We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great American hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Munich City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Munich City
Ranked #80 of 382 Hotels in Munich
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great American hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We (two adults, one 8 year old) stayed here two nights in the middle of a three week trip, and it was a great choice. We picked it after local hotels couldn't accommodate us, and we had some misgivings about using a chain, but I had Hilton points that made it hard to resist. It turned out GREAT! The hotel isnt in the city center, but it is very walkable, which worked out great as we could enjoy the old town and still get a peaceful night's sleep. Whether because of my Hilton status or through luck, we were graded to the executive level. Which I noticed happens a lot here. It makes a huge difference! The room itself was VERY comfortable with a king and a rollaway facing the quiet interior courtyard, but the executive lounge was like a private retreat, especially the rooftop balcony! We huddled to plan our day while enjoying snacks on our first day, then enjoyed great comp breakfasts (with surprisingly good eggs) each morning. The staff there were fabulous; o e spoke such good English I would have sworn she was American, but gave us some leads on local shopping that was more authentic and less touristy than the stuff in town.

Im already a Hilton fan, but this hotel was particularly nice. We enjoyed all the quirky small hotels we stayed in, but the Hlton in Munich was a very comfortable change of pace!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Drays7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina_Fiebig, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Drays7,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your stay at the Hilton Munich City. It is indeed very much appreciated and a huge compliment for our whole team.
We are delighted to have read that you booked an excellent deal at our property during your European Adventure and that our hotel contributed its part in making your trip an enjoyable one.
We are also glad that you emphasise the ideal and central location of our hotel. It sure does make travelling more comfortable and the connection to the airport couldn't be better.
It would be our pleasure to hopefully welcome you and your family back to our wonderful city very soon. Most of all, back to the Hilton Munich City.
Until then, we thank you once again for your feedback and remain.

With best regards

Nina Fiebig

Executive Office
Hilton Munich City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    1,121
    423
    156
    60
See reviews for
507
780
180
764
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I recently had a business meeting at this hotel, so we went a few days early for some sight seeing. Everything about this hotel was great. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping, sightseeing, etc. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The concierge was excellent for information on sightseeing and restaurants. When our flight out of Munich was cancelled the assistance was great and we were given another room quickly for our extra night.

Food quality was excellent. The morning breakfast buffet is amazing offering many healthy choices. Everything you could think of.

Internet costs simply should complimentary everywhere now, so I resented the high cost for having internet access.

Would highly recommend this hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastYorkCindyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Utah
Level Contributor
172 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I try and stay at Hilton's when I travel and they seem to be good hotels in most cities, however this one was nothing special. The rooms was normal and clean, but the hotel seemed dated and the staff seemed confused most of the time. They were prompt when we need something so this was nice. I can't give you much information on the location since I didn't have time to see much around the hotel. Parking was expensive, but located at the hotel which was nice. There was a small cafe in the lobby that was very good although over priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmickelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer_Canakiymaz, Executive Office at Hilton Munich City, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear cmickelsen,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and for your loyalty to Hilton Worldwide. It seems that we met your expectations and everything was to your satisfaction.

Our intension is to create a memorable and special stay for all of our guests and I am sorry that we did not succeed in your case. We would love to exceed your expectations with your next visit in Munich and hope you have more time to explore our beautiful location.

With kind regards,

Jennifer Canakiymaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed in the Hilton Munich City July 28 and 29.
The hotel is very nice, typical Hilton, excellent rooms, breakfast and executive lounge.
Incredibly nice staff in the Execuitve lounge, and nice food as well. We took the breakfast downstairs, as it is better then that in the lounge, with excellent choice of food in the buffet. Fresh egg station and fresh juices as well.
The only negative point i can mention is that sunday 29 it rained very hard, and they were out of umbrellas at the concierge, but those things can happen.
For people travelling here until August 20, the following warning!!
The S-Bahn is not travelling to the hotel, actually no through the whole of downtown.
Therefore there is a bus-service from the Ostbahnhof to the hotel and all other downtown locations.
Your trainticket is valid for the bus as well, so no worries there.
You just make sure you get out at Rosenheimer platz, and turn left when you leave the bus. The hotel is 100 meters down the street on the right side.

Room Tip: Take a room on the garden side, as you have no noise from the street. The little Thai place on the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RvC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I am a Hilton Gold Member (20 Hilton Hotel Stays so far in 2012). . . soon to be Diamond Member. The Hilton Munich Center is a lovely hotel. The rooms are spotless and quite large and the restaurant and bar exceeded my expectation for hotel food. The Executive Floor is by far one of the nicest I have been in with Hilton for some time. I am here on business, but the location of the hotel is fantastic. Walking distance to most of the major sites and also the entrance to the subway is in the same block for those wanting to venture out a little farther.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
198 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Great location. right above the train station. Easy to get to from the airport, easy to go anywhere in town. small efficient european styled rooms.

Breakfast great, but they start clearing away right away and will not stay a minute longer, (they will clean right around you).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longingforord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
178 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Pretty much a standard European Hilton. Sort of smallish rooms, but all the amenities. The restaurant/bar is a good one. Rooms are clean, bathrooms are well appointed, but small. The bit attraction is the location, which is walking distance from pretty much everything in Munich. You're not going to go too far off track staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rzrnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.2 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#54 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#59 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Munich City East
0.5 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#67 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich City

Property: Hilton Munich City
Address: Rosenheimer Str. 15, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#67 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#67 Family Hotel in Munich
#76 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Munich City provides modern accomodation in the heart of Munich, with a direct train link to the aiport and the main station. The shopping mile at the Marienplatz ist just a ten minutes walk away. Business centre, 2 restaurants, café, bar, 24h gym, room service - the hotel offers the full range of services for the business and leisure guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Munich City Hotel Munich
Munich Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing