that made me laugh -- the entire staff was big on selling the breakfast and made it seem as though the breakfast was part of the room rate. Not true. Although the breakfast was very good, it was a bit high for breakfast. I'm usually happy with a bowl of cereal. If you're starving, I'm sure the breakfast would be worth it.
Overall, the friendly staff and the very clean and comfortable rooms (they had air conditioning!!!) made for a very pleasant stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shadow04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#11 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#30 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#120 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Munchen

Property: Maritim Hotel Munchen
Address: Goethestr. 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Munich
#58 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#79 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel München is located in a tranquil inner courtyard in the immediate vicinity of the main railway station, the Stachus and the Theresienwiese. Even the attractive shopping and boulevards of the inner city can be explored comfortably on foot starting from here. The new Munich trade fair centre can be reached directly with the U-Bahn in 18 minutes. The central location makes the hotel the perfect address for business travellers, short holiday makers and conference delegates in the Bavarian capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Maritim Hotel Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Munich
Munich Maritim Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing