We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but overpriced for the value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Munich Marriott Hotel
Ranked #69 of 385 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Pros: Easy access to and from the Munich airport via Lufthansa bus stop around the corner from the hotel. Also located near Nordfriedhof U-Bahn Station (U6), which makes accessing the city easy. Staff was helpful. Very nice spa and fitness area. Clean, modern rooms. Decent breakfast selection (although expensive if it's not included in the room!)

Cons: Expensive plus very slow wi-fi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwall722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
There are newer reviews for Munich Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is in the north of the city and unfortunately the 2 Courtyards closer to the city centre were fully booked; I had to stay here on business for 2 nights and I arrived into Munich airport from London and took a taxi which cost around 55 Euro to the hotel.
The reception staff were more interested in chatting to their colleagues and I didn't get the usual Marriott friendly, efficient treatment.
When I found out my room was the farthest away from the lifts this made me even more disappointed.
Anyway on the plus side is they have a nice swimming pool and gym although it is on the small side and limited equipment and no rowing machines.
Will try and avoid this going forward.

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist before you just take what they give you!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglishmaninJavea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I recently stayed at Marriott Munich for two nights on business. Hotel is in a residential neighborhood, there is a subway stop 5 minutes walking distance away from the hotel and then a quick 15 minute subway ride on U6 to Marienplatz. The room was clean, had very modern furnishings, WiFi signal was strong and network speed decent, exercise room was clean and well maintained, breakfast had a good selection of food. There is no concierge lounge, but the breakfast room serves drinks and snacks from 6-10pm for gold and platinum members. Overall, the hotel facility lives up to the Marriott standard, however the service is a hit and miss. Staff at front desk and breakfast was friendly. On the second day I came back from work, I found that the cleaning staff took away all the dirty towels but didn’t leave any clean towels and didn’t empty any of the garbage cans. On the morning that I was checking out, there were only two people at the front desk and I basically had to wait in line for 20 minutes to check out. I was glad that I didn’t have an early flight to catch otherwise I’d be even more annoyed. That was just unacceptable given the size of the hotel and it being a business hotel where majority of the guests checking out in the early mornings.

Couple of tips for future guests. I parked in the underground garage, 24 euros a night, if the weather was a bit nicer (it was snowing when I stayed there), I would’ve just parked on the street for free, there was plenty of free street parking around the hotel. There is a small grocery store a block away, if you don’t care for spending 4 euros for a bottle water in the mini bar, you can buy your supplies there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huskies92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Everything about this hotel was excellent. It is in a quieter area of Munich, but within walking and subway access to restaurants, shopping, etc. Staff was very helpful/professional, rooms were clean and elegant, hotel perks were very nice, and business center was easily accessible if you needed to print documents (staff was available at the business center to assist - very nice detail). I was able to find parking on the street each night...that might have been luck. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for about a year ago and have generally positive experience from my stay there. The hotel is well located not very far from the airport and close to metro, serivce is ok and the food is great. If you are in Munich you must try different types of local bears they are just amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great hotel! My boyfriend and I wanted to hit Oktoberfest for a couple of nights and were surprised that this Marriott was available (booked about 45 days out) and that I could use my points as well. Being a platinum rewards member, they gave us access to the executive lounge (set up in the restaurant but I can't remember if that was because they were remodeling, or not??) with a nice buffet of snacks and yummy German beers. We had a great, modern room. It was perhaps too comfortable since we planned to hit the festival when we arrived but couldn't be bothered once we got comfy in the awesome Marriott bed (and in all fairness, it was raining and we'd had a long journey). Speaking of rain, it did make for an unpleasant walk from the subway station to the hotel--we thought it was closer but was actually about 10 minute walk, which is fine, unless it's pouring rain. We loved the big pretzels at check-in! The breakfast was fantastic. If we weren't so hungover, we also would've loved the pool area downstairs before our train ride out. ;)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-B737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel on Munich's middle ring road off of the end of Autobahn 9 has relatively spacious, well appointed, quiet, and comfortable post-modern rooms. It is about 20 minutes from the airport by car when there is light traffic. Garage parking is a little pricey. A subway station (U-bahn) is nearby to help explore the city. This place is nicely situated for a walking tour to nearby green space (the English Garden) or a shopping mall.

Dining and health/fitness facilities offer convenient in-house options. If you were wondering about perks at this hotel, you have to inquire about them because they are not revealed up front.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide better view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
0.2 mi away
Pullman Hotel Munich
Pullman Hotel Munich
#56 of 385 in Munich
1,476 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#62 of 385 in Munich
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Munich City East
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Munchen Parkstadt Schwabing
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munich Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munich Marriott Hotel

Address: Berliner Str. 93, 80805 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Munich
#12 Spa Hotel in Munich
#39 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#42 Business Hotel in Munich
#62 Family Hotel in Munich
#70 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $129 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Munich Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have an adventure to remember at the Munich Marriott Hotel. We provide a unique blend of modern comfort and functional elegance in a prime location. Our rooms feature thoughtful design and deluxe amenities, while first-class hotel resources ensure that you get all you need for an enjoyable stay here in Munich, Germany. Start your morning with a workout at our fitness center or find a personal oasis at our hotel spa. Savor an inventive cocktail or a juicy steak at one of our six bar and restaurant options, allowing you to experience top-quality dining without leaving your hotel. If you're interested in planning a business function or wedding, you can take advantage of our 13 stylish, adaptable event venues, which combine for almost 10,000 square feet of space. We offer an exceptional hotel location near Munich city center, close to Marienplatz and other destinations. Join us at the Munich Marriott Hotel, where we look forward to providing you with service and convenience beyond compare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munich Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Munich
Marriott Hotel Munchen
Marriott Munich
Munich Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing