We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #244 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We went for a long weekend for the Xmas Markets so didn't stay in the hotel for much of our stay, though it was a very comfortable place to stay. We were allowed to check in 3 hours early and stayed on the 1st floor smoking room, facing the main road with traffic throughout the day but due to the double glazing we couldn't hear a thing. The room was very warm with good central heating, hot water everytime, big clean spacious double room. Can't really complain about this hotel and will stay again. The only thing I would say was that it would have been nice to have a kettle in the room to make a hot drink, but that wasn't a real bother.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamster8340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 884 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2010

I was travelling through Munich arriving by plane and departing on a train the next day. The hotel is virtually across from the main station hence very convenient for travellers. I had a single room, arrived late and left early. The room was very small. Ok if you only sleep there but spending some time there is anything from nice. It’s clean however, and the noise is bearable. Staff is efficient. I would stay there again when travelling through Munich, as it’s convenient and cost effective, but not for any other visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpenbewohner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Just a few observations that should paint a clear picture of this hotel:
- Our room had questionable stains all over the carpet
- Lovely view of the all-night parking garage
- Directly across from the Hauptbahnhof
- The minifridge was empty; you had to buy beer from the front desk
- The television cost money to use at all
- Elevators constructed in 1972; presumably for the Olympics - I don't think anything has been updated since (certainly not cleaned)

Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahamdubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Stayed at the Hotel Ludwig (which has now changed it's name to Winter's Hotel). While it is centrally located across the street from the main train station, the hotel is not the best in service. On my arrival, I was greeted by a very gruff older gentleman working the front desk. He wasn't friendly in his greeting, and he gave me a key to room 401. When I went to the room, I found the door open, trash on the floor, towels on the bathroom floor and an unmade bed. I returned to the front desk where I told him about what I had found. He said it was too bad. The hotel was full the night before, and "anyway, you are early. Check-in is at 3P, so the room doesn't have to be ready". Then I asked about the advertised "high speed internet". He said that it was available in the lobby area only. I asked how to access it, and he said "it's easy". When I could not get connected, he threw a handwritten sheet in English in front of me that told me how to connect. The rest of the staff was not particularly warm. The best things about the property are its location, the full breakfast every morning and the cleanliness. There are many choice around the main train station, and I will NOT return to this property.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The name of this hotel has changed to Winter's hotel. Have stayed here four times before and find this a very acceptable choice in Munich. the location is perfect, breakfast is very varied and the beds are very comfortable. My one criticism is that on our second night, the bar off the lobby was turned into a private cigar smokers pub. The entire hotel, even the 6th floor where our room was, reeked. it was gone by the next morning, but it made us think that perhaps we wouldn't stay there again if this were repeated

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank germanVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

This hotel is a nice and small one. It is situated near the train station and at about 10-15 min. walk from the city center.

Because of the position, it is a little bit of noise as tram 17N passe by and works all night long.

The breakfast is very good. Even though the room is quite small, we had many dishes to choose from.

There is also internet connection. :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anny1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Being close to public transport is a boon in Europe, and Ludwig Hotel is just that ! off the platforms of the Munich Main train station, the saving on cabs and walk time will be hugely felt !

The staff are courteous and the complimentary breakfast is well spread!

Ensure proper reservation as this seems to be a very popular hotel in its class.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akreddy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#120 of 390 in Munich
898 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#303 of 390 in Munich
286 reviews
7.3 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Litty's Hotel
Litty's Hotel
#274 of 390 in Munich
203 reviews
0 mi away
Creatif Hotel Elephant
Creatif Hotel Elephant
#203 of 390 in Munich
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#269 of 390 in Munich
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof

Address: Arnulfstr. 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Winters Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $60 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bavarian state capital and high technology metropolis is a prosperous European city by the beautiful Isar and offers visitors a variety of interesting attractions such as the Frauenkirche, Pinakothek, Hofbräuhaus, Allianz-Arena or the famous Viktualienmarkt.The Winters Hotel München · Am Hauptbahnhof is located in the heart of the city and right at the main railway station. It is just a few steps away from the historic Marienplatz. The world-famous Oktoberfest can also be reached on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing