We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typically Bavarian!”
Review of Hirschgarten

Hirschgarten
Ranked #3 of 207 Nightlife in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With seating for over 9,000 people, Hirschgarten is the largest beer garden in all of Europe.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Typically Bavarian!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I doubt that the Hirschgarten is worth the trip out of the city (not far!, and easily combined with Nymphenburg Palace, unless you would like to see an enormous Beer Garden, and see lots of real Bavarians, having a wonderful time. This is, of course possible closer to Munich, in the Bier Kellers, and in the English Garden too.
The Hirschgarten is amazing, - the largest, and in a park like atmosphere, with lots of trees.
Quieter during the day, you can take your picnic, and just buy the beer, or try typical rustical Bavarian food. Even watching the Waitress, carry lots of the big beer glasses, without spilling any beer, is amazing.
Not being a beer drinker, I went along in a party of Germans, and had a wonderful time.
It is very noisy, and packed on summer evenings, and parking close by, is impossible.
Walking through, during the day, and enjoying watching the deer, - I loved it!
If you go out to see Nymphenburg Palace, you can walk across to the Hirschgarten in minutes.
Weekends are very very busy in the summertime, and it can be very hot, if you go in the evening, try to arrive by about 6pm latest, so you can find somewhere with tree shade!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelBean024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    62
    13
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
449 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Wish t was summer”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Went to the Hirschtgarden in the middle of October , nice dy sat outside and enjoyed a beer .
Hall inside look great , wish I was here when the outdoor action is happening I'm sure it's great !
Mike

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Bier!!!!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

After many hours of reading tripadvisor and planning our trip I put this place on the radar. Wasn't dissapointed with the atmosphere. I am not a big drinker, but I did have a light beer that I truly enjoyed. We were there a week before Oktoberfest, so the major crowds wasn't there. We really liked the animal park, seeing the deer and rams. You have to go here, it is wonderfull

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hurstdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best and largest Beergarden in Munich”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Most have heard about the famous beergarden culture in Bavaria and especially Munich.
Sitting outside in the largest beergarden of Munich (some thousand seats) underneath cooling trees. enjoying great beer and food this is what you will find in the Hirschgarten close to Nymphenburg castle. It is a must see and must visit if you wanna enjoy bavarian life .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best beer garten”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I think this is the best beer garden in Munich. Good food, very good Munich beer. What need more!? Thanks for the Sban Hirschgarten station, its easy reach from the city center.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Balazs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hirschgarten also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Hirschgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing