We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect a soap in your room... Your only paying Euro 65”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum
Ranked #29 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A nice small hotel, not much of luxury. Prices very attractive, location is close to the holiday in and the Deutsches Museum, but luxury as kept as a minimum level. Rooms are very small, still nice and clean, staff is friendly, and breakfast was included.

However, it was the only hotel I have stayed in which don't provide soar in the washrooms! (Body lotion for shower was there)

All in all, excellent value for a low budget hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Motel One is a stylish, no frills motel chain in Germany. The location (near Deutches Museum) means easy access to the Isar river (chill beer in the river while u relax nude), and close to the S-bahn. No views to speak of though.

The positives:
-lots of communal space (decorated very stylishly) to relax and lounge around. They seem to encourage people to mingle and spend time there, rather than as mere decorative spaces.
-very good breakfast buffet (for Europe), plenty of options including boiled eggs
-clean, tidy, well-run, good prices

the negatives:
-tiny rooms. I mean tiny. If you have a large suitcase, I don't know where you could put it. No wardrobe, just a small clothes bar to hang coats. Once you hang two coats and put in two hand-carry luggage, there is no more room.
-sometimes can be noisy if there are guests looking for a cheap place to "party". Depends on your luck. I've stayed here 3 times and it was noisy one time.

Room Tip: ask if there is a big group. If there is, ask to be far away from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My company booked me here for just over a week. The rooms are extremely clean and the service desk help were excellent, and the free Wifi was always solid if not exceptional. It is great if you are planning on staying for a night or two, but I wouldn't recommend it for a longer stay.

The room is simple and spartan, but after a couple of days the flaws in this come through. There is no chest-of-drawers, just a set of shelves by the bed. So when you accumulate dirty laundry it's either on the shelf or in your suitcase. There's no stand for a suitcase btw. There's also no laundry service available. A *small* vial of liquid soap is all you get for washing up -- I ended up buying a bar of soap from a local store. There's no telephone, so no early-morning wake-up call. The breakfast buffet is good, but it is all cold cuts, cereal or bread rolls -- this gets monotonous fast, and there is no option for a hot breakfast.

I don't want to knock this place too much because it is not designed for a long stay, but I definitely would not recommend for any stay over a couple of days maximum. It is good for what it is, and the location is decent, and it is extremely clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptMondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Both the bedroom and bathroom are quite small and there is not wardrobe for clothes, just some shelves. However I would recommend it for its convenient location. I highly recommend taking the breakfast, its great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettycontent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Everything you need is there, nothing extra just the essential. Pleasent and fast service. No minibar. :) checkout at checkin! :) Location is good. Breakfast smooth and well planned. Simple and smart solutions.... Everywhere! :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Busy hotel as its very good value. Rooms are comfortable and clean but without mini bar or tea & coffee. Nice new quality TV but annoyingly kept switching on when you walk in or when it felt like it to a tacky channel showing a fire place, which incidentally also played all day in the lobby.
breakfast was fine considering the good value of the room, but quite basic and the usual cheese and ham stuff you get in Germany.
free wifi good enough for youtube but you do seem to have to log in 4 times a day.
Bar staff don't like you having a tab so you have to pay after every drink.
Great location

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Great location, clean, functional rooms. Everything as it should be plus the price is ok. There is also the option of brekfast against a reasonable surcharge. The breakfast is simple but nice. There is also good wifi and a nice lounge to have few drinks in the evening. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arben72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.4 mi away
Motel One Muenchen City Sued
0.0 mi away
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#48 of 385 in Munich
2,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.7 mi away
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum

Address: Rablstr. 2, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#30 Business Hotel in Munich
#44 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#47 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $108 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum 3*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Munchen-Deutsches Museum
Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing