We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best beer garden in Munich” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Augustinerkeller

Augustinerkeller
Ranked #2 of 205 Nightlife in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1824, this popular beer garden is considered by many to be the best in town, both for its Augustiner beer and its beautiful grounds.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best beer garden in Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

If you want to have great local German beer, good food and meet locals go there. The best time to go is between 18:00 - 22:00, the atmosphere is at its best, the tables are packed with beer drinkers, just join one of the tables with your 1litter beer glass and start a conversation. Don't skip the pretzels they are also great. To sum great beer!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chli1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    122
    28
    15
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is Bavaria!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My first visit here was on a very warm night for Munich. The park was crowded, but we found a table quickly. We enjoyed watching the locals drinking large steins of beer. There was a Mexican musical group singing when we first arrived. The park like setting was lovely. The food good, but the drinks expensive. My friend, a Munich resident said, the drinks were almost as much as October Fest! Everyone seemed to be enjoying the beautiful evening. Don't miss this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything you imagine a beer garden should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

It's not just about the beer, which is awesome, or the food, which is authentic, or the service, which is friendly. For me, it was about the setting. You walk in the front gates and the tables seem to stretch away in all directions under the trees in the garden and inside the beer hall. It was hot when we were there, but under the leafy canopy of the trees it was cool and welcoming. Everyone seems to be having a wonderful time, and the locals are mixed in with the tourists. We were at Lowenbrau (our 2nd favorite), Hofbrauhaus, Chinese Tower in English Gardens, but this was our favorite.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrails062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“weekend stammtisch and more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Aguistiner Keller is a 15 minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof (the central station)or you can take Tram 17 to drop you off right in front of the bier garten (getoff at Hopfenstraße). It’s popular for both locals and tourists. It’s where Munich’s entertainment industries gather together for their weekend stammtisch. The service, however, can get awfully slow when one of those stammtisch is happening. That said, this award winning bier garten still keeps the tradition alive and Aguistiner has Munich’s very best Weißbier.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Venus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“The real deal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a real dining experience and a great way to see how the locals enjoy their meals - a relaxed environment with great food & Beer! Perfect for large or small groups - just make sure you try to book ahead as it gets very busy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Augustinerkeller also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Augustinerkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing