We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable well situated Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #198 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A comfortable well situated Hotel”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I arrived at the Hotel on Sunday 29th June and found the young man on the Reception to be somewhat unwelcoming but he was in strict contrast to all the remaining Reception and Restaurant Staff. The Hotel is superbly situated opposite the Hauptbanhof and within two minutes walk of excellent Radius Tours. I was travelling alone and the room was adequate, clean and well mainatined. I would agree with another review which stated that towels were changed daily even if you left them on the towel rail. I would also agree that the room was hot and I slept with the window open but luckily I did not have excessively hot weather during my stay.
The breakfast was very satisfactory and the restaurant staff friendly and efficient.
This was my second visit to Munich and I doubt that I will be returning in the near future but have in mind to visit Berlin and use the Winter Chain of Hotels in that City.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room but from the layout of the Hotel, it would appear that there were only room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BathDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven F, Receptionist at Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear BathDaniel,

thanks alot for your detailed review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Winters Hotel Muenchen am Hauptbahnhof. We hope to accommodate you again in Berlin.

Best regards and safe travels.
The Winters Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    313
    275
    92
    59
See reviews for
138
318
77
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel locates directly opposite the Munich Central Station (Hauptbahnhof), which is a great advantage for convenience.

However the cost of the room may be too high for travellers expecting a lower cost. The room price was about 100EUR per night but the room was quite disappointing. Thanks to Tripadvisor, we have requested a room facing the back, and it was facing a car park. Occasionally there were cars screaming there, but overall the room was quiet enough.

However the room was really small - containing two single beds and a toilet. There was little room for putting the luggage or to relax.

During our stay in the hotel, Munich was suffering from hot weather - always above 30 degrees Celsius during daytime. The room had no air-conditioning, which was quite hard for the both of us.

We didn't have our breakfast at the hotel, as Hauptbahnhof and its surrounding areas are busy districts which have plenty of restaurants to be chosen with, so we chose to have our breakfast outside.

Room Tip: Facing the back is vitally important. The side facing Hauptbahnhof is pretty noisy as the station ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oesophagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven F, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Oesophagus,

thank you for taking the time to comment in such great detail about our hotel. We were happy to read that you found the hotel clean with a great location. However, we also noticed your comments that were not so positive for us. Regarding the size of the room we are sorry that it did not fullfil the expectations. We have various roomsizes from 14 sqm to 45 sqm at different roomrates . The smallest rooms enable us to keep those room rates at a very affordable level, because even though the rate seemed high to you we yield our daily best rates very carefully and make sure you always have the best available rate according to the occupation to the market. We would, however be very pleased to welcome you again upon your next visit in Munich so that we could deliver the service that you expect.
thank you again

best regards
the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I really enjoyed our 4 nights at this hotel.
It was right opposite the central station, you couldn't miss it. There is an ALDI and a REWE around the corner to grab any bits you might need, too.
The staff were welcoming, and we went straight up to our room which was not facing the train station, and we were in an end room.
There room itself was exactly what we had expected for a central 3* hotel- nothing to write home about but perfect for a budget city break. There were 3 beds in the room, and it was cleaned daily to a high standard. There is a sign in the bathroom saying if you wish for your towels to be washed put them in the bath, to help save the environment. Every day I got fresh towels, even when I said I didn't need new ones. One day the cleaner was in my room and I told him not to change the towels and save the environment, and he STILL changed them. This was a little confusing.
Overall I would recommend this to friends looking for a cheap stay in Munich city centre. I would also stay here again if I went back, which I'm sure I will.
While we didn't try breakfast (12€ per night!) or go to the bar, the whole hotel was great from what we saw.

There was one negative about my whole experience in this hotel- the HEAT. There is no air conditioning and the room was so hot at night times it woke us up. We ended up having to sleep with the window open, which is fine until drunken people decide to sing past your window in the early hours. Aircon would be a great addition.

While in Munich you can use your public transport ticket on trams, S Bahns and U Bahns. In the main station you can buy a 'PartnerTicket' day pass for up to 4 adults for €11.60. Great for getting around.
If you are looking for a way to get from the airport to town, Lufthansa bus goes straight to the main station for €17 return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjllh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven F, Manager at Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear vjllh,

thank you very much for such a detailed review. We are very well aware that this takes a considerable effort from your side and we thank you very much for your time. Of course we are particularly pleased about the positive comments. Although we take those that are not so considerably for our hotel very serious. Rest assured that after thorough internal research, we take the necessary steps to correct the issue whenever possible! Thanks again for all your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you again as our guest.
best regards
the managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We arrived at this hotel for business purposes in April and was pleasantly surprised .
Staff lovely and friendly and remembered I was a coeliac and my gluten free bread was always offered at the breakfast table and any other choices available, and a great choice of foods.
The room was small but adequate and it could do with a little fridge which would fit under the table easily and a room safe in the clothes cupboard and it would be better than the 5* hotel we stayed in a month later in Munich ! The fridges could be hired out on a wkly basis , and due to the security problems in hotels the safe should be a standard commodity.
Only problem we found was when a coach load of students arrive you have to be down early for breakfast as they were like a swarm of locusts and it was gone very quickly !
The window opened onto the road facing the train station but was great to have fresh air .
Service 5* definitely come back here again especially if they have a room safe and fridge .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbean48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven F, Manager at Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear oldbean48,

first off we would like to thank you for your detailed review. We are very well aware that this takes a considerable effort from your side and we thank you very much for your time.
Of course we are particularly pleased about the positive comments. Although we take those that are not so considerably for our hotel very serious. Rest assured that after thorough internal research, we take the necessary steps to correct the issue whenever possible!
We would, however be very pleased to welcome you again upon your next visit in Munich.
thank you again
the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself was clean and staff very polite. My only objection and something to look out for is the price. On arrival we were told this was the only room left at 149e. After a day out and about we arrived back at the hotel to find they were advertising the rooms at 79e per night. So my advise is make sure you book online in advance to make sure you get proper rate. Apart from that it was fine.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eastkilbride13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven F, Manager at Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Eastkilbride13,

thanks alot for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to write this review! We are very well aware that this takes a considerable effort from your side and we thank you very much for your time.
Regarding the different rates we can assure you that we always offer you the best avaibale rate and of course as you noted it is very imporatant to book early to get the best rates. The day you payed more was probably a very busy day in munich and our hotel therefor the price level raises. Nontheless we hope to welcome you again in our hotel upon your next travel to munich.
best regards
Sven Fischer
Electronic Distribution Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very polite and helpful staff. Good breakfast and clean, even though quite on the small size rooms.
Location is great, as just on the other side of the road from the main train station and 10-15 mins walk to the city centre.
Would stay there again if we are to visit Munich.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven F, Manager at Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Monika531,

We thank you very much for your time and effort to rate our Winters Hotel Munich am Hauptbahnhof in such great detail. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and helpful and the rooms to be clean. We were happy to read that you found the hotel was in a great location. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

best regards
the managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Just returned from this hotel and would have to say that it is perfectly situated to explore Munich,but rooms are small and not particularly clean.Breakfast was good as long as you were up before 7.30am afterwards we found the breakfast buffet was very restricted ie not topped up.Overall very average

Room Tip: Get up early for breakfast to avoid dissappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amba
Hotel Amba
#332 of 382 in Munich
710 reviews
0.0 mi away
Creatif Hotel Elephant
Creatif Hotel Elephant
#208 of 382 in Munich
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
#178 of 382 in Munich
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#128 of 382 in Munich
837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regent
Hotel Regent
#296 of 382 in Munich
1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof

Property: Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
Address: Arnulfstr. 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Winters Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bavarian state capital and high technology metropolis is a prosperous European city by the beautiful Isar and offers visitors a variety of interesting attractions such as the Frauenkirche, Pinakothek, Hofbräuhaus, Allianz-Arena or the famous Viktualienmarkt.The Winters Hotel München · Am Hauptbahnhof is located in the heart of the city and right at the main railway station. It is just a few steps away from the historic Marienplatz. The world-famous Oktoberfest can also be reached on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing