We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Updating”
Review of Hilton Munich City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Munich City
Ranked #80 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Needs Updating”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This used to be my go to hotel when staying in Munich. It is in a terrific location with the S-Bahn station literally underneath the hotel. This makes is very convenient to travel around the city and to and from the airport. The staff here have always been very friendly and accomodating. The rooms however are in desperate need of updating as they are mostly worn out and pretty beatup after years of use. It's recently become very crowded here and prices have sky rocketed so that the hotel isn't worth the price of admission anymore. They also charge 25 Euro/day for wifi which is very costly. I'd recommend staying near Ostbanhof station as there are newer, more updated and less expensive hotels that give you more for your money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpartyGirl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for taking the time to give us a feedback about your stay.
I was happy to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and our service.
I can share with you that we are planning our renovation at the moment and we hope to realize it in the near future.

I was surprised to read your comment about our internet pricing as we reduced our prices in April basis on guest feedback which we were receiving.
We now charge €10 per day or €5 per hour.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    1,154
    433
    164
    64
See reviews for
537
804
185
799
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had a very good check in experience and informed that the rollaway bed was in the room as requested. The room was on the executive floor. Size is ok but without any view (rooftop and other buildings). We had breakfast in both executive lounge and restaurant downstairs on different days. The restaurant was very crowed with multiple tourist groups. The EL offered less selections but more peaceful environment. Nice place to watch World Cup soccer in the lounge with beer and wine handy. The only negative was that the hotel tried to charge the transaction fee for the credit card payment after we purchased tour package in the hotel. The fee was refunded at the check out when asked.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahu98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

I was happy to read that you had a nice time at our hotel.

I hope the payment action was resolved by your satisfaction in the end.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Kind regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW VA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had a pleasant stay here. The room was air-conditioned and had a hair dryer and decent toiletries, which is always appreciated. The room was quiet. Breakfast included extensive offerings in a beautiful room. The hotel is within walking distance of shopping and the river. If you ask, the concierge will give you a map of the city and mark the location of the hotel. Several issues: the security bar on the door was broken, although the door lock worked ok. Also, the faucet in the tub dripped, and the iron dribbled water on my clothes--perhaps it was clogged.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GoingGoingSwVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for sharing your experiences with us. You seem to have enjoyed your stay with us, delighted to read this.

It would be great if you could pass me on your room number via Bianca.steppan@hilton.com so that we can eliminate the issues you experienced as fast as possible.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is right above the subway and easy walking distance to great restaurants. Was hard to find the hotel from the street since the signs do not stand out; also hard to find at the subway stop but once you know where it is it is very simple to enter the hotel. Breakfast buffet was very good and many options. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Room was modern and clean. Very good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurtRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for sharing your experiences with us. I was happy to read that you had a great time at our hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

nothing bad about this hotel. Price was ok, people are great and the room was great. The location is great. Takes about 15 min to walk to the heart of the city (Marien Platz). A S-Bahn station is right next to the hotel and can be reached from inside the hotel via elevator (a bit hidden, but ask). Cab right to/from train station about 15 Euro or direct via the S-Bahn. The S-Bahn will also go direct to the airport (about 40 minutes).

Wifi is free for hilton honors members. Executive lounge breakfast buffet is great (better then normal "continental" but no hot items).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nosuchname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

You seem to have really enjoyed your stay with us, delighted to read this! I will check on the buffet, as a standard we always offer eggs plus something else as a warm selection.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is on top of an SBahn station. The room service is fantastic, albeit pricey. But the rooms could use some updating. The carpet is worn, the bathroom tiles are cracked, and we had a significant amount of mildew in our bathtub. I couldn't even take a bath in our bathtub because the stopper was missing. Regardless, the staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were air conditioned, and the proximity to public transit couldn't be beat!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EB K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us.

I can share with you that we are planning our renovation at the moment and we hope to realize it in the near future.

Despite this you seem to have really enjoyed your stay with us, delighted to read this!

We look forward to welcome you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Tagged along trip while hubby at work. We got an upgrade room.
Hotel is of close proximity to city centre but be prepared to walk (approx. 10-15mins). Weather was great so it was no sweat walking.
Good spread at the breakfast buffet; you get to sample some german sausages. Cooking station served eggs done the way you want it. Loved the wine/champagne served at breakfast. Nice compliment to smoked salmon & some salad. You'r spoilt for choice at the bread section. The crossiants and pull-apart bread were nice.
Room was of good size. Beddings are considerably clean. Toiletries are of good quality.
Not the sophiscated hotel but good enough to meet basic needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarlingSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

It was great to read that you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel and that you enjoyed our rich breakfast buffet.

It´s great to know that we reached our goal of making our guests feel cared for, valued and respected.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Floris Licht
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
1.6 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#62 of 382 in Munich
1,942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#52 of 382 in Munich
2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
0.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Munich City East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich City

Property: Hilton Munich City
Address: Rosenheimer Str. 15, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#67 Family Hotel in Munich
#67 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#76 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Munich City provides modern accomodation in the heart of Munich, with a direct train link to the aiport and the main station. The shopping mile at the Marienplatz ist just a ten minutes walk away. Business centre, 2 restaurants, café, bar, 24h gym, room service - the hotel offers the full range of services for the business and leisure guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Munich City Hotel Munich
Munich Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing