We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfort and space just outside pedestrian zone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Munchen
Ranked #106 of 385 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband, myself and my then-19-month old daughter had a great stay at the Maritim Hotel. Yes, it is in a "shady" area (ie a couple peep show and gambling establishments, lots of bodegas and stores operated by and focused on new immigrants) but that is typical of neighborhoods around train stations. As others pointed out, there are several other 4-star hotels nearby, as well as the 5-star Sofitel (just a block or two away, next to the train station). Once you're within the hotel, you realize the trade-off of a less-than-desireable neighborhood is SPACE and comfort. We were in a newly refurbished room and it was very well done. There was plenty of storage (I hate when there are no places to PUT things) and still floorspace for our toddler to run around. The bathroom was well-equipped and spacious, with very nice toiletries.

The staff were very nice, too. They'd placed the baby cot in the room ahead of our stay and were helpful with directions. We'd booked via Priceline Express Deals, too, and never felt 'judged' or treated lesser from doing so. We did not purchase the breakfast (it was very expensive, and there was a BakWerk bakery just behind the hotel, where my husband ran out to get us breakfast each morning.

We would definitely stay here again. It was a 15 minute walk to Marienplatz, and from there you could easily walk to all you'd want to see. We managed to traverse the city on foot just fine with a toddler in a stroller.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDaph81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear "KDaph81",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Kind regards from Munich
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
There are newer reviews for Maritim Hotel Munchen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 852 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 days this past weekend... Close walk to the pedestrian zone and really most things.. Like other seems kinda of in a bad area but it truly is not. There are a bit of 4 stars hotels around this one like courtyard and mecure. There are a few hostels but being so close to a major train hub it's normal. We love Munich and have been here a lot over 2 years. We were in rm 318 and were not diappointed. We visited with our 2 and 4 year old and not once did they see or mention any of the nudey bars or casinos. They were more fascinated with the trains.. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Traveler-with-Kids1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear "Traveler-with-Kids1",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Let's get the obvious out of the way. The location is not the best in the world but it is central and it's not like there are "ladies of the night" accosting you or "bad" types hanging around outside the hotel. Further there are both a best western and an Accor Mercure nearby.
The hotel is set back from the road and has a very attractive foyer. Booking in was easy and as we had won the trip as a prize were pleased that breakfast was included given the price otherwise. Having done my homework I asked for one of the refurbished rooms and was delighted at the décor. My wife loved the shower controls, being touch activated. We have stayed at the Maritim in Riga and so were aware of the standard and to be honest this branch just slightly edges it over her sister in Riga.
Breakfast was of the usual buffet style with everything you would expect, including copious coffee refills. The bar was very well stocked and the staff friendly and efficient. Fortunately we had no course to have any further interaction with staff, complaints etc.
The ease of access to S, U, trams and buses is amazing and is another mitigating factor to the street scene nearby.
All in all a great place to stay and explore the city.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Mr. "Mark B",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Kind regards from Munich
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We bookended our trip through Austria and Bavaria with stays at the Maritim.
As others have stated, the location can *seem* rough, but it really is fine. It is in the 'turkish' area near the train station and there are 2-3 topless bars and casinos around but it isn't like there are hookers pimps drug dealers around. Its really fine and safe once you get over your American sensitivities. We found the location to be prime for getting around on the all the trains and streetcars as well as only being about a 10-15 minute walk to the Marienplatz and the center of town.
The hotel itself is a very prime property. The lobby is nice, and the bar is very well stocked with many fine scotches and is very comfortable. We didnt eat here as there are much better options than a hotel in Munich we wanted to try.
The staff all speak English well and were very accommodating with early check ins both stays.
The rooms we fantastic, large and clean and well appointed. The internet is reasonable at 5E/day.
There is a building nearby being demolished which makes a lot of noise but the insulated windows kept it out entirely.
Our only speed bump was that I paid in advance for my room and they charged me again when I checked out. This was resolved with an email but with the exchange rates I was still out a few bucks. They made it up to us with some free drinks in the bar which was very nice.
All in all I can recommend this hotel with complete confidence.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHXTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Mr. “PHXTrainer”,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Kind regards from Munich
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Good basic clean hotel smack in the middle of "entertainment"district....surrounded by lap dancing clubs......a real joy...not!!!! Close to the main train station but its a zoo. Helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Mrs. "Elizabeth G",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Booked this through priceline.com looking for a 4-star and there is no way that this hotel is a 4-star. It is located very close to the HBF station within minutes walking distance and plenty of food can be found there if you are looking for a quick bite. Walking past the strip club "sexy land" though to get to this hotel is not comforting at all. I'd recommend it as an alternative to a hostel but in terms of a nice hotel this is not it.

If location is all you are looking for by all means, otherwise avoid. Check-in and service was straight forward and appreciated. After a long travel this was one of the highlights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riskytrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear guest "Riskytrader",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

Your comment on the condition of the room we have taken note with regret. Certainly we are renovating the guest rooms as well as the public areas, step by step.
We started the renovations in August last year by renewing our main restaurant „Rôtisserie“ and our PianoBar. Since April 2013 we have implemented the new concept of living in our rooms on the 3rd, 4th and 5th floor.

In conclusion, we want to thank you for the interest shown towards our MARITIM Hotel Munich and would be delighted if you would give us a second chance.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel Munich




Richard Mayer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very nice hotel, super clean, modern, centrally located. There is a casino and an "adult" bar nearby, but those are all over and didn't affect us a bit, even walking home at night. Great shower (best bathroom of our trip through Central Europe), comfy beds. No free breakfast. Would definitely stay at again. Quick check in/out, but my husband had to wait a bit when he went back to retrieve a forgotten item. They did find it though, so we were happy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear „Stacy B“,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
Regional Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#21 of 385 in Munich
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#44 of 385 in Munich
1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
0.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,666 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Munchen

Address: Goethestr. 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Munich
#56 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#79 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $122 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel München is located in a tranquil inner courtyard in the immediate vicinity of the main railway station, the Stachus and the Theresienwiese. Even the attractive shopping and boulevards of the inner city can be explored comfortably on foot starting from here. The new Munich trade fair centre can be reached directly with the U-Bahn in 18 minutes. The central location makes the hotel the perfect address for business travellers, short holiday makers and conference delegates in the Bavarian capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Hotel Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Munich
Munich Maritim Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing