We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located and maintained hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #249 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Lufthansa airport bus stops across the street from the hotel. My next day excursion's departure point was just 2 minutes walk from the hotel. And when I checked out it took me just 2 minutes to reach the platform where my train was waiting for the departure.

I've asked for a quiet room and was given a one with a window to the backyard. Everything is impeccably clean. The breakfast is plentiful, there even were full-size sausage of 2 varieties, not the usual minis.

Obviously, the team is doing all that can be done to get the best from this property.

I would have given the hotel 5 stars if I had followed an advise and booked a double room even if I travel by myself. Because the single rooms are really tiny, they are like prison cells in some very civilzed country's jail. That was the first time in my life that I was staying in a space so constricting.

So just spend a few euros more, get yourself a bigger room and enjoy this modest but ideally located and maintained hotel.

Room Tip: Book a DBL even if you travel alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander_Suraev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 876 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Very clean room. Nice hot shower. Helpful staff at Reception. Ideal central location for shops, restaurants, train station. Very good choice of breakfast in pleasant dining room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinaBergerac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a triple room and the room was very clean. Heaters were available but no aircon however a window did open. Free wifi like most of Europe. Around a 15 min walk to the city centre. The location was great right opposite the train station

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AhBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel is very centrally located and also opposite Munich Hauptbankhof. Very close to Marienplatz and within walking distance to other places of interest. Breakfast is great and varied and will surely please the tastes of most people. My room being single was rather too small but then I wasn't going to spend my visit to Munich there. It was comfortable and clean and served its purpose fully. I recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Munich.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fremeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location opposite Munich central station just a 10 minute stroll to Marienplatz. It was excellent value with a great buffet style Continental breakfast with a few hot items too. The bar was reasonably priced for a beer in the afternoon and our room was large and clean.

The one thing that I would point out is that breakfast is until 11am on weekends but only 10am weekdays, the recptionist didn't tell us that and we almost missed breakfast on Monday morning.

The Augustiner Keller beer garden is a 5-10 minute walk in the opposite direction of the town centre. It's a huge outdoor area with a self service area and a served area, the staff are friendly and it's amazing to watch them carrying 12 or more steins at once. Well worth a visit!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

It's difficult to find fault with this hotel. We booked for a 3 night budget break. The location was great for travel in and out of the city. We found the staff friendly and helpful, everything was spotless and the breakfast was great. OK the room wasn't huge but the beds were incredibly comfortable. Who wants to spend time in a hotel room anyway? Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kentishdorit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in room 205 which is at the front of the hotel. We didn't find it too noisy when window was closed. The room was clean and adequate for our needs and it's central location, opposite the HBf was excellent. Breakfast was good with the usual continetal selection, cold meats, cheeses etc. yoghurts, cereals, and a hot selection of sausages, scrambled egg and boiled egg Tea, coffee and cold drinks plus fruit.

The reception staff were very helpful with any requests we had. I am happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jockuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 mi away
Creatif Hotel Elephant
Creatif Hotel Elephant
#199 of 389 in Munich
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#127 of 389 in Munich
885 reviews
7.3 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Amba
Hotel Amba
#354 of 389 in Munich
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#266 of 389 in Munich
742 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#291 of 389 in Munich
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof

Address: Arnulfstr. 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Winters Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $61 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bavarian state capital and high technology metropolis is a prosperous European city by the beautiful Isar and offers visitors a variety of interesting attractions such as the Frauenkirche, Pinakothek, Hofbräuhaus, Allianz-Arena or the famous Viktualienmarkt.The Winters Hotel München · Am Hauptbahnhof is located in the heart of the city and right at the main railway station. It is just a few steps away from the historic Marienplatz. The world-famous Oktoberfest can also be reached on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing