We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, new, stylish hotel in a dullish part of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rilano Hotel Munich
Ranked #175 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We spent a weekend here and found this hotel to be just perfect. Reliable Wifi access (I think free) allowed me to work one morning, rooms were a good size, dinner at the restaurant was extremely good (one of the best steaks I've ever had) even though we arrived late and shortly before the restaurant was about to close. Breakfast was also good and the staff were friendly, polite and well homoured in a way we Brits (or maybe just my wife) like to joke about the the Germans not being capable of! Staff even provided me with a UK adaptor for my laptop, which really surprised me given nearly all the guests were German. The only issue was the hotel's distance from downtown Munich. The U-Bahn is about 10 minutes walk, and this didn't seem the most exciting part of "hip and trendy" Scwabing and reminded me of Canary Wharf.

One tip. If heading to the airport, and you want to avoid the expensive taxis, don't get the airport train from the city centre. Instead get a northbound bus from outside the hotel (ask reception but think it was a number 5) 20 mins to Johanneskirchen or Unterfhoring which are half way up the S8 line and jump on the airport train there. It's quicker, cheaper and more convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie M, Manager at The Rilano Hotel Munich, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Dear Xoan,

thank you so much for your positive feedback. It´s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Rilano Hotel München - we will forward your comment to our team. You are quite right - the hotel is not situated dowwntown - but the city center is easy and very quick reachable by public transportation. Either subway, tram or bus.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon in one of our Rilano Hotels & Resorts.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 160 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2011

Tucked away in the middle of Domagstrasße is this nice 5* to rival big name brands like Renaissance and Marriott. Executive rooms are reasonable large, modern, clean and very comfortable as is the en-suite.

The breakfast bar is fairly comprehensive in the hotel's restaurant - all self service, even the cappuccino/espresso machine. They have a bar operating till late in the evening. The service is GREAT - they remembered my name each time we fronted at reception or at breakfast!!

Four minor issues remain, although solutions were available:
- The shower door does now cover the lower quarter of the body, which is normally fine, except for the mini flood which soaks the carpet right outside the bathroom. Perhaps something will be done here. We used a towel to jam to doorspace each time we have a shower to prevent the overflow from reaching the nice carpets.
- no U-bahn stations nearby, even if the area is served by bus routes.
- WiFi and cabled internet is free if you're patient but not good enough if you have large downloads. You can "upgrade" for 10 EUR or 12.50 EUR for the high speed limited or limitless versions for 24 hours .. lower pricing is available if you require 1 or 5 hours respectively.
- Parking was at 12 EUR / day or complementary with room but you'll have to visit reception each time you wish to exit the parking space... they are working on a "season pass" solution during my visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie M, Manager at The Rilano Hotel Munich, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Dear hanra,

thank you for your detailed and positive feedback. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay at The Rilano Hotel München.

The subway station is a 7 minutes walk from the hotel, very close is the tram - you can reach the station within a few minutes and in front of the hotels you find the bus stop.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon in one of our Rilano Hotels & Resorts.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

An elegant hotel with a sophisticated luxury! When I arrived at the hotel the staff was so friendly and helpful. The check-in was fast, and the staff showed me to my suite and helped me with the luggage! The suite was spacious and had a modern and elegant interior and design. When I entered the room I was welcomed with a petite plate of fruit and petits fours, and of course, a welcome card. The wardrobe had a clean and modern design in dark wood, and the size was surprisingly large. The bathroom was modern and ad good space. The bathtub had a nice size.

In the suite there is two televisions, one work desk of good size, a sitting group in the living room ++. There is an extra toilet in the entrance area and a huge and comfy bed!

I would said that this is one of the best choices for business and leisure travellers, though the hotel isn’t in the centrum of Munich. There is no problem of getting to the centrum.
The U-bahn (Metro) is a 7 min walk from the hotel, and it only takes 13 minutes with the U-bahn and you are in the middle of Munich centrum!

The only minus is the view from the suite and the distance to centrum, the last mentioned is only a problem when you are tired and stuffed with delicious Bavarian food. Since the top floor is located in the 5th floor, you can see rooftops of some business buildings.

All in all i want to give this hotel 9 out of 10 points.

A big thank you to the hotel staff, and a wonderful experience at the Worldhotel The Rilano Munich! 

I will defiantly recommend this hotel to other business and leisure travellers.

IQ Locks AS and I will defiantly use this hotel again.

Best regards,
 
NICOLAS HOLDA
 
Business Development Manager
 
IQ Locks A/S
 
Bygdoy Allé 37
 
 
P.O. BOX 2851 - Solli                       
NO-0230 Oslo
NORWAY
 
E: holda@iqlocks.no
 
www.iqlocks.com
 
Please note: Postal address, and visiting address has ben changed.
The above businessaddress will take effect from March 1st 2011.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, and don't be affraid to ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Thank MichiEckl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rilanohotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Rilano Hotel Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Pierant0ni0P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rilanohotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Rilano Hotel Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank hmfranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rilanohotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Rilano Hotel Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 mi away
Rilano 24/7 Hotel Munich
Rilano 24/7 Hotel Munich
#200 of 389 in Munich
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Muenchen Parkstadt Schwabing
3.5 mi away
Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City
Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City
#233 of 389 in Munich
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich
2.8 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City Olympiapark
0.2 mi away
Novotel Suites Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rilano Hotel Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rilano Hotel Munich

Address: Domagkstrasse 26, 80807 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $96 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rilano Hotel Munich 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star hotel The Rilano Hotel München is located in the new office center "Parkstadt Schwabing" in the district Schwabing. In the immediate neighborhood you will also find the Allianz Arena, the BMW World, the Olympic Park as well as the event arena "Zenith". The City Center and Marienplatz are easy and fast to reach by using the direct tube or tram connections. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. The 140 rooms and 10 suites are air-conditioned and include a flat-screen TV, coffee and tea making facilities, floor-to-ceiling windows, free minibar, private bath, safe and hairdryer. All rooms are designed in soft beige and brown colours and feature free high-speed Internet access, Wi-fi is available in all public areas of the hotel. Our restaurant Vitello serves fish and meat specialties and in our MammaMinuti you can enjoy delicious pasta, salads and soups. The cozy Jazz Bar and our Coffee Fellows complete the culinary offering. In summer you can enjoy the sunny terrace. The Rilano Hotel München is a 4-minute drive from the A9 motorway and a 20-minute drive from Munich Airport. We offer a charged shuttle transfer from the airport to the hotel. Within a 10-minute walk you reach the large English Garden Park and the Alte Heide Underground Station. The M.O.C. is only 3 km and the Messe München only 12 km from the hotel. With a total of 700 sqm event location the hotel is ideal for your meeting, conference or personal celebration with up to 600 persons. A business center free of charge is available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rilano Hotel Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing