We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Ranked #47 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

After a very long check in procedure I saw the room I booked for 310 euro which was a little bit bigger than a bed.
The bed was big enough for the kid only. When I complained they said THAT WHAT YOU BOOKED !!!
But gave me another room normal size with twin beds a bit bigger. Seems that queen or king bed is not reachable in this hotel. To move my luggage from the first room to the second took 30 minuets and my call to the reception.
When I wanted to place a wake up call in the evening it took me 30 minutes calling different hotel numbers before I reached somebody. Does it looks like a 5 star Hotel ? Not for me.

Stayed: January 2013
3  Thank leokh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webera, Manager at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the inconveniences that you had to face during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage.
Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is important tool for controlling our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your journey to Munich.

On the other hand we beg your pardon, that the first room we allocated for you and the assistance provided during the process of changing your room did not meet your expectations towards us. To respond more detailed it would be very helpful if you can let us know your allocated room number and when you stayed with us. Thank you for your efforts!

Furthermore, we are sorry that you perceived an arrogant attitude amongst our team members and faced challenges reaching our telephone operator to place your weak up call. Please be ensured that this absolutely does not meet the expected standard.

Dear guest, on behalf of the whole team of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof, we would like to express our deepest apologies for the occurred vexations during your stay with us! It is understood as our most important aim to provide excellent service for our guests as an implicitness. We would be pleased if you get in contact with us via christin.kluth@bayerischerhof.de in order to respond to your experience more detailed.

Certainly, we would be very happy to welcome you again in order to prove that we are a better host as you had experience.

With kindest regards


Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Christin Kluth
Training & Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
There are newer reviews for Bayerischer Hof Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night 15th december 2012 ,i,ll start with the good the location is fantastic ,but the rooms as others have said as so warm and the only answer was to open the window and leave the smell of an outdoor fire waft into the room ,but the room was nice ,it was supereior double , what really left it down were the attitudes of the staff in the upstairs spa area ,where it was a crime to ask to pay for your drinks ,being ignored for a while while some icing decoration was being added to some cookies and how dare i re-ask to pay ,only to be glared at and pointed to colleagues to pay for the drinks ,probably i havn,t explained that too well but it was poor ,sorry very poor attitudes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webera, Manager at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the inconveniences that you had to face during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage.
Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is important tool for controlling our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your journey to Munich.

On the other hand we are sorry that you perceived an unfriendly attitude amongst our team members. Please be ensured that this absolutely does not meet the expected standard. To find out further details, we highly appreciate if you can let us know when you stayed with us. Thank you for your efforts!

Dear guest, on behalf of the whole team of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof, we would like to express our deepest apologies for the occurred vexations during your stay with us! It is understood as our most important aim to provide excellent service for our guests as an implicitness. We would be very happy to welcome you again in order to prove that we are a better host as you had experience.

With kindest Regards,


Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Christin Kluth
Human Resources Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Beautiful, palatial building. When I got to my room, the a/c wasn't working and the bathtub was spewing water in all the wrong directions. So I got moved to a new room, which was spectacular. Completely modern (vs. the old room which felt like I was visiting in 1996). The location is fantastic. Had I not stayed in the new room, I would've rated this hotel a 2.

Room Tip: demand one of the new rooms. If it's unavailable, stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here in combination of a show arrangement and were full of joy and expectations as we arrived. But already on the way to the room, I discovered torn, old and molded carpet along the wall on the walk way - not a good first impression. The room was old fashioned and worn down. Hair was found in the bathroom, but it was still clean.

The location was unbeatable - centralized.

The bar in the basement serves delicious cocktails and horrible snacks. Food sold as "self-made" was nothing more than frozen eg. asian egg rolls and dim sum. Not exactly what you expect from y 5 star hotel.

Reception was friendly but impersonal and in a way, arrogant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurasian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webera, Manager at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the inconveniences that you had to face during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage.
Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is an important tool for controlling our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your journey to Munich.

On the other hand we beg your pardon, that the room we allocated for you did not meet your expectations towards us. Please be kindly informed that every year we invest large amounts in renovating our rooms in order to meet the expectations of our guests towards us and our hotel. To respond more detailed it would be very helpful if you can let us know the room number you stayed in.

Thank you for your kind indication concerning the décor of our walls which we willingly took up. However, we would appreciate if you can provide us with further details on your observations.

Additionally, we take the opportunity to thank you for advice with regards to our snacks at the Trader Vic’s Bar. Please be assured that our kitchen prepares all snacks served fresh every day. We will certainly follow- up on your described experience and pass on your concern to our Director of F&B.

Furthermore, we are sorry to hear that you perceived our service as impersonal and arrogant. Please be ensured that your experience does not meet our standards. To find out further details, we highly appreciate if you can let us know when you stayed with us. Thank you for your efforts!

Dear guest, on behalf of the whole team of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof, we would like to express our deepest apologies for the occurred vexations during your stay with us! It is understood as our most important aim to provide excellent service for our guests as an implicitness. We would be very happy to welcome you again in order to prove that we are a better host as you had experience.

With kindest regards

Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Christin Kluth
Training & Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

An absolutely beautiful hotel, both inside and out, right in the heart of Munich. The decor pulls off a nice trick of feeling chic and up-to-date, while still maintaining its art deco roots.
The staff are all an absolute delight. Friendly, efficient and thoughtful, and they just can't do enough for you.
But why don't I give it 5/5 all round? Silly things let it down. Despite a large and exquisite bedroom, the bathroom didn't have a proper shower, just a narrow bath with a shower head on a hose. As is often the way, it was leaky and the water temperature did its own thing on a range between scalding and freezing.
For the price you pay here (don't ask!), everything should be perfect. It is almost, but not quite.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissleight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is in a great location (excluding the ridiculous Michael Jackson memorial at the front) and generally upholding 5 star standards with a few exceptions...

1. Some areas a little refurbishment couldn't hurt... but overall a beautiful building but bedrooms are tired and way way over heated

2. Breakfast indeed needs some serious re-tuning, especially the meet and greet, the most incompetent girl tying to assist guests with tables, but had no idea what she was doing and just looked very stupid, once seated after 15 minutes the waiter was great.. lack of management and systems seem to be the order of the day, and really in a 5 star hotel paying top rates, the excuse is " sorry the hotel is full" why was that such a surprise when they checked the reservations with the front desk the night before! The buffet is basic and if you want you can have eggs cooked to order. The chef was totally inefficient due to the number of guests and I ended up eating fruit and ham and cheese! the only time you get attention is when they all ask you if there is anything else you require before they close the buffet!!

3. €9 per day for WIFI? this really is money grabbing... this should be free in 5 star considering the rates we are paying!

Room Tip: Get a room looking over the front or side... or you get an internal view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webera, Manager at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the inconveniences that you had to face during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage.
Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is important tool for controlling our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your journey to Munich.

We beg your pardon, that the room we allocated for you and the decor did not meet your expectations. Please be kindly informed that we invest large amounts in renovating our rooms in order to meet the expectations of our guests toward us and our hotel. We would appreciate if you can let us know the number of the room you stayed in to investigate this situation and avoid such inconveniences in the future.

Furthermore, we apologize for the inconvenience you had to face during your breakfast. Please be ensured that this absolutely does not meet our standards. We will forward your comment concerning the service to our Director of F&B to avoid similar complaints in the future. To find out further details, we highly appreciate if you can let us know when you stayed with us. Thank you for your efforts!

We are grateful for your kind indication concerning the costs of our internet. Hereby we kindly inform you that the internet is distributed by an external company. Please be assured that our prices are compared to the other five star properties and are calculated with an appropriate approach. Additionally, we kindly inform you that we are in negotiation with our provider to offer our guest a free basic package in the future.

Dear guest, on behalf of the whole team of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof, we would like to express our deepest apologies for your experience during your stay with us! It is understood as our most important aim to provide excellent service for our guests as an implicitness. We would be very happy to welcome you again in order to prove that we are a better host as you had experience.

With kindest regards


Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG


Christin Kluth
Human Resources Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Bayerischer Hof is a great hotel. I have stayed in a variety of hotels and the Bayerischer Hof is as good or better than any hotel I have stayed at. In fact, I now would choose it over some of the other five star hotels for the following reasons: 1) fantastic concierge service. I had shoes repaired and had to get contact lens---both done quickly and superbly without batting an eye. 2) The rooms are lovely and spacious. 3) The lounge is lovely, beautiful with a sense of the history of the hotel. 3) There is a nice little gym and spa and a lovely rooftop spa restaurant with delicious mango soup. 4) The view overlooking the Promanade Platz is magical--with trans going by and leaves falling a lovely swatch of nature out the window.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenorenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#20 of 385 in Munich
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayerischer Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayerischer Hof Hotel

Address: Promenadeplatz 2-6, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Munich
#23 Business Hotel in Munich
#26 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#53 Family Hotel in Munich
#89 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $357 - $950 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bayerischer Hof Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally conceived by King Ludwig I, the Bayerischer Hof is one of Munich's most legendary hotels. History and contemporary flair mingle with easy elegance. Its iconic Blue Spa, offering barbecues in summer and an unique ice bar in winter with views of Munich, was created by Andrée Putman. The latest restaurants, Atelier and Garden, are by interior designer Axel Vervoordt, who also devised the Cinema Lounge; complete with its own Night Club with live Jazz, five restaurants, six bars and the theatre, it is a self-contained haven that draws celebrities and heads-of-state. Guest rooms are in a variety of styles, designed by famous architects. Top-floor suites have breathtaking views, private spa access, terraces or open fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Bayerischer Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayerischer Hof Munich
Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing