We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location for the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Munchen
Ranked #109 of 382 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Derbys
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location for the centre”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is in a great location off one of the side streets very close to the station. This obviousley means great access to the subway but also a very short walk into town for all the main attractions. There are a few lap dancing bars around this area but nothing can be seen from the outside and the area was absolutekly fine even late at night.

The hotel itself is of a decent standard and has a fabulous roof top pool (undercover) with views over Munich.

My wife was not too impressed that there wasnt a kettle in the room but then she loves a hot cup of tea first thing in the morning.

The hotel bar is very pleaseant and has a piano playing at certain times.

All in all no complaints as the hotel was a very reasonable price. Some of the rooms have been refurbished although we didnt manage to get one of those and was on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms when making the booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMNFFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear "DMNFFC",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    380
    221
    66
    16
See reviews for
97
195
88
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The rooms were spacious, beds were comfy and the shower perfect. Though the air conditioning was a bit lacking.

The location is fantastic, literally 2 minutes from the main station, which allowed us to get round the city with relative ease and was convenient for our train to the airport. It has been sometimes remarked that the location is a bit dodgy with it being in the red light district of the city, but there is just a single lapdance club next door but one, and never at any point did you think you were in a sleazy part of town. Munich is a perfectly safe city and you will not even get a hint of being threatened there. Which is a testament to the place for saying how big the city is and the problems that come with that.

The swimming pool was small but convenient and I took advantage of the facility a couple of times. They could do with some more lockers, but as I have said, it is perfectly safe. Though the swimming pool attendant was extremely grumpy and spent half her time on the phone outside.

The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of food, choice and was restocked regularly, though it can become quite a battle to get a table.

Last of all, the staff (with the pool lady aside) were extremely helpful, spoke very good English and were efficient. They always had a smile and I think that is important. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Churmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear "Churmie",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Kind regards from Munich
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Got into Munich at 6:30am from Budapest on the overnight train. Went to the hotel and I was just assuming they would hold my luggage for me until later that afternoon, but to my amazement they handed over my room key and let me check in! I was overjoyed to say the least after not getting much rest on the train! I know that even when hotels have rooms available most of the time they won't let you check in that early, but they did and I was Very grateful!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear "lauraSanJose",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Maritim for four nights over the last weekend of Oktoberfest. It was a great location for walking to the Oktoberfest site, taking about 10 minutes, and just down the road from the Haubtbahnhof. While there was a few shady looking characters on the street outside at night, we felt completely safe, and the hotel is set a little back from the street, making it a bit quieter anyway.
Any hotel in this area is wildly overpriced and expensive during Oktoberfest, but we found Maritim to be competitively priced, and while our room had dated decor, it was perfectly comfortable, and we enjoyed our stay there.
There's even a small room with some gym equipment in it for crazy people like me that like to exercise on holidays!
Also, the Piano Bar at the hotel has good drinks and the piano player while we were there was doing some very impressive lounge covers, including Pink Floyd... Fantastic!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 255103Laura82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear „255103Laura82“,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Spent one night here. Was really well centrally located 5 mins frim hauptbahnhoff. Room was 2 large single beds pushed together but was v clean spacious.
one complaint was no wifi in the rooms
otherwise perfect and recommeneed in superb munich

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spookeytookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Mr. "spookeytookey",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!
We would like to inform that our guests have WIFI access (not free) in all rooms and in the lobby.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen ellyn
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The location is convenient, close to the main train station. The bar is pleasant, and the food okay but certainly not great. I could tell the maid had been to my room because the tv remote was put back in its place, I couldn't detect her presence otherwise. My real beef with the hotel is that during my stay, I broke my knee in their hallway (not their fault) and had to cut my stay short to get emergency treatment back home. The hotel management deigned to give me 10% off the remainder of my stay (after originally informing me I had to pay the full amount unless they re-booked the room). The place obviously cares a great deal about profit and very little for their "Dear guests."

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mudfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest "mudfoot“,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We hope you had a good and safe trip home and that your injury is healed quickly.

Due to our policy we charge 90% of the overnight rate for an early departure.

We hope for your understanding and looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The neighbourhood left a little to be desired. The walk to the Marien Platz was approximately 20 minutes through the "Mall". The station was also within walking distance. The staff were extremely friendly and very professional and only too happy to be helpful with any queries. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and. Would have liked to have had an ironing board and iron in the room as have experienced with other hotels in Germany when staying more than a day or two. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 301Wills72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear "301Wills72",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#36 of 382 in Munich
1,104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 382 in Munich
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
IntercityHotel Munich
IntercityHotel Munich
#135 of 382 in Munich
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drei Loewen Hotel
Drei Loewen Hotel
#105 of 382 in Munich
566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Munchen

Property: Maritim Hotel Munchen
Address: Goethestr. 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Munich
#57 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#79 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel München is located in a tranquil inner courtyard in the immediate vicinity of the main railway station, the Stachus and the Theresienwiese. Even the attractive shopping and boulevards of the inner city can be explored comfortably on foot starting from here. The new Munich trade fair centre can be reached directly with the U-Bahn in 18 minutes. The central location makes the hotel the perfect address for business travellers, short holiday makers and conference delegates in the Bavarian capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maritim Hotel Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Munich
Munich Maritim Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing