We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, fabulous breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maritim Hotel Munchen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Munchen
Ranked #105 of 381 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Queensland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, fabulous breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was the first hotel on the trip. After reading some of the reviews on trip advisor we were slightly wary about the location and the breakfast. No need to worry, arriving by train from the airport we were easily able to locate the hotel only having to cross one road with our suitcases. Staff were efficient and friendly, rooms were clean. The breakfast was excellent by European and Australian standards - even Champage was available, Location was excellent - walking distance to Christmas markets and all shops. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: If you are used to more than one very soft pillow, ring housekeping when you arrive and order extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoylifeQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear "EnjoylifeQueensland",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Kind regards from Munich
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    364
    215
    62
    14
See reviews for
90
184
87
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
293 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Overall stars - 4 of 5, perhaps I got 1 of the upgraded room in 5th floor. Room was nice and quite alright. Nothing in particular to irk me. Bed is somewhat comfortable.


Hotel staff - 3.5 of 5
Restaurant staff - did not use
Room service staff - can't remember if i use for ice
Housekeeping staff - 4 of 5 well kept
Room - 4 of 5 well kept, no complaint

Bed comfortable rating - 3.5 of 5, hope for some more comfort

Room size – medium

Restaurant / breakfast - did not use

WIFI - chargeable

Location - Near train station, very easy to get around if you use inter city trains and metro

Free shuttle - no

Spa - did not use / not sure they have

Room Tip - 5th floor is ok to me

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear "LorenzSingapore",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services. We feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel Munich




Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tettnang, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is located close to the main train station, 10 mins walking to Marianplatz and with lots of options for restaurants and cafes around.
Rooms are clean and quite new, has friendly staff and a nice piano bar downstairs. The only down point is that the walls are quite thin and you can hear a lot of the noise from the other rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlineVione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear "AlineVione",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services. We feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel Munich




Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Truly happy in this little gem in Munich. It is in the heart of the old section with easy walking distance to everything. Duvets were cozy and the bed and feather pillows allowed me to sleep very comfortably. It is set back from the road and it is very quiet. It is within walking distance to the train station. Train station includes a grocery store, Starbucks and food court. Hop on and hop off bus to tour the entire is within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FactChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear "FactChick",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Kind regards from Munich
MARITIM Hotel München

Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

A very convenient location only a few hundred metres from Central Station. The rooms we had were a good size and comfortable. The sheets were clean and everywhere looked relatively clean; though there was a bag with some spare buttons in left on one of the bedside tables so not that much attention to detail. My daughter's room did smell of smoke so that was a bit off putting too.The decor is tired and in need of a makeover and had we paid the price we would normally pay for a 4* I would not have been very happy. However, for the deal we got I was happy enough. It really isn't a 4* hotel though. The staff on reception were helpful but the people in the bar were atrocious. Very poor service indeed.

Having said all that, if you want a hotel, very conveniently located and are not going to worry about the finer details then this is fine. I would stay here again so long as I got a deal.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and the rooms were a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaan6458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear „jaan6458“,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Yes, the location is great, just 3-4 minutes from the central station, but the rest? Overprized, and no service.

The pool? It's not a pool, it's an oversized bathtub, nothing more. Well there is one more thing, the smell reminds about the 80-is, not 2012.

I had luck getting a good room, but my colleagues were not so lucky, they had still old CRT TVs! 2012!

The hotell charge 16€/day for internet! 2012! Why have a hotel that not include wifi?

The claim that the hotel have a pianobar, the standard and spritit of the par, looks like an old ferry from the 80s. Awfull!

Can I recommended the hotel? NO
Would I stay here again? NO

They also tried to charge me for 3 drinks from the minibar! Probably from the previous guest, but anyway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smokingorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear “tredje”,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

Your comment on the condition of the room we have taken note with regret.
A renovation of our guest rooms and public areas will be progressively implemented. We would like to keep you up to date. Unfortunately we can not undo your experience but we would like to apologize.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Kind regards from Munich
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here as the final night of a 14 day European tour. Its quite a multicultural part of Munich. The location is away from the main heart and shopping district of Munich; Marienplatz but within 150 metres of the Hauptbahnhof, so if you need to leave the hotel in the wee hours of the morning this is ideal. Its also close to the Post Office if you need to send away parcels back home to avoid excess baggage charges like we did!

The rooms are quite old fashioned and could be updated with fresh paint and a bathroom refurbishment. The breakfast is OUTSTANDING- a real feast, and well worth enjoying , there were offerings on the buffet that I've never seen anywhere else such as Weisswurst, Bretzeln, and, Herring Salad and Smoked Salmon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schatzi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear “Schatzi_12”,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our breakfast buffet. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

Your comment on the condition of the room we have taken note with regret.
A renovation of our guest rooms and public areas will be progressively implemented. We would like to keep you up to date. Unfortunately we can not undo your experience but we would like to apologize.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Kind regards from Munich
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#11 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#30 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#121 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Munchen

Property: Maritim Hotel Munchen
Address: Goethestr. 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Munich
#58 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#79 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel München is located in a tranquil inner courtyard in the immediate vicinity of the main railway station, the Stachus and the Theresienwiese. Even the attractive shopping and boulevards of the inner city can be explored comfortably on foot starting from here. The new Munich trade fair centre can be reached directly with the U-Bahn in 18 minutes. The central location makes the hotel the perfect address for business travellers, short holiday makers and conference delegates in the Bavarian capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Maritim Hotel Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Munich
Munich Maritim Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing