We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be a lot better for 5 star....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Ranked #40 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Could be a lot better for 5 star....”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is in a great location (excluding the ridiculous Michael Jackson memorial at the front) and generally upholding 5 star standards with a few exceptions...

1. Some areas a little refurbishment couldn't hurt... but overall a beautiful building but bedrooms are tired and way way over heated

2. Breakfast indeed needs some serious re-tuning, especially the meet and greet, the most incompetent girl tying to assist guests with tables, but had no idea what she was doing and just looked very stupid, once seated after 15 minutes the waiter was great.. lack of management and systems seem to be the order of the day, and really in a 5 star hotel paying top rates, the excuse is " sorry the hotel is full" why was that such a surprise when they checked the reservations with the front desk the night before! The buffet is basic and if you want you can have eggs cooked to order. The chef was totally inefficient due to the number of guests and I ended up eating fruit and ham and cheese! the only time you get attention is when they all ask you if there is anything else you require before they close the buffet!!

3. €9 per day for WIFI? this really is money grabbing... this should be free in 5 star considering the rates we are paying!

Room Tip: Get a room looking over the front or side... or you get an internal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webera, Manager at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the inconveniences that you had to face during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage.
Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is important tool for controlling our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your journey to Munich.

We beg your pardon, that the room we allocated for you and the decor did not meet your expectations. Please be kindly informed that we invest large amounts in renovating our rooms in order to meet the expectations of our guests toward us and our hotel. We would appreciate if you can let us know the number of the room you stayed in to investigate this situation and avoid such inconveniences in the future.

Furthermore, we apologize for the inconvenience you had to face during your breakfast. Please be ensured that this absolutely does not meet our standards. We will forward your comment concerning the service to our Director of F&B to avoid similar complaints in the future. To find out further details, we highly appreciate if you can let us know when you stayed with us. Thank you for your efforts!

We are grateful for your kind indication concerning the costs of our internet. Hereby we kindly inform you that the internet is distributed by an external company. Please be assured that our prices are compared to the other five star properties and are calculated with an appropriate approach. Additionally, we kindly inform you that we are in negotiation with our provider to offer our guest a free basic package in the future.

Dear guest, on behalf of the whole team of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof, we would like to express our deepest apologies for your experience during your stay with us! It is understood as our most important aim to provide excellent service for our guests as an implicitness. We would be very happy to welcome you again in order to prove that we are a better host as you had experience.

With kindest regards


Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG


Christin Kluth
Human Resources Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    302
    153
    80
    50
See reviews for
158
329
79
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Bayerischer Hof is a great hotel. I have stayed in a variety of hotels and the Bayerischer Hof is as good or better than any hotel I have stayed at. In fact, I now would choose it over some of the other five star hotels for the following reasons: 1) fantastic concierge service. I had shoes repaired and had to get contact lens---both done quickly and superbly without batting an eye. 2) The rooms are lovely and spacious. 3) The lounge is lovely, beautiful with a sense of the history of the hotel. 3) There is a nice little gym and spa and a lovely rooftop spa restaurant with delicious mango soup. 4) The view overlooking the Promanade Platz is magical--with trans going by and leaves falling a lovely swatch of nature out the window.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenorenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have used this hotel many times but this review refers concretely to my stay there from Nov. 5 -7, 2012.

The check-in was friendly, quick and efficient - they took care of the car and the luggage, were prepared and had a room ready that met the wishes (very quiet and non-smoking) we had communicated prior to our trip. Unfortunately, we had to learn upon check-in that the swimming pool was unexpectedly in need of repair and could not be used.

We were assigned a really nice and stylish, lavishly decorated double room (#034) in the Palais part of the hotel, with tasteful colours and functional, yet good-looking furniture. The bathroom was very beautifully decorated with different kinds of stone. The cleanliness was good, it would have been very good without the dust in the air (maybe it was vacuumed just before we arrived) and if housekeeping would not have overlooked the dust and dirt on the bedside table and would have aired the room.

The palais part of the hotel is generally very quiet in terms of noise from the floors and other rooms and the windows of our room were on the side of the inner coutyard, so there was no noise from the city either.

On the first evening, we visited Falk's bar and had drinks and Scandinavian snacks there. It is a beautiful place to sit and choose from a vast variety of cocktails (also its own creations). Everything ordered was most excellent, freshly prepared and the service was impeccable, too. Far better than the usual hotel bar and highly recommendable.

We then had an extensive four course dinner at the Garden restaurant and were impressed with the creative dishes of excellent taste and quality served there. Dinner was accompanied by a very interesting and tasteful selection of wines and by very friendly, professional and knowledgeable service personnel.

We used the hotel's breakfast buffet on both days and also found it highly recommendable. The buffet is extensive, fresh and of very high quality. The staff competent, friendly and quick. The setting in the lovely breakfast room with the city view is relaxing and refreshing in the morning.

We also used banquet services and meeting rooms o one day for business purposes and found everything very well organized, from the morning cafe for 100 people to the conference room with its technical features, lunch in the palais cellar until the end of the meeting with drinks and snacks in the conference room, everything excellent, punctual, exactly as ordered and very professionally handled.

The second evening, my wife and I had dinner at Trader Vic's restaurant. Due to a business meeting, we were running late and went to eat there one hour later than planned and reserved. The staff at the restaurant in a very professional manner politely called us before passing our table to someone else (this restaurant is very well booked) and it was no problem to come later. Dinner there was excellent, unusual dished inspired by polynesian and asian cooking, beautifully decorated restaurant. Some of the highlights are the exotic cocktails and the chinese wood oven which turnes out meat dishes in a extremely flavorable, tender and juicy way, highly recommendable and really like a small holiday in the middle of the city.

With regards to this particular stay, there were only few points where some improvements could be suggested: first, the issues of initial cleanliness and smell in the room could easily be resolved and the rather long wait at check-out should be adressed by analyzing the average time ans process of a check-out (my impression was it is clearly too long as should be). The hotel management could also think about the WiFi-acces that has to be paid as an extra (that seems a bit outdated since internet access nowadays has become a very basic necessity in luxury hotels like fluent water and air conditioning). Also, the price of mineral water from the minibar (Euro 8.70 for a 0.75 liter bottle) seems unnecessarily exaggerated considereing the room prices.

Unfortunately, there was a very anpleasant incident on Nov. 5, when at 22:00 suddenly there was no hot water. It turned out that this was not a problem of the room or of the hotel, but the whole community heating of central Munich was not functional. For us, it was really unpleasant, because we were unable to take a warm bath or shower on that evening. The hotel did handle the matter very professionally though, they immediately offered another room (before finding out that that would not resolve the issue since the whole hotel had no hot water), they apologized and they, without asking for anything from our side, took 10% off the room rate for that day. Considering that things like that as a matter of fact can happen and the very professional way they handled it, this incident does not affect but rather confirm the overall excellent impression that the hotel made.

As for the pricing - Munich is very expensive and hotel prices in Munich are very high generally. Given that background the concrete price has to be set in relation. We paid a "city break" rate of 360 Euros per night for two nights (this included a double room, two breakfasts, one dinner and a drink at the bar). For the excellent services delivered, the location of the hotel and the general high price level in Munich, we did find that a good value.

We will keep returning to this hotel and can not only recommend the hotel to travellers but also highly recommend the restaurants and the business services to anyone not staying in the hotel. Thank you very much for this nice stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEpple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were on a 2 day business trip and this is where our business associates booked us. The first room we were given was awful. It was small, furnishings were old and ugly, and there was some sort of obnoxious odor. Totally unacceptable. Reception was very understanding and professional about our objections and gave us a much larger room with a more traditional decor and a lovely view. The beds were quite comfortable and the bathroom was small but well done. If you looked too closely at the furnishings and walls, it was apparent that the room was tired and in need of upgrade, but it was fine for our short stay. Great location in heart of town. Restaurants and public rooms very nice. We had dinner downstairs in the restaurant that serves traditional Bavarian food, and it was very good. Also, a good sign was the mostly German patrons who walked in off the street to eat in the restaurant. It was bustling, but the service was efficient and friendly. Considering the fact that Munich is a thriving city, I am sure there are better accommodations than this. I would explore all options before absolutely booking at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for larger room facing the front street. It is a pretty view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webera, Manager at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the inconveniences that you had to face during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage.
Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is important tool for controlling our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your journey to Munich.

On the other hand we beg your pardon, that the room we allocated for you did not meet your expectations. Please be kindly informed that we invest large amounts in renovating our rooms in order to meet the expectations of our guests toward us and our hotel. To find out further details, we highly appreciate if you can let us know when you stayed with us. Thank you for your efforts!

Dear Guest, on behalf of the whole team of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof, we would like to express our deepest apologies for your experience during your stay with us! It is understood as our most important aim to provide excellent service for our guests as an implicitness. We would be very happy to welcome you again in order to prove that we are a better host as you had experience.

With kindest Regards,


Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG


Christin Kluth
Human Resources Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good service.
Rooms are all individually designed. Different type of styles from modern to very traditionell.
The location is superb, right in the heart of Munich. Walking distance for shopping, restaurants etc.
They have an excellent Spa and hairdresser. The swimming pool is on the roof top. Very nice!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceane2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived at the hotel in the middle of the day to meet a tour group. We were given a room that should be converted to a broom closet for the cleaning crew. We should have complained at once, but didn't realize how bad it was until our luggage arrived and there was no longer room for us. That a hotel that advertises its elegance it is a disgrace that any guest should be given a room like this, that it should exist at all. Further, they are rip-oo\ff artists. My wife and I decided on a light lunch before our tour group arrived. We ate in the Garden restaurant. We each ordered a salad green salad with some grilled turkey. i had a light coke. The bill was over $90.00. BEWARE this place. it no longer meets its reputation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cslebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webera, Manager at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the inconveniences that you had to face during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage.
Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is important tool for controlling our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your journey to Munich.

We beg your pardon, that the room we allocated for you did not meet your expectations. Please be kindly informed that we invest large amounts in renovating our rooms in order to meet the expectations of our guests toward us and our hotel. To find out further details, we highly appreciate if you can let us know when you stayed with us. Thank you for your efforts!

Furthermore, we would like to thank you for your kind indication concerning the costs of our Garden restaurant. Please be assured that our prices are compared to the other five star properties and calculated with an appropriate approach.

Dear guest, on behalf of the whole team of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof, we would like to express our deepest apologies for the occurred vexations during your stay with us! It is understood as our most important aim to provide excellent service for our guests as an implicitness. We would be very happy to welcome you again in order to prove that we are a better host as you had experience.

With kindest Regards,

Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Christin Kluth
Human Resources Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was surprised to read the negative comments.

I found the hotel to be classy and upholding 5 star standards.
Ok some refurbishment couldn't hurt... but overall a good experience.

The breakfast indeed needs some fine-tuning, especially we you like eggs prepared a certain way. The chef was totally inefficient and I ended up eating fruit. Perfect for my diet :-)

The only part which really bothers me - and this hotel is not the only one - is when you have to pay for Internet access. Eventually, telecom roaming charges become cheaper...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webera, Manager at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the inconveniences that you had to face during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage.
Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is important tool for controlling our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your journey to Munich.

We apologize for the inconvenience you had to face during your breakfast. Please be ensured that this absolutely does not meet our standards. We kindly forward your comment concerning the service to our Director of F&B to avoid similar complaints in the future. To find out further details, we highly appreciate if you can let us know when you stayed with us. Thank you for your efforts!

Furthermore, we would like to thank you for your kind indication concerning the costs of our internet.

Dear Guest, on behalf of the whole team of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof, we would like to express our deepest apologies for your experience during your stay with us! It is understood as our most important aim to provide excellent service for our guests as an implicitness. We would be very happy to welcome you again in order to prove that we are a better host as you had experience.

With kindest Regards,


Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG


Christin Kluth
Human Resources Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#18 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayerischer Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayerischer Hof Hotel

Property: Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Address: Promenadeplatz 2-6, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Munich
#23 Business Hotel in Munich
#24 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#53 Family Hotel in Munich
#89 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bayerischer Hof Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally conceived by King Ludwig I, the Bayerischer Hof is one of Munich's most legendary hotels. History and contemporary flair mingle with easy elegance. Its iconic Blue Spa, offering barbecues in summer and an unique ice bar in winter with views of Munich, was created by Andrée Putman. The latest restaurants, Atelier and Garden, are by interior designer Axel Vervoordt, who also devised the Cinema Lounge; complete with its own Night Club with live Jazz, five restaurants, six bars and the theatre, it is a self-contained haven that draws celebrities and heads-of-state. Guest rooms are in a variety of styles, designed by famous architects. Top-floor suites have breathtaking views, private spa access, terraces or open fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bayerischer Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayerischer Hof Munich
Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing