We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at this hotel, skip Turkey.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maritim Hotel Munchen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Munchen
Ranked #105 of 381 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Stay at this hotel, skip Turkey.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I've read some reviews after booking this place and am not sure what makes people say things such as "dodgy neighborhood", "unsavory businesses", etc., etc.
What a great location not only for touristy trips, but really. How many dumplings can you eat?
In this neighborhood, you'll find some really good, authentic Turkish food and culture. How cool is that? I had an outstanding fresh Kebab and even better sweets next door. Get over it people. .


My room was so impeccably clean, I kept looking to find some dirt/dust/or hairs in sink, All came up smelling like roses. That shower control? Star Wars more like it. Very nice.
The lady working the bar is actually Knowledgeable about her spirits. I was impressed.
Front office staff very very helpful as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwidestuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your stay at Maritim Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Maritim Hotel in Munich.

Kind regards from Munich
Maritim Hotel München

Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    364
    215
    62
    14
See reviews for
90
184
87
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

A lot of clubs are around this hotel if you like to go out.
close to subways, very convenient to get into Marienplatz.
recommended for tourist who wants to be convenient to the center and sightseeing. Price was ok too.
room is just average room with two single bed like any other european hotels. nothing fancy but clean and comfortable.
Recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rurina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.
Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

We feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcome you again in our Maritim Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
Maritim Hotel Munich

Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
268 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Very conveniently located near the main station and easy walking to good restaurants and starting point for many of the tours.

Rooms were clean and spacious with friendly staff.

Would recommend this hotel and happily use it again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your stay at Maritim Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Maritim Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
Maritim Hotel München

Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great location, renovated rooms are comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Our main complain is that rooms do not have a "do not disturb" sign so maids start knocking on the doors around 8. And if that wasn't enough, loud construction noise starts shortly after. So do not plan on sleeping or even hanging in the room in the morning/early afternoon.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, as far away from construction as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seagull324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear "seagull324",

Thank you for your stay at Maritim Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!
As you have noticed, we are renovating the guest rooms as well as the public areas, step by step.
We started the renovations in August last year by renewing our main restaurant “Rotisserie” & our PianoBar. Since April 2013 we have implemented the new concept of living in our rooms on the 3rd, 4th and 5th floor. At this time, we are applying the new room concept to our guest rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor.
The renovations on these floors should be completed by April 2014. Of course, we are doing our very best to keep our guests stay unaffected from above mentioned. Unfortunately we were not able to achieve this during your stay. We deeply apologize for these inconveniences.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Maritim Hotel in Munich and hope you give us a second chance.

Kind regards
Maritim Hotel Munich

Richard Mayer
Regional Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Booked online for 2 nights on business thinking it was a 4 star, probably should have done a little more homework. The place is like stepping into 1975, the wifi set up is ridiculous, the room was just dated and tired, the TV was a cathode ray tube circa 1950, room would have felt 50% bigger with a flat screen tv. Someone was drilling concrete nearby, could have been 2 or 3 floors away, but seemed like it was in the next room. Considering the price and my expectations, I was shattered. Left the hotel immediately and checked in within walking distance at a proper 4 star property, they didn't refund me that day, which would have been all the goodwill required not to leave a review but hey, that's business and they didn't have to refund me. In any case best decision I made was to just leave. When I fronted reception and advised them I was checking out within 2 hours of checking in there was a bit of eye rolling and smirking, which I guess sums up my experience.....The hotel just isn't as good as it should be for the price. I note other reviewers have mentioned refurbished rooms, on these I can not comment. and I am sure the hotel will 'regret' and 'consider' and 'discuss these comments with the relevant dept'

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Mr. "Peter B",

Thank you for your stay in our Maritim Hotel Munich. We were very pleased to welcome you as our guest and would like to apologize for the inconvenience that we have caused.

Your comment on some hotel conditions we have taken note with regret and will consider these urgently and discuss them with the corresponding departments.
Unfortunately we can not undo your experience but we would like to apologize again.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Maritim Hotel in Munich and hope you give us a second chance.

Yours sincerely
Maritim Hotel Munich

Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very good hotel, food excellent, comfortable, large and clean rooms, besides guarding us from the great heat makes out. Uff that heat. The tours some good, some not so many ...........................

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SaNtA AnA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear "SaNtA AnA T",

Thank you for your stay at Maritim Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. We feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and the restaurant. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Maritim Hotel in Munich.

Kind regards from Munich
Maritim Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRUSSELS
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Renovated rooms are very nice and comfortable. Great and friendly staff. Very good breakfast. Indoor pool with nice city view... a welcoming area after a cold winter day. I have stayed at better Maritim hotels but excellent value for money near the Munich city center.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DFWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear "DFWJ",

Thank you for your stay at Maritim Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Maritim Hotel in Munich.

Kind regards from Munich
Maritim Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#11 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#30 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#121 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Munchen

Property: Maritim Hotel Munchen
Address: Goethestr. 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Munich
#58 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#79 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel München is located in a tranquil inner courtyard in the immediate vicinity of the main railway station, the Stachus and the Theresienwiese. Even the attractive shopping and boulevards of the inner city can be explored comfortably on foot starting from here. The new Munich trade fair centre can be reached directly with the U-Bahn in 18 minutes. The central location makes the hotel the perfect address for business travellers, short holiday makers and conference delegates in the Bavarian capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maritim Hotel Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Munich
Munich Maritim Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing