We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Ranked #52 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have stayed a few nights at this Hotel on business, I shall never forget the time as I was there at the time of the 9/11 N.Y. attacks (who could forget). I must admit I had been to the hotel a few times for dinner without staying there, historically. The hotel has a lot of history and they like to display that, whereby a lot of famous people, statesmen, public figures etc have stayed there over its hotel history. They seem to charge for that too. The rooms are very different from each other, whereby a normal room could be bigger than most traditional sweets. But not all are big, actually most are normal in size and nothing extravagant, to commensurate for the price. Nevertheless, there is no doubt that you feel you are somewhere special, from the minute you walk in. The hotel layout, staff and services, are special every step of the way. Regardless how long you stay there, be it one night or a week, they make you feel special and treat you so. It is more of a business hotel, but could serve for a special romantic get away as well, if you are in the mood for a special celebration, centrally located as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SHA12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I always stayed at Kempinski Vier Jahreszeiten because of ts gret lobby and location. However the Bayeischer Hof is even more luxurious and so much fun..plenty of bars and restaurants in the hotel,always busy..The rooms are beautiful and service outstanding. Also great located..Will be back. Great pool on the roof with adjacent lounge..locsl meeting point.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelfanCapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I had a new deluxe room facing an inner court yard. Very quiet and spacious room. Nice bathroom, separate small hall upon entering the room and the windows can open. The food is generally good and nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James290774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Room rate > 400 euros.. At least expect cleaniness... Very dirty rooms, the reception confirmed they are renewed recently, truly they were renewed from the Canto marked (second hand furniture). Rooms are too small ... And balconies dirty with electric cables all over... Night Club was OK Massimo is an excellent host and the Bar service at the Mezzanine was ok too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheZoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager_HBH, Training & Quality at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the inconveniences that you had to face during your recent stay with us on the "Tripadvisor" homepage. Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is an important tool for controlling our quality standards on a daily basis. We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your journey to Munich.

We are sorry that the room we allocated for you did not meet your expectations in respect of cleanliness and size towards us. Please be kindly informed that every year we invest large amounts in renovating our rooms in order to meet the expectations of our guests. To respond more detailed it would be very helpful if you let us know when you stayed with us as well as the room number you stayed in. Thank you for your efforts!

During your next stay with us, we are delighted to offer you a show around through our hotel to provide you with an impression of our different room types. We would be more than happy to identify your preference to ensure comfortable future stays with us. Please feel free to contact us via christin.kluth@bayerischerhof.de or via landline +49 83 2120 643.

Dear guest, on behalf of the whole team of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof, we would like to express our deepest apologies for the occurred vexations during your stay with us! We would be very happy to welcome you again in order to prove that we are a better host as you had experience.

With kindest regards

Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Christin Kluth
Training & Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Will not loose time in listing the bad experience. Check in in an occupied room,.. This is a disaster! Rooms are too expensive for what it is, see photos of the balcony...Housekeeping very unprofessional. Never ever again
Photos can not be added
The only professional service in this hotel is the concierge

Room Tip: Make the reception double check if room not already occupied
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Soya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager_HBH, Training & Quality at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the inconveniences that you had to face during your recent stay with us on the "Tripadvisor" homepage. Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is an important tool for controlling our quality standards on a daily basis. We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your journey to Munich.

We are sorry for your check-in experience as well as to hear that you perceived our employees not as professional as you expected. Please be ensured that your experience does not meet our standards. To find out further details, we highly appreciate if you can let us know when you stayed with us. Thank you for your efforts!

Furthermore, we are sorry that the room we allocated for you did not meet your expectations in respect to the interior towards us. Please be kindly informed that every year we invest large amounts in renovating our rooms in order to meet the expectations of our guests.

During your next stay with us, we are delighted to offer you a show around through our hotel to provide you with an impression of our different room types. We would be more than happy to identify your preference to ensure comfortable future stays with us. Please feel free to contact us via christin.kluth@bayerischerhof.de or via landline +49 83 2120 643.

Dear guest, on behalf of the whole team of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof, we would like to express our deepest apologies for the occurred vexations during your stay with us! We would be very happy to welcome you again in order to prove that we are a better host as you had experience.

With kindest regards

Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Christin Kluth
Training & Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Obviously this is never going to be a cheap option but if you stay here you're not looking for one right ? Exquisite, courteous and elegant are words that spring to mind - and that's just for the service. The pool and spa area are to sigh for, the bars and restaurants are a treat for the eyes as well as the palate and the rooms are plusher than most. OK it can be a little stuffy at times and in places but this is a 5 star hotel in Munich. Speaking of which the location is simply unbeatable for shopping, wining, dining, visiting and a little car watching. The place is family run and so unlike so many similar places the hotel has a soul. Enjoy every second, we did.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Location is excellent. Service was good but not perfect. Rooms ok but nothing spectacular. No real feeling of luxury. Nothing particularly to complain about, but for this money one is entitled to expect better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SirCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager_HBH, Training & Quality at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the inconveniences that you had to face during your recent stay with us on the "Tirpadvisor" homepage. Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is an important tool for controlling our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your journey to Munich.

We are sorry to hear that you perceived our service not as perfect as expected. To find out further details, it would be highly appreciate if you can let us know which experience led you to your perception. Thank you for your efforts.

Furthermore, we beg your pardon as the room we allocated for you did not meet your expectations towards us. Please be kindly informed that every year we invest large amounts in renovating our rooms in order to meet the expectations of our guests.

During your next stay with us, we are delighted to offer you a show around through our hotel to provide you with an impression of our different room types. We would be more than happy to identify your preference to ensure comfortable future stays with us. Please feel free to contact us via christin.kluth@bayerischerhof.de or via landline +49 89 2120 643.

Dear guest, on behalf of the whole team of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof, we would like to express our apologies for the occured vexations during your stay with us! We would be very happy to welcome you again in order to prove that we are a better host as you had experience.

With kindest regards

Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Christin Kluth
Training & Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.5 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 390 in Munich
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#22 of 390 in Munich
626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 390 in Munich
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayerischer Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayerischer Hof Hotel

Address: Promenadeplatz 2-6, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Munich
#15 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#23 Business Hotel in Munich
#36 Family Hotel in Munich
#89 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $294 - $707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bayerischer Hof Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally conceived by King Ludwig I, the Bayerischer Hof is one of Munich's most legendary hotels. History and contemporary flair mingle with easy elegance. Its iconic Blue Spa, offering barbecues in summer and an unique ice bar in winter with views of Munich, was created by Andrée Putman. The latest restaurants, Atelier and Garden, are by interior designer Axel Vervoordt, who also devised the Cinema Lounge; complete with its own Night Club with live Jazz, five restaurants, six bars and the theatre, it is a self-contained haven that draws celebrities and heads-of-state. Guest rooms are in a variety of styles, designed by famous architects. Top-floor suites have breathtaking views, private spa access, terraces or open fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayerischer Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayerischer Hof Munich
Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing