We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still like this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #248 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed December 23, 2012

this is probably our fifth or sixth stay at this hotel. previously it had a different name, but the property is still our choice of a reasonably priced hotel in Munich. what we particularly like is the convenient location. it is just across the street from the main train station and steps away from the U-bahn and S-bahn.
during this stay we had a good sized room at the back of the hotel. We thought it would be quiet as it faced a parking garage, which just so happened to be the place we had to drop off our rental car. It certainly wasn't the hotels fault that there was a rowdy crowd on that street late at night.
our room was not ready when we arrived, but they checked our luggage into a secure room - no charge and we left to do some sightseeing. the room was ready when we returned and had just gotten a brand new bathroom, which they had just been finishing up.
we liked our room - it was adequately sized. We really like the breakfast buffet and the desk clerks couldn't have been nicer. Again, a successful stay,

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank germanVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 876 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

The best breakfasts i have ever had (wide choice of German sausages, sort of German original potato salad, cheeses like camamber and what not, and as we have 5 hours time difference with Germany in winter, it was like a quite sufficient tasty lunch for us as breakfast time in Deutschland is our lunch time)) , rooms are clean, linen - white and fresh, small bathroom, but its just a 3 star in the centre of the city, no high demands... when the window was open it was noisy, cause night club, bus stop and Hauptbahnhof itself were still right under the window)) We liked the place, attitude and everything, Would come there again,15 minutes walk from Marienplatz, and 20 metres from the main railway station to visit Fuessen, Salzburg, Nuernberg and what not)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Olyapka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This Hotel was known as The Ludwig Hotel the last few times that we stayed there and this 3 night break was our first stay since it has changed its name to Winters Hotel. It has been updated to go along with its name change and now also has a Cafe/Bar where you can have snacks or pizzas and a few beers or coffees. The hotel is a typical budget German Hotel with rooms that are very basic, but typical for this type of hotel. If you want luxurious and spacious rooms then you need to look elsewhere. We always pay extra for a comfort room and this is still very basic, I dread to think what a standard room is like. Matress on the floor perhaps? The breakfast at this hotel is substantial and hearty with a good choice and variety of food and no matter how busy the restaurant gets the food never runs out. For best value for money I recommend booking a package that includes breakfast as paying seperately for breakfast for 2 is quite expensive. The best feature of this hotel is its location right next to the Hauptbahnhof (main Raliway station) with a direct S-Bahn link to the airport. If there are 2 or more of you travelling from the airport into town then buy a Partnerkarte which costs 20.40 Euros and gives unlimited travel on the S-Bahn until 6:00AM the next morning for up to 5 people. 2 doors from the Hotel is the Rechthaler Hof which offers typical, very good Bavarian fare and beer at very reasonable prices. If you want to go further afield the Hofbräuhaus is a 20 minute walk or a 2 minute S-Bahn ride away. There are several eating places in the traffic free zone, but they tend to cater mainly for tourists and are thus on the expensive side. From the hotel it is a 5 to 10 minute walk to the traffic free shopping centre and the Christmas Market and you can make this walk without crossing roads by walking through the Haptbahnhof and into the nearby enormous Karstadt department store where you can also get a good lunch for about 6 Euros..

Room Tip: Pay extra for a comfort room and make sure that breakfast is included in the room cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glyndavies47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is not the sort of hotel I would usually book but for 4 nights but sometimes circumstances are beyond our control. Check-in was fine but do not expect to get lucky with an early check-in. Receptionist was curt when I showed up at 12:00. Before I could even say anything, "Rooms are not ready until 2." They will let you leave luggage for a fee which I find cheap if one is checking in, My room was the size of a monk's cell and had 2 single beds. The hotel said this was an "upgrade" so if you are a single traveler get ready for something even smaller. After I saw my room I tried to book something else in the area but everything was full, so I decided to suck it up. By the second day the hotel had grown on me. The bathroom is tiny but has good water temperature and pressure. Excellent in-room wi-fi. Many TV channels but all in German except for the news channels in various languages. The room was clean, bed lumpy. Excellent location for sight seeing downtown Munich. Surprisingly quiet for being so close to the train station. It's a good,clean, safe, economy hotel but the room is tight, especially if you are traveling with someone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoiledtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for 1 night. Good value hotel formerly known as Ludwig and which offered Bed and Breakfast. Basic rooms but functional, clean and with TV with English speaking channels. The bed was really comfy, I was facing the street on the 3rd floor and no excessive road noise.

Staff were very pleasant and could not do enough to help. Bar was spacious and they had good choice. You could order basic meals if required (pizza's etc).

Breakfast the next day was in restaurant and included hot buffet, again staff were very helpful and all spoke English.

Hotel is very central and about 100 metre walk from an entrance to the main rail station. Would definitely recommend this for short stop if you want basic but functional accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylor339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just back from a three night stay. I liked the decor, the rooms were basic but nice and they were spotlessly clean (my biggest priority in any hotel) and had very comfortable beds. Staff were friendly and helpful. It's in a great location for sightseeing in Munich and further afield. It was great to be minutes from the train station after spending the day in Salzburg. Enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again. Free wifi is very handy when looking up places to see etc etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EilSeoighe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I fully reccomend this hotel for any travellers not expecting too much. I have just returned from here I stayed for 4 nights and cant fault it at all. For us English the best way to describe this hotel is just like a Travelodge.
Located on the door step of the main train station, all the tours we booked went from very close to loaction so that was really handy too.
We did not eat or drink here but everywhere was very and tidy.....

Room Tip: The rooms here are basic, but for the price this is an excellent hotel and would return again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pharaohdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 mi away
Creatif Hotel Elephant
Creatif Hotel Elephant
#204 of 389 in Munich
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#127 of 389 in Munich
887 reviews
7.3 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Amba
Hotel Amba
#354 of 389 in Munich
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#267 of 389 in Munich
742 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#292 of 389 in Munich
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof

Address: Arnulfstr. 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Winters Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $60 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bavarian state capital and high technology metropolis is a prosperous European city by the beautiful Isar and offers visitors a variety of interesting attractions such as the Frauenkirche, Pinakothek, Hofbräuhaus, Allianz-Arena or the famous Viktualienmarkt.The Winters Hotel München · Am Hauptbahnhof is located in the heart of the city and right at the main railway station. It is just a few steps away from the historic Marienplatz. The world-famous Oktoberfest can also be reached on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing