We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lipstick on a Pig... don't stay here if Wi-Fi and elevators are important”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #217 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Gotta start this off with I'm not too picky. I like a clean basic hotel in a good location. This is a great location, and is fairly clean, but it stops there. This should be priced as a super budget motel. As a note, we were here 2 weeks after octoberfest, so our issues were not because of crowding and such..

From the get-go, we got here early and didn't expect to check in early, which we couldn't. Asked to check our bags, and were told, yes, just put them in a corner in the lobby and they would take care of them at some point... So needless to say, we left only the bags with our clothes and hauled everything else (passports, computers, etc.. ) around for the day.

Pillows are non existent, and bed is like a rock. It was very warm while we were here too (mid 70's Fahrenheit). There is NO Air-Con in this hotel. The only way to cool off the room is to open the windows, but then you get terrible street noise/smells.. choose your poison. If you are here in the summer, there is not even a fan in the room. Also, the bed only had fitted sheets over the mattress, not even a flat sheet to cover up with. So you had to choose nothing, or the thick duvet in the heat.

The free wifi here is the worst I've ever experienced, I had to sit in the hallway by the elevator to even get a signal. You're better off spending money on a hotel where you have to pay for wifi. it took over an hour to upload about 1MB of pics to my blog.

Security.. neighborhood is fine, no problems there, and it's across street from train station which is nice. However, they only will give you one physical key, and want you to turn it in every-time you leave the property. Their "security" for this is to give you a business card with the hotel name, your name, and room number that you're supposed to show them to retrieve your key when you get back. No ID required at all. So, if you lose your card, anyone who finds it can walk in and get your room key. we chose to keep the key with us at all times, but this meant that we couldn't separate at all and do our own things. Also, the key is required to lock the door upon leaving, so we couldn't even leave separately without hassle.

Broken elevators, constantly broken elevators... hope you enjoy stairs.

We kept the do-not-disturb sign up daily, and housekeeping did leave us fresh towels at our door which was nice, and staff does seem friendly overall. However, for the price we paid, it's ridiculous how bad this place is.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless it's under $60 euros a night
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laurie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
There are newer reviews for Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 854 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have been in the Winters hotel in July. It is situated directly behind the central railway station. The city center is within walking distance. We had a room which was quite big with a column in the middle. The hotel offers free wifi. We didn't have breakfast there. The service was good, friendly and helpful staff. We booked the room as a secret hotel and saved some money, so keep your eyes open. Altogether I think this hotel is a good fit for a city trip to Munich.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilmar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed 4 nights from 10th - 14th September, 2012 most convenient since I came by train from Munich and had no trouble finding it. Has free Wi Fi connection which was good, rooms clean and tidy, staff friendly and helpful, a bit noisy I suppose it was from the train station but didnt bother me at night as was too tied to think about it. No fridge in room, but the staff were more than obliging to store it in their bar fridge for me. No air conditioning which was a bit disappointing but it wasnt as hot as Frankfurt. There is a bar downstairs but didn't get a chance to use it. A few restaurants close by.

For what I paid for I found it very good value for money, would recommend it for people on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDSydney56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

very centrally located, nice staff, the room was on the 7th floor, elevator until the 6th floor, one stair to walk, but nice and spacious room, high price because of Oktoberfest (285€ instead of 94€), since the hotel is across the train station you will hear traffic but with the window closed it was not bothering

Room Tip: comfort room recommended
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldude64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My brother and I stayed in this hotel for one week, and cannot fault the service provided. The staff were very kind and pleasant. The rooms were fully serviced every single day on our return from sightseeing. The basic room is what it is, but as we only used it for sleep. it served the purpose. As most folks have already noted the noise from the street side rooms can be fairly loud due to transport being on the doorstep, but you can always ask for a rear side room if this is a real necessity. We arrived early in Munich, and was still allowed to check-in which I thought was fair and they also provided a luggage storage facility after we had checked out so we could complete our tour of Munich before our late flight. Free Wifi is available after free registration to the provider. Transport across the city is easily available from the hotel, either street tram, train,or bus.

Room Tip: Room 309 is a street side basic twin room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Booked a late deal as its so easy to get to when on a flying visit.
The room, despite being a 'comfort' upgrade, I would describe as fairly standard. Perhaps the tictacs on the pillow were the upgrade. The bathroom was small and the tv was in such a position it was quite difficult to watch from the bed.
The staff were friendly and it was nice to have a decen bar downstairs too.
The only real advantage to the winters is also its greatest drawback. By being next to the main station it's seriously noisy all day and all night. There's a 24hr carpark out back with a cut through road by a club. Lots of cars, shouting etc throughout the night.
If you can get it cheap and don't mind your windows closed then go for it. Otherwise I'd go for another cheap hotel like the Daniel, just as central really but a lot quiter.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjwpara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We (my wife and myself) chose this hotel, because it's very close to the main station (Hauptbahnhof) and we wanted to visit many points of interest at 1-2 hours traveling distance by train.

Because we stayed nine nights, we made reservation for a "comfort" room, but as we saw the room they gave us (503) we were stunned: it was outrageously small, with almost no place to put our belongings (I just wonder if this was a comfort room, how was a standard one?). As I told them the room was almost not usable, they offered us a "family" room at an upgrade of EUR15/night, a total of 135EUR. Of course we accepted and so we got a decent room (516). Subsequently I read in the elevator cabin, that there are 7 family rooms only (except the photo with the two beds at a small window, ALL their room photos are from "family" rooms, so beware!)

The breakfast was decent, but you have to be there in the first half hour (6.30-7.00a.m.) in order to get the entire offer, otherwise you'll eat just leftovers...

Conclusion: better choose another hotel, because there are plenty in the area.

Room Tip: Better choose another hotel; if not, a family room only.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calator1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Creatif Hotel Elephant
Creatif Hotel Elephant
#203 of 385 in Munich
544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amba
Hotel Amba
#336 of 385 in Munich
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#128 of 385 in Munich
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
#185 of 385 in Munich
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
0.0 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#42 of 385 in Munich
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof

Address: Arnulfstr. 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Winters Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $74 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bavarian state capital and high technology metropolis is a prosperous European city by the beautiful Isar and offers visitors a variety of interesting attractions such as the Frauenkirche, Pinakothek, Hofbräuhaus, Allianz-Arena or the famous Viktualienmarkt.The Winters Hotel München · Am Hauptbahnhof is located in the heart of the city and right at the main railway station. It is just a few steps away from the historic Marienplatz. The world-famous Oktoberfest can also be reached on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing