We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely birthday meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt

Salt
Ranked #90 of 3,431 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, German, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife's birthday so I wanted somewhere different but walkable from our hotel and found this on Tripadvisor. Did not book but not too busy on a Monday night and we had a table downstairs. The menu is a la carte but you can have 3 courses for 40€, 4 for 48€ etc. We had the three course option, the food was wonderful, very helpful waiter matched wines for each course from the excellent selection and we had a really good time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Number34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    38
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“5 stars ++++++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I ABSOLUTELY HAVE TO RETURN THE FAVOUR TO TRIPADVISOR FOR THIS RESTO.

This was the best dining experience we had in our 5 day trip around Bavaria (Munich, Garmisch, Salzburg, Linz).

EXCELLENT FOOD and probably the BEST SERVICE i have ever experienced in Europe. Period. I've been to over 20 cities in Europe, and i can say that this place has got the right idea. To the waiter that took care of us, you really made it a memorable evening for us.

Pros
Reasonable prices for pretty much central Munich (3 courses for 40 euro)
Trendy spot
Reservations accepted and very easy even for a friday night
Waiters spoke English super well
Very tasty and visually appealing dishes
Great cocktail list and wines
Nice location in a courtyard with a fountain, close to the city center (5 min cab out)
REALLY IMPRESSIVE SERVICE

I have to make a point here of the service:
The waiter, a young guy that's half Greek (so you know who to look out for), went out of his way to make sure we were accommodated for. It seemed like he was like this with all clients. Some of the nice gestures that we appreciated were making us requested drinks off the menu, amending meals to suit our tastes, cancelling our last main course without any sort of issue, bringing us extras if we asked for them without any qualms, etc. He even brought me a whole extra carafe of wine free of charge because my sangria (off the menu item) wasnt strong enough. I was just impressed.

For the food, we had the following meals:
Gazpacho with croquettes
Veal tenderloin with truffel risotto
Artichoke ravioli with lamb
Beef steak with potatoes

All were perfectly cooked, very tasty. The food here is kinda mediterranean/international. We went to Tantris the night before (2 michelin stars), paid twice the price, but enjoyed the ambiance and food at this restaurant more. I recommend this place for friends or couples. I don't see it as a family type place though...

If you're asking yourself about this place, don't. Just go. Youre doing yourself a favor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very friendly waiters provided me with attentive service, and each mouthful was delectable. A nice plaza location within easy walking distance from the main train station - and an oasis for a foodie. They had an english menu, and multi-course deals. It was so good, I went back the next night and was welcomed like a regular

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WarwickBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed a business dinner with several colleagues. It was great to be offered the choice of English menus by a friendly waiter.

The food was tasty and very well presented.

Overall, a lovely experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Okay for value, surprised by such good reviews.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went here with the family. Someone recent said that the four course is €40 so we were surprised to see the three course was €30. Intermediate menu was very good, but we were disappointed with our main entree. Prices for the main entrees ranged from 26€ + and while the presentation and service was excellent, the food was subpar from our experience. Restaurant had a great design and was quite casual. Desert was also not very good for the price. Kind of surprised that the reviews were so good, but maybe we just had a poor experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing