We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unacceptable hotel policy”
Review of Hilton Munich City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Munich City
Ranked #80 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed April 22, 2014

we had made the booking in March in order to visit Munich in April. we had also paid the full amount at the time of the booking. Upon arrival at the hotel it was requested by the staff to provide them with a debit card in order to have in case extra charges (eg mini-bar) arose. We did and continued on with our journey. On the debit card I provided, I had transfered a set amount of money for the trip (plus some extra) which I considered to be enough for all my expenses. Unfortunately, after checking-out of the hotel and when I tried to access my money, I realised I could not. I was in Munich (fortunately only the last day) without money and I did not have access to my bank account to understand why. Upon arrival home, I discovered that the same amount paid for the hotel one month ago was also withheld from my debit card when I check-in to the hotel even though the fee had been paid in full one month earlier and was told that the debit card was required for extra expenses that MAY arise. I was not told that they were going to withhold that amount again, I was not informed of that while booking the hotel (because I would not have booked it had I known), I find this action unacceptable by any standard since they can charge my card after they checked if there was an extra charge and not before, I was left in a foreign country without access to money that was supposed to be in my bank account and after communication with the hotel management I was told that this was hotel policy (which I did not happen to read anywhere-and if indeed it is should be mentioned in a prominent way and not hidden somewhere in small writing) and that the money would be unblocked in five days (they were much quicher to block it though...). When told that it cannnot be Hilton policy since it did not happen in any other Hilton hotels I stayed, they changed their story saying that it was Munich Hilton hotel policy. I find this practise unacceptable because it practically doubles the budget that you need to set aside for hotel expenses for your trip even though they require you to pay the full amount in advance. I hold them solely responsible for ruining my trip and causing me the extreme stress of being stranded in a foreign country without money. I will make it my personal duty to inform as many travellers as possible fot this situation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vasilikipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Munich City during your most recent visit to Munich. We appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us and other travelers. It is only through feedback such as yours that we can continue to identify the areas of the hotel that we need to work on to ensure every guest enjoys their time with us and continues to feel valued, respected and cared for.

As we wanted to ensure that you see our reply, we took the liberty of writing to you directly as you had given us your e-mail address when you arrived. I do hope you received our e-mail and you are happy with our response and action. If we can be of any further assistance please do feel free to contact us directly.

Best regards from Munich,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,686)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Munich City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 2,686 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in April 2014. The hotel is average at best and cannot be rated higher than three stars.
The 'conveniently located' S-bahn station in the lower level of the hotel which is used as a selling point does not help much when one still has to haul one's 30kg luggage up a flight of steps before reaching an elevator to the lobby.
There was no help provided with our luggage in checking in and in checking out. We asked about help in getting our luggage back down to the rail station when we checked out but the concierge told us hat there will probably not be anyone available to help us and we should use the elevator (it does not go down all the way to the station - see my earlier point), or the escalator - way outside the building.
Our room was so hot all the time that I was feeling ill and had to leave the window open day and night. The air conditioning was on but unresponsive - even before I was forced to open a window. The air con stayed on the same temperature irrespective of the setting we selected. On entering the room for the first time we almost fainted from the heat. After an hour I discovered that some-one had turned up the heater in the bathroom (hidden way under the vanity basin) to its full setting and we switched it off. In addition, the bathroom tiles around the shower have black mould in their grouting - a clear health hazard.
The fee being charged for internet access is ridiculous. Plus, if you want to watch any TV channel at all, it costs 5 euro. This is the first time in my life a hotel actually tried to charge me to watch CNN.
The decor of the hotel is dull and dated. The walls of the corridors are badly scratched and marked on the lower sections with the corners damaged . Overall, the place could really use some paint.

Do not even get me started on the two, pathetic, lumpy pillows on our bed. We requested two more, which when they arrived, were even worse! Having hard, scratchy bits sticking through the covers and were lumpy and smelly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ_and_PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I want to take the opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Munich City and for sharing your experiences with us. Without your feedback we would not be able to acuratly identify the areas of improvement in our hotel!

I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the time at our hotel. Please do allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you expended during your stay.

I do apologize that you did not get the luggage service you expected. I have already discussed this with our Head Concierge in order to improve on this. We are also looking at ways to convert the few steps you mentioned into a ramp to make it easy to access.

I would be most grateful if you could e-mail me directly at Bianca.steppan@hilton.com with your room number in order for me to rectify the heating issue and the discoloration in the bathroom. Both these points are certainly not representative of our hotel and we will resolve them with urgency.

Thank you for your feedback about the internet and TV. I am delighted to inform you that since mid april we have, bases on Guest feedback, amended our internet charges to €10 per day and €5 per hour.We believe this is to be a much better offer. Our TV system offers a wide selection of channels for free and then a selection of channels against the fee you mentioned. Perhaps we need to review how we inform our guests of this offer.

I have spoken to Housekeeping about the walls and pillows and hope to rectify this as soon as possible in order to ensure no other guest has the same experience.

Once again I do apologize that we did not meet up to your expectations on this occasion and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,

Bianca Steppan
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is an amazing hotel. Its right on top of a subway station, so its about as convenient as it gets and you can get anywhere in the city within a few minutes without having to expend much energy if you don't want to.

The service is incredible and everyone was extremely polite and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and well decorated and we didn't experience any problems with anything during our entire stay. We stayed about 4 days overall and wished we could have stayed longer, but unfortunately they don't allow you to live there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Munich City and for sharing your experiences with us and other travellers on tripadvisor.

I delighted happy to read your positive feedback about your stay at our hotel, especially your comment regarding our service, it was great to read this because our team members are our biggest asset in creating an unforgettable stay for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Floris Licht
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel was everything I expect from a Hilton: excellent room, nice lobby, good options for food in the lobby (such as a delicious chocolate croissant and decaf coffee, to stay or to go), etc. Location was very convenient -- just a couple of subway stops from the city center, and you can get to the subway by taking an elevator down from the lobby. I paid 99 Euros (paid in advance) and this was an EXCELLENT value for that price. I have paid more like the equivalent of 150 Euros for similar hotels in the U.S..

My only minor complaint was that the concierges sorted of acted like you were imposing on them by asking questions. But they were informative nevertheless. Maybe I am just used to a more bubbly American style. But the concierge was closed from 6-9 pm on Saturday evening, which seemed a little odd.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraThreeBridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I want to take the opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Munich City and for sharing your positive feedback with us and other travellers on tripadvisor.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. We always strive to create an unforgettable stay for our guests and therefore it is great to read that we reached our goal.

I already passed your constructive feedback regarding the concierge team on to our Head of the Concierge in order to improve on this point.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My husband and I were impressed the moment we walked in and throughout the 2 night stay in the king deluxe room. We would stay again and will recommend it to friends and family who travel to Munich.

Spacious room, comfortable bed, big bathroom, completely updated. The staff was very courteous and accommodating - fabulous customer service. The room and whole hotel were very clean.

It is easy walking distance to most of the famous sites: Haufbraus, Marienplatz, etc. also right next to the Rosenheimer Platz S-Bahn station, an easy way to get around town if you don't want to walk. You can actually buy tickets for the subway at the concierge center (that is how we got to and from the airport).

We did not try the restaurant, but the bar staff was great. Stay at the Hilton Munich City!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam-Margaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a feedback about your stay at Hilton Munich City. I hope you had a comfortable journey home.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. We strive to make our guests feel cared for, valued and respected and therefore I was more than happy to read that we achieved this during your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The Hilton Munich City is a business hotel in a great location. Restaurants and supermarkets nearby, and located right above an S-bahn station. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. Beds were comfortable, but the pillows were not. Some noise coming into our room overlooking the street.
Parking charges are high, but this is to be expected in most European cities. Internet charges are also very expensive, but there is free internet access in the public areas of the hotel.
Not the fault of the hotel staff that we were unaware of the daylight saving time change that Sunday, but a reminder would have been helpful to avoid our having to rush to catch our flight.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

I want to take the opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Munich City and for sharing your experiences with us and other travellers on tripadvisor.
I was happy to read that you were satisfied with your stay and that we could persuade yourself about our qualities.

Thank you for your feedback regarding parking and internet. Our car park is not the property of Hilton but of Park One. So here we have little influence.Following extensive feedback and research we decided to reduce our internet prices to 5€ per hour or 10€ per day. It is also a Hilton Standard to offer free wifi in the public areas of our hotel. I do hope this is to your satisfaction.

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the daylight saving time change. We did have extensinve signs around the hotel to inform our guests of the change but we will certainly look how we can communicate this better the next time.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Hilton Munich City in the near future.

Best regards,

Philip Murray
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Just after three hours in this Hotel and I can speak that it being one of my worst ever traveling experience. We arrived at 2pm to check in, and in the desk we where informed that the rroom was not ready yet, that we should wait half an hour and meanwhile we cold left our baggage in the concierge desk. 2 hours 45 minutes after, at last, we got our room, watching during that time how dozens of guests could have theirs with no problem. during that time we only received a simple sorry and some simles. Once we had the room key and after leaving my 4 years old child and my wife there, I went to pick my baggage, and no help was offered to move the four pieces to the room. It is a real pity that we must start our weekend in Munich, wishing to leave the hotel, and never have booked it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesusTolmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca S, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I want to thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Munich City and for sharing your experiences with us. Without your feedback we would not be able to improve our services and product.

It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy the arrived experience to our hotel.Please do allow me to apologize for this as it is not refective of our normal standard.

I would be most grateful if you could contact me directly at Bianca.steppan@hilton.com so that I can look into what went wrong and ensure it is not repeated.

Do look forward to your response and hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Bianca Steppan
HILTON MUNICH CITY
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
1.6 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#62 of 385 in Munich
1,989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#49 of 385 in Munich
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
0.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 385 in Munich
695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Munich City East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich City

Address: Rosenheimer Str. 15, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#67 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#67 Family Hotel in Munich
#76 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $151 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Munich City provides modern accomodation in the heart of Munich, with a direct train link to the aiport and the main station. The shopping mile at the Marienplatz ist just a ten minutes walk away. Business centre, 2 restaurants, café, bar, 24h gym, room service - the hotel offers the full range of services for the business and leisure guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Munich City Hotel Munich
Munich Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing