We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! $40/Day Internet Fees”
Review of Hilton Munich City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Munich City
Ranked #78 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed August 23, 2011

While typically I would suggest a boutique hotel for its charm, and proximity to the city, I wound up cashing in my Hilton points for a one-night stay at the Hilton Munich City (to extend a buisness trip into the weekend and see the sights in Munich with my wife).

I was more than pleasantly surprised about the great Italian neighborhood surrounding this hotel. My wife and I had a great dinner at a pizza place just up the street overlooking a beautiful fountain, we walked to ice cream shop, and found many families playing in the park nearby.

Transportation to Marienplatz was actually under the hotel, and it was two stops away - couldn't be more ideal to get in and get out of the city center. We grabbed bikes for the day, and toured the beer gardens, lovely...a great Bravarian experience!

Oh, and transportation from the airport on the S8 ended up under the hotel as well. 35 minutes in and out.

Anyways, the location was perfect, I was able to enjoy Munich central, and the surrounding neighborhood, and conveniently make my flights. I would highly recommend it to anyone, possibly over charming boutiques...

The only HUGE drawback, was the nearly $40/day for internet access (28 Euro) - I am quite dissapointed in Hilton for fleecing the common traveller, I understand that they are preying on corporate expense accounts, but $40 just crazy...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,636 - 1,642 of 2,731 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

Fabulous stay at the Hilton Munich City! The location is ideal and convenient for travelling around. Right from check in, the staff were very pleasant, always had a greeting and a smile for us and remembered us. The only one unfortunate incident was on our last day we ate in the Hilton's Cafe and I found a fly in my food! However, the staff dealt with it immediately and there was no issue! Would definitely stay here again, fabulous! Worth the extra money for the Executive room!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingTurtle2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Very convenient & practical location. Near the centre (10 mins walk) and yet in a quiet and green area. Most important is that the hotel actually straddles 6 underground lines (perfect noise insulation) which means that from the underground train station you can practically walk into the reception without exiting the train station. (Very useful in winter!). Car Park below hotel, another plus. Direct 25 min ride to Munich Airport which is again tremendously convenient having in mind that there is no need to exit the station. Hotel is typical Hilton high standard. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room spacious with very good noise insulation and with all the amenities as expected. Excellent food and very good all round service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaymanRedGuard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I don't know where to start from arrival over good rooms, a fantastic executive lounge with a balcony, the lovely restaurant where you get great food down to their own underground station, yes you get out of the underground and after a few steps enter the hotel lift. What a service. Best of all a direct line to the airport. From the hotel we walked most of the time to the city which did not take us that long. If you are in a hurry take the underground, bus or taxi.The staff is very friendly and cannot do more to make you feel welcome and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed out time which was completed by the snow. Give it a try the hotel will not disappoint you. During the winter season we had even a Christmas Market very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverHartmann, Management Assistant at Hilton Munich City, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Dear SouthDevon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your valuable thoughts about your recent stay at the Hilton Munich City.

We are delighted to have read about contributing a great deal towards you experiencing a wonderful stay in our beautiful city. Thank you also for mentioning the ideal airport connection as well as the direct access to the suburban trains. It sure does make travelling more comfortable.

Great to see that you enjoyed the comfort of our elegant Executive Lounge and in addition, appreciated the level of service you received throughout the hotel. We always strive to fulfill and exceed our guests expectations.

We would find great pleasure in welcoming you back to the Hilton Munich City very soon.

Until then, we thank you once again for your feedback and remain,

With best regards

Bart Felix
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed for three nights at the Hilton Munich City while visiting Munich and surrounding areas. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and spacious. There was a slight funky smell in one of our two rooms while the fan was on, but we got used to it. The king size beds were very comfortable, can't say about the other sizes. The breakfast buffet had plenty of options for our family of five with three picky eaters ages 8, 9 and 11. Location was great- 10 minute walk (15 with the kids) to the Marienplatz. Subway station in the basement was even better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Travellers1263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Well located at UBahn station which makes commuting round the city easy. 2 stops (5 mins) from the centre and direct line to the airport.
Arrived early and the room was not ready however appreciated the offer of refreshment whilst the room was prepared. Room upgraded without cost to an executive room which allowed access to executive lounge providing complimentary snacks and drinks throughout the day and a complementary continental breakfast if required.
Facilities in the room were first class, excellent working area although think internet access could be improved......Free Wifi in all rooms would be better.
Nice touch within 30 mins of having access to room, Hotel provided chocolates, fruit and complimentary water delivered to the room.
Hilton Breakfast as ever perfect start to the day. Stayed one night this time. Booked for a week in October for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PenguinoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I stayed here in 2007 and almost nothing had changed, not even the staff members. That is a good thing. This hotel is the choice for flight crews from numerous airlines. It is connected to an S Bahn stop. This makes getting around easy. The hotel is walking distance to the Isar river, Marienplatz and numerous parks.

My stay was very comfortable. The rooms are bright and very clean. There were a lot of noisy kids in the hallway and in the morning it was full of garbage. Once in the room it was quiet and no problem. Breakfast was also good with a lot of choices and prepared well. Great service too. Besides being put in a bad wing of the hotel, the only thing negative is the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#59 of 389 in Munich
2,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.2 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#51 of 389 in Munich
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#76 of 389 in Munich
1,267 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
1.7 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#43 of 389 in Munich
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich City

Address: Rosenheimer Str. 15, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Munich
#43 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#67 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#76 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $118 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Munich City provides modern accomodation in the heart of Munich, with a direct train link to the aiport and the main station. The shopping mile at the Marienplatz ist just a ten minutes walk away. Business centre, 2 restaurants, café, bar, 24h gym, room service - the hotel offers the full range of services for the business and leisure guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Munich City Hotel Munich
Munich Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing