We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel and city with less than meets the eye”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Ranked #47 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is a large formal hotel (350 rooms) not ideally suited for the individual traveller or couple, especially those who don't speak German. Rooms are lovely; the rooftop garden for breakfast or a snack very pleasant..though the view of Munich's so-called skyline is a bit of a yawn. The hotel food and that nearby is also repetitive..sausage in endless variety with potato and cabbage or beets..though bread is generally fresh and delicious.. The front desk, especially the concierge,. is less than friendly..and quoted us a driver and car..at exactly twice the price we ended up paying for the English-speaking airport cab driver we did hire for a whole day. The day we left, the hotel was engulfed by a life-insurance sales convention from the Mid West (Ugh !).

Despite its magic name and thick tourists books (like Insight Guides), there is less to see and do in Munich than the guides suggest..the center near the hotel is devoid of cars, a blessing, full of proprietary boutiques for high-quality clothing, leather goods, food, etc., and outdoor wine bars (also for beer). Attractive, so-called old baroque buildings, many rebuilt after WWII bombings (including the hotel)..an OK cathedral and a couple of small interesting museums. And the famed opera house, where we attended a performance of Der Rosenkavalier, not a great opera, but plenty of well-dressed opera goers to ogle ! Another worthwhile, but sobering visit, is to Dachau, the infamous concentration camp just outside town. All in all, Munich is prosperous and vibrant, full of stylish, well-dressed women, even more than in Paris..and the HQ for both Siemens and BMW..but not a drop-dead tourist destination. And, oh yes,as to the rathskellers so publicized because of Oktoberfest..don't hold your breath. I was told by our concierge that they're 80% tourists, one of the two best-known right opposite the Hard Rock Cafe ! And, finally, Munich is not in, nor in sight of, The Bavarian Alps; they're 60 miles away. All in all, a nice city and hotel probably worth a two night stay, no more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nyvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager_HBH, Training & Quality at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the experiences that you made during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage.
Please allow us to contact you herewith. Your opinion is an important tool to control our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your stay in Munich and that you appreciated our rooms and the rooftop garden.

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the attitude at our front desk, especially our concierge. Please accept our sincere apologies and be assured that this does not meet our high quality standards. To find out further details, we would appreciate if you could let us know more about the occasions, on which you made these experiences. Thank you for your efforts in advance.

Dear guest, we would be very happy to welcome you again at Hotel Bayerischer Hof in case you may think about a further visit to Munich after all.

With kindest regards

Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Tinka Schindel
Quality & Training

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,239)
There are newer reviews for Bayerischer Hof Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Bayerischer Hof is a magnificent Belle Epoque hotel that will blow your mind from the time you set foot inside the marble laden lobby with some of the most attentive staff you could ever meet. We were greeted at reception by Claudia who was all smiles. The ever so helpful Christian helped us with our luggage to our room and explained all the finer points of the glorious suite we were put into. William was practically jumping out of his skin to help us in any way he could, and Florian was as fine a concierge as you could meet on the European continent. The suite we had was nothing short of brilliant and a credit to the quality of the hotel. The hotel was the epitome of style and old world charm in the centre of Munich. We loved our stay here and would certainly be happy to stay again. Excellence in all aspects of the hotel experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VicNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed at this Bayerisher Hof for 7 weeks. This old establishment is comprised of three separate buildings all attached, with sprawling hallways, nooks and wide stair cases, the trio of buildings takes up half city block in central Munich. During the first part of my business trip there was extensive renovations going on. Although I was aware of the construction it didn't effect me negatively.

My first room was beautifully outfitted, renovated , contemporary and on the top floor, with a view of the neighboring rooftops. It was a lovely room. Because of my lengthy stay, I asked to be moved because I needed more room, a sitting area, and a desk for work. I asked the General manager Phillip Herdeg to help me find a room more suited to my needs. He did so immediately, offering a selection of rooms to choose from. Mr. Herdeg also set up a kitchen area, with an extra refrigerator and a small cooking area for me. Very thoughtful, I told him that I liked to prepare my own meals at times. Being on the road 8 months a year and eating out all the time can get tired and expensive. It is great to make little meals and snacks in the comfort of ones own room. The General manager was attentive, and super polite. I never felt like my request where a bother. He also took great care of my co-workers. One of the great things with the daily cleaning was that the same two people took care of my room 6 days a week. Living in a hotel adjusting to the way different staff handle ones belongings and toiletries can be frustrating. It was also comforting to recognize the housekeepers.

The hotel breakfast was extensive and fresh. Room service was good. The deco bar past the lobby was great. The food at the Trader Vick's restaurant was terrible.

The hotel roof lounge, bar, pool, and spa was a nice treat nestled in the middle of the city. The Hotel's location was a few blocks from the S and U bahn (subway) making travel around the city easy. This hotel is in the middle of a high end shopping district filled with restaurants, bars, shops, public squares, sights and walking distance to museums.

Great staff awesome general manager.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OnLocation365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

It was my pleasure to visit Bayerischer Hof hotel and I can definitely say that it is one of the best hotel in Munich and Germany. The hotel is spoiling its guests with very comfortable. classic style luxury rooms, fantastic SPA center, great attentive staff that shows the best standards of customer service and marvelous rooftop lounge-bar with great fireplace, nice white interior and breathtaking views to Munich historical center. It is definitely one of the best places to have a drink and enjoy lively fire and views.
The lobby of this historic place run by one family for years is very nice spotting some stylish classical interiors. I highly recommend the hotel for the next trip to Munich

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay at the hotel but went to visit the Polar Bar for a few drinks & a view of Munich. The polar bar is easily to be found & has a nice feel to it. Outside you are able to get blankets & sit under heaters. It would be nice to see the sunset over Munich while having a drink. On a clear winters sky the view would be amazing. We sat indoors which was nice & cosy. We ordered some cocktails, service was efficient & staff friendly & attentive.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank amanda_9187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is in a wonderful historic building in the centre of the city. Rooms are nicely decorated in a classical way.
Luxury is all around you and price is adequate to the standard, however I do not like that you have to pay more for every little bit: no free wi-fi, no free newspaper, no free coffe/tea in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pereppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager_HBH, Quality & Training at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the experiences that you made during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage.
Please allow us to contact you herewith. Your opinion is an important tool to control our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your stay in Munich. Thank you also very much for your kind comment regarding our rooms.

We regret that you are not satisfied with our terms of payment concerning wi-fi and newspapers and that you miss coffee and tea facilities in the room.

Please let me introduce you to some of our complimentary services.

We offer different internet packages. You may select our free Economic wi-fi rate that runs 24 hours for one device. Only if you desire additional wi-fi access, this would be associated with costs. You may then choose between the Highspeed access, that allows 3 devices for 24 hours and a special access for an additional Smartphone device.

You find a range of complimentary newspapers at breakfast, while further newspapers are regularly charged separately.
Instead of coffee or tea you may enjoy water and fresh fruits, that you find at your disposal in the room on arrival.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for more information.

Dear guest, we would be very happy to welcome you again.

With kindest regards

Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Tinka Schindel
Quality & Training

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was probably our worst hotel of our entire Europe trip. There was construction so it was hard to park. A convention was there so we were just shuffled around. We couldn't use the spa restaurant after the concierge said to go there for a cocktail because it was closed for private party. We went to the other small lounge area and the worker said it will be 15-20 minutes before we will get service they are busy. Finally went downstairs after waiting for them to open and it was ok Trader Vics. It was good location, but that is all. Very disappointing after leaving a wonderful resort to drive 4 hours to get here. The staff was not helpful at all and didn't even know where to send us or how to help us.Didn't sleep either because opening and closing of hall door all night kept us up. Front desk didn't care when I checked out and told them. Said next time we will request quiet room. LOL I won't be back to try it.

Room Tip: Do not get one by the hall doors
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager_HBH, Quality & Training at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the experiences that you made during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage.
Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is an important tool to control our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your stay in Munich.

We are very sorry that you had to face such inconveniences finding a pleasant place for a cocktail and that you did not experience the adequate assistance of our staff. Please be assured that this does not meet at all our high quality standards. To find out further details, we would highly appreciate if you could let us know at what date and time this happened. Thank you very much in advance for your efforts.

We regret that it was a challenge finding some parking place because of the construction works in the hotel referring to the current renovation of our complete breakfast area. We are pleased to inform you that it will be accomplished in December 2013.

Furthermore we feel very sorry as well, that you were continuously disturbed during the night because of noise outside your room.
During a next stay with us, we would be delighted to offer you a show around the hotel to provide you with an even more detailed impression of our different room types. We would be more than happy to identify your preference to ensure comfortable future stays with us. Please feel free to contact us via tinka.schindel@bayerischerhof.de or via landline +49 89 2120 683.

Dear guest, we would like to present our apologies and would still be very happy to welcome you again in order to prove that we are a better host as you had to experience.

With kindest regards

Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Tinka Schindel
Quality & Training

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#20 of 385 in Munich
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayerischer Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayerischer Hof Hotel

Address: Promenadeplatz 2-6, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Munich
#23 Business Hotel in Munich
#26 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#53 Family Hotel in Munich
#89 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $410 - $956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bayerischer Hof Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally conceived by King Ludwig I, the Bayerischer Hof is one of Munich's most legendary hotels. History and contemporary flair mingle with easy elegance. Its iconic Blue Spa, offering barbecues in summer and an unique ice bar in winter with views of Munich, was created by Andrée Putman. The latest restaurants, Atelier and Garden, are by interior designer Axel Vervoordt, who also devised the Cinema Lounge; complete with its own Night Club with live Jazz, five restaurants, six bars and the theatre, it is a self-contained haven that draws celebrities and heads-of-state. Guest rooms are in a variety of styles, designed by famous architects. Top-floor suites have breathtaking views, private spa access, terraces or open fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bayerischer Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayerischer Hof Munich
Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing