We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great”

Bier- und Oktoberfestmuseum
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.60*
and up
Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich
Ranked #62 of 314 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Learn about the history of beer and see artifacts relating to beer’s production. Tours are offered in German and English. Sample different beers or eat Bavarian food in the restaurant.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We went in here and the chap on the front desk wasnt very helpful or friendly. We walked round the displays but only a few had the info in english so didnt really get to find out all that much on the history. The best bit was the beer cellar where we had a drink and it was loveky and cosy. The staff im afraid to say were not as friendly as we had experienced everywhere else in Germany. Bit of a disappointment.

Helpful?
Thank ktkatuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    88
    45
    12
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lack of English information”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

A bit of a disjointed museum.
Did not really flow nor tell us much.
Unfortunately the only English language information boards were one per display room, but each separate exhibit was only labelled in German. So the display on the top level of numerous cartoons of Donald Duck were lost on us.
A nice building but the contents were not so good.
Maybe good for a rainy day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jamking79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good for Beer Lovers - try 3 beer sampler”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Beer culture is a big part of Munich and a visit to the Beer Museum should be on the Beer Tourists itinerary. At €2,50 its not expensive, the museum well constructed and fitted museum, good photo opportunities set up with props and a good set of Beer memorabilia. I was a bit disappointed with the Stein collection, I expected a wider collection. Afterwards we went for a drink in the very nice Cellar Bar ... we asked for the sampler of 3 small beers which was advertised, this seemed to be all too difficult.... we eventually persuaded the bar staff. However this is a Beer Museum for tourists and we were disappointed at the reluctance of the staff to sell us beer.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must see in munich”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

One of the best beer feasts throughout the world. Good place to know people all around the globe. Beyond the beer, you should try the chicken.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Fragoas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Something you have to do at least once in your life”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Loud and noisy? Sure it is. Expensive? Kind of, yes. Worth it? Without doubt.
To get to the beer (and why else would you come?) you have to go to one of the tents, or areas, and you must be seated. Bierfraus will then come to you and you say how many 1l beers you'd like (or what food if you're hungry).
Other than that, there are fairground rides, and stalls selling all sorts of things.
Be wary though, this is a tourist trap, and you could quite easily end up over-spending.
Very little trouble considering the amount of alcohol consumed, but you will encounter plenty of passed out people, which was relatively amusing for me.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueWolf1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bier- und Oktoberfestmuseum also viewed

 

Been to Bier- und Oktoberfestmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing