We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good for a short visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum
Ranked #29 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for a short visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

It its the kind of low budget but well designed, modern hotel. Good location, near Deutsches Museum, besides the Isar river and a 5 min walk from S-Bahn (the line to the airport).The staff speaks English, is efficient and helpful. Wi Fi is good. The room is simple, clean and comfortable enough. It has only some shelves for your clothes, and a tiny space for your baggage. It has also a pretty and ample common area, if you are in the mood. The breakfast buffet (the "European" one) is good, specially considering that there are not other options nearby. It has a really attractive, flat tarif. Good for a short visit, or if you prefer to spend your money at museums and restos.

Room Tip: It is a chain, so if you don´t find a room, there are many other, I suppose similar options through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndanteModerato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    446
    107
    14
    6
See reviews for
104
310
51
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic, quiet location, just accross the river from the main square and close to neighbourhoods with lovely cafes and bars. The staff were helpful and check in was quick. Our room was compact but had everything we needed and the shower room was fantastically designed. If you had lots of luggage, you may struggle! Breakfast was excellent and worth the price. The nearby art nouveau public baths are worth a visit-you can even get a massage there if, like us, you were returning from a week of exertion on the slopes!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonRFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a great find ! Very comfortable rooms,excellent service and reasonable price . Located within a short walk to the S Bahn and to museum and the market , I found this Hotel good value. The room was well serviced and the lounge,bar and breakfast area very comfortable.
I realy enjoyed my stay at the Motel One ,and for business in and around Munich it was in a good location and free wifi ! Having stayed at the Holiday Inn just down the road ,this hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NairobiJeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A nice small hotel, not much of luxury. Prices very attractive, location is close to the holiday in and the Deutsches Museum, but luxury as kept as a minimum level. Rooms are very small, still nice and clean, staff is friendly, and breakfast was included.

However, it was the only hotel I have stayed in which don't provide soar in the washrooms! (Body lotion for shower was there)

All in all, excellent value for a low budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Motel One is a stylish, no frills motel chain in Germany. The location (near Deutches Museum) means easy access to the Isar river (chill beer in the river while u relax nude), and close to the S-bahn. No views to speak of though.

The positives:
-lots of communal space (decorated very stylishly) to relax and lounge around. They seem to encourage people to mingle and spend time there, rather than as mere decorative spaces.
-very good breakfast buffet (for Europe), plenty of options including boiled eggs
-clean, tidy, well-run, good prices

the negatives:
-tiny rooms. I mean tiny. If you have a large suitcase, I don't know where you could put it. No wardrobe, just a small clothes bar to hang coats. Once you hang two coats and put in two hand-carry luggage, there is no more room.
-sometimes can be noisy if there are guests looking for a cheap place to "party". Depends on your luck. I've stayed here 3 times and it was noisy one time.

Room Tip: ask if there is a big group. If there is, ask to be far away from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My company booked me here for just over a week. The rooms are extremely clean and the service desk help were excellent, and the free Wifi was always solid if not exceptional. It is great if you are planning on staying for a night or two, but I wouldn't recommend it for a longer stay.

The room is simple and spartan, but after a couple of days the flaws in this come through. There is no chest-of-drawers, just a set of shelves by the bed. So when you accumulate dirty laundry it's either on the shelf or in your suitcase. There's no stand for a suitcase btw. There's also no laundry service available. A *small* vial of liquid soap is all you get for washing up -- I ended up buying a bar of soap from a local store. There's no telephone, so no early-morning wake-up call. The breakfast buffet is good, but it is all cold cuts, cereal or bread rolls -- this gets monotonous fast, and there is no option for a hot breakfast.

I don't want to knock this place too much because it is not designed for a long stay, but I definitely would not recommend for any stay over a couple of days maximum. It is good for what it is, and the location is decent, and it is extremely clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptMondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Both the bedroom and bathroom are quite small and there is not wardrobe for clothes, just some shelves. However I would recommend it for its convenient location. I highly recommend taking the breakfast, its great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettycontent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel
1.4 mi away
Motel One Muenchen City Sued
1.1 mi away
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#60 of 395 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 2,204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum

Property: Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum
Address: Rablstr. 2, 81669, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#30 Business Hotel in Munich
#44 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#47 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum 3*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum Hotel Munich
Motel 1 Munchen-Deutsches Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing