We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for the price we paid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Munchen
Ranked #110 of 382 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Reasonable for the price we paid”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

A very convenient location only a few hundred metres from Central Station. The rooms we had were a good size and comfortable. The sheets were clean and everywhere looked relatively clean; though there was a bag with some spare buttons in left on one of the bedside tables so not that much attention to detail. My daughter's room did smell of smoke so that was a bit off putting too.The decor is tired and in need of a makeover and had we paid the price we would normally pay for a 4* I would not have been very happy. However, for the deal we got I was happy enough. It really isn't a 4* hotel though. The staff on reception were helpful but the people in the bar were atrocious. Very poor service indeed.

Having said all that, if you want a hotel, very conveniently located and are not going to worry about the finer details then this is fine. I would stay here again so long as I got a deal.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and the rooms were a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaan6458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear „jaan6458“,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    383
    224
    66
    16
See reviews for
98
198
89
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Yes, the location is great, just 3-4 minutes from the central station, but the rest? Overprized, and no service.

The pool? It's not a pool, it's an oversized bathtub, nothing more. Well there is one more thing, the smell reminds about the 80-is, not 2012.

I had luck getting a good room, but my colleagues were not so lucky, they had still old CRT TVs! 2012!

The hotell charge 16€/day for internet! 2012! Why have a hotel that not include wifi?

The claim that the hotel have a pianobar, the standard and spritit of the par, looks like an old ferry from the 80s. Awfull!

Can I recommended the hotel? NO
Would I stay here again? NO

They also tried to charge me for 3 drinks from the minibar! Probably from the previous guest, but anyway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokingorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear “tredje”,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

Your comment on the condition of the room we have taken note with regret.
A renovation of our guest rooms and public areas will be progressively implemented. We would like to keep you up to date. Unfortunately we can not undo your experience but we would like to apologize.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Kind regards from Munich
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here as the final night of a 14 day European tour. Its quite a multicultural part of Munich. The location is away from the main heart and shopping district of Munich; Marienplatz but within 150 metres of the Hauptbahnhof, so if you need to leave the hotel in the wee hours of the morning this is ideal. Its also close to the Post Office if you need to send away parcels back home to avoid excess baggage charges like we did!

The rooms are quite old fashioned and could be updated with fresh paint and a bathroom refurbishment. The breakfast is OUTSTANDING- a real feast, and well worth enjoying , there were offerings on the buffet that I've never seen anywhere else such as Weisswurst, Bretzeln, and, Herring Salad and Smoked Salmon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schatzi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear “Schatzi_12”,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our services.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our breakfast buffet. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

Your comment on the condition of the room we have taken note with regret.
A renovation of our guest rooms and public areas will be progressively implemented. We would like to keep you up to date. Unfortunately we can not undo your experience but we would like to apologize.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Kind regards from Munich
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for only 1 night at the end of our 2 week European vacation. Thank goodness it was only for one night. The room was not clean and extremely outdated. We wanted a queen size bed and we got two twins added together. It was extremely uncomfortable to try and sleep with a huge crack in the middle. We might as well slept separately on two twins. It was a shame because this was the last night of our vacation and we were extremely disappointed to have spent it in such a horrible hotel. The staff was friendly but not much help. In addition, the server at the downstairs restaurant was extremely nice and sweet. She was accommodating and friendly after a long day of being out in Munich. Overall, it was a below average hotel for the money we paid for it. I would never stay here again, complete waste of money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMM60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear "AMM60795",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

Your comment on the condition of the room we have taken note with regret.
A renovation of our guest rooms and public areas will be progressively implemented. We would like to keep you up to date. Unfortunately we can not undo your experience but we would like to apologize.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel Munich



Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

You really can't beat the location of this place. Within walking distance of all the big sites and a few steps away from the train station for the sites that are a bit further out. Rooms are adequate for sleeping in. Like many hotels in Europe, bring your own shampoo. Also, let them know your Skymiles # because they do honor the miles program.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear „Emily H“,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights during Oktoberfest and was quite happy with both location and value for money, taking into account that all prices seem to go up during the festivities. The room was a good size and clean, the staff friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15MW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear "15MW",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is not really a 4 star hotel. Maybe a 3 star... Location is beneficial, being close to the railway station, but the area is not the best one (like any railway station neighborhood).
Rooms are large, but the furniture somewhat dated. They want additional 34 Euro for upgraded rooms on the 5th floor.
Breakfast is 22 Euros, so we did not even consider it.
Had hard time sleeping, as the matresses and pillows are not particularly comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear "Alexander R",

Referring to your stay at the MARITIM Hotel Munich, we want to say thank you for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our service.

Your comment on the condition of the room we have taken note with regret. We are renovating the guest rooms as well as the public areas, step by step.
We started the renovations in August last year by renewing our main restaurant „Rôtisserie“ and our PianoBar. Since April 2012 we have implemented the new concept of living in our rooms on the 5th floor. Unfortunately we can not undo your experience but we would like to apologize.

In conclusion, we want to thank you for the interest shown towards our MARITIM Hotel Munich and would be glad to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel Munich




Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#37 of 382 in Munich
1,112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#22 of 382 in Munich
638 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#12 of 382 in Munich
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#120 of 382 in Munich
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Munchen

Property: Maritim Hotel Munchen
Address: Goethestr. 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Munich
#57 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#79 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel München is located in a tranquil inner courtyard in the immediate vicinity of the main railway station, the Stachus and the Theresienwiese. Even the attractive shopping and boulevards of the inner city can be explored comfortably on foot starting from here. The new Munich trade fair centre can be reached directly with the U-Bahn in 18 minutes. The central location makes the hotel the perfect address for business travellers, short holiday makers and conference delegates in the Bavarian capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maritim Hotel Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Munich
Munich Maritim Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing